Covet
technicolor


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
June 7th, 2020 | 157 replies


Release Date: 06/05/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Good Vibes Only

Covet completely lack pretension. And it’s not just the soothing quality that carries their progressive and complex music, it’s the way they carry themselves. Smiling from ear to ear in all of their music videos and live performances, music for them is as much about having fun as it is saying something artistically. Even the way they’ve expanded on their formally exclusively instrumental sound to include guitarist and bandleader Yvette Young's surprisingly warm voice is in an unpronounced way, she only sings on two of the ten tracks as if to make the guitar guys listening feel just a little less envious at the fact that Yvette can do everything and they can’t. Covet's music doesn't need vocals, but it adds another layer to their already excellent take on virtuosic guitar-driven math rock, and of course, they're not making a big deal about it.

The music on technicolor is much more about melody than technicality. Not to say it’s not technical because hot damn Yvette Young puts 99% of ax wielders to shame, but the songwriting emphasis is way more about melody than it is complex time signatures and rapid-fire staccato wankery. Much of technicolor has more in common with Joe Satriani’s more melodic work than it does traditional math-rock especially since the single lead guitar is almost exclusively the driving force of the music. Structure wise a lot of the arrangements scream prog rock, like the sprawling "Odessa," and "Aries" with its complex 7-string guitar work sounding like a more relaxed clean-toned cousin to an Animals as Leaders track. Technicolor hits all the genre beats - open tunings, all sorts of two-handed tapping, funky guitar pedals, violin, and deeply layered arpeggio sections - but what sets it apart is how joyfully they’re shredding through such complex arrangements. The addition of singing is so significant even if it’s only on two tracks (with humming on another) because it feels justified within those two tracks, and it doesn't hurt that Yvette's voice is wonderful. Most importantly it’s not a gimmick, Covet could have completely abandoned their instrumental background in order to present a more commercial sound, but they didn’t, there are restraint and care for only including what the songs need. Covet clearly had a blast making technicolor which makes it even more of a joy to listen to, and it should launch Covet into the top tier of instrumental rock.




Recent reviews by this author
Misery Signals UltravioletSoccer Mommy Color Theory
Tiny Moving Parts BreatheState Faults Clairvoyant
Overo OveroAmerican Football American Football (LP3)
user ratings (123)
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Oneironaut (4)
technicolor is ergonomic and breathtaking in equal parts, and sees the band shrug off any sign of a ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2020


57330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This good

Digging: 100 Gecs - 1000 gecs

nightbringer
June 7th 2020


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was already inclined to check this but now I definitely will.

JayEnder
June 7th 2020


7744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Niceee Treb. Yvette is awesome so I'm excited to check this out.

Digging: Sufjan Stevens - Illinois

9Hammer
June 7th 2020


319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review there. I think that the songwriting is pretty damn good on this record in terms of melody.

TooManyFriends
June 7th 2020


3330 Comments


drums on this are so incredible, guy's fuckin unreal. one of those drummers where you see him live and watch him play for 15 seconds and are like "ok yeah guy's a pro"

JesperL
June 7th 2020


1133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is super lovely, enjoying it more than their first lp

Digging: Catz 'n Dogz - Moments

TundraL5Z
June 7th 2020


4699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

finally someone reviews this band lmao

Digging: Haken - Virus

WatchItExplode
June 7th 2020


8227 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I generally dont dig post rock but this works for me.

CosmicPie
June 7th 2020


2617 Comments


Because it's not post-rock. Both instrumental, but a different aesthetic.

SteakByrnes
June 7th 2020


20081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fun album

Digging: Lost For Life - We All Share The Blame

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
June 7th 2020


6543 Comments


Larvly review. Sounds like my kind of jam.

wildinferno2010
June 7th 2020


804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Effloresce was fine. Hoping this'll stick with me more, based on the review and good morning I think it might.



Looking forward to the tracks with vocals, Yvette's solo stuff is beautiful

Cormano
June 7th 2020


2074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one of the tightest bands out there

been enjoying this a whole lot

Winsomniac
June 7th 2020


8766 Comments


Trebor 4ing instrumetal

we here bois n gurls

MO
June 7th 2020


22965 Comments


nice. really dug effloresce, will check

Oneironaut
June 7th 2020


410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, this has become my favorite Covet release because of it's cohesiveness. This part of your review nails it - "The music on technicolor is much more about melody than technicality. Not to say it’s not technical because hot damn Yvette Young puts 99% of ax wielders to shame, but the songwriting emphasis is way more about melody than it is complex time signatures and rapid-fire staccato wankery."



Now to try and learn some of this shit on guitar to humble myself!

TundraL5Z
June 8th 2020


4699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad they finally made an album that's deserving of the word 'LP', effloresce felt very much like an EP

GhostB1rd
June 8th 2020


6410 Comments


I'm mad online that the debut had such gorgeous cover art and this one is so damn ugly.

TundraL5Z
June 8th 2020


4699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I do agree, the colors used for this cover art are certainly duller in tone to the debut, not as eye catching from a distance

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2020


57330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Trebor 4ing instrumetal



we here bois n gurls"



hey, I love that one Scale The Summit record



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy