The Ghost Inside
The Ghost Inside


5.0
classic

Review

by Winsomniac USER (26 Reviews)
June 5th, 2020 | 249 replies


Release Date: 06/05/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Triumph over tragedy.

I won’t begin to feign impartiality here. Not that I’m one for rankings, but The Ghost Inside might be my favorite band.

Fury and the Fallen Ones carried me through my formative years, an album that taught me I could convert what felt like an inexhaustible well of misanthropy and angst into something constructive, positive, and ultimately, beautiful.

Hearing the band play a song that would ultimately become Between the Lines is a memory I’ll never forget. Vigil’s call out of “What do you stand for?” struck a chord within me that rings to this day. It affirmed a belief I hold at the deepest core of my being: that the only response to adversity I would accept within myself is to try and rise above it. I would fail at times, and succeed at others, but that was the intent I would commit myself to.

So to say that The Ghost Inside’s particular brand of melodic hardcore has always resonated with me would be a profound understatement. News of their crash devastated me. While their first two full-lengths were my favorites by far, I still enjoyed their later releases, and was glad for their continued success; maybe the solace that their earlier provided me would find others.

The band will always, to me, represent the beating heart of hardcore music. In their chaotic pit, I found none of my peers concerned that I, a scrawny Asian male in too-bright climbing apparel, stuck out like a sore thumb. We were all there to celebrate, to share sweat, misanthropy, and elbows. Nobody who earned their place there was out to act cool or pretend they were a part of something they didn't truly resonate with. What I witnessed was a writhing mass unified for all their differences, and it was powerful beyond words.

That being said, it is my extreme privilege to report that The Ghost Inside’s eponymous fifth album (sixth if you count their time as A Dying Dream) is easily their best. Lead-off single “Aftermath” mostly picked up where the band had left off, with a surprising few lines of clean singing that punctuated the later half, and imbued me with a cautious optimism for the record.

“Phoenix Rise” exemplifies just how far they have grown. Seamlessly willing to suffuse their trademark melodic hardcore sound with more accessible elements, imperatively commanding listeners to “face forward into the night.”

There’s something to be said for simplicity. For all that critics like to call them generic-core, The Ghost Inside’s message has always crystal clear. Forgive yourself and others so that you can overcome it all. “The Ghost Inside” is an ode to the very spirit of grit within us all. Track after track, it speaks to the brilliant capabilities inside us all; our capacity to rise above the darkness in ourselves and in the world around us.

Beyond that, this is more than a mere return to form for the band. The fruits of their labor shine brilliantly. Years away from the constant cycle of touring and recording to fight for their ability to simply be a band again have borne an album bleeding inspiration out of its seams.

Led off by an absolutely massive drum fill for any number of legs, the album opens to a triumphant claim of their rebirth, and proceed to carry that momentum for the entire record. Vigil’s penchant for writing infectious earworms seemingly strung together from memorable quotes and one-liners is on full display. The crushing breakdowns and soaring melodies that have always punctuated their lyrics are joined by introspective bridges and full-on sung choruses. And not a dammed moment of it feels fake or forced in the slightest. Front to back, the album forcefully exudes a willpower lesser acts simply cannot bring to bear.

At long last, The Ghost Inside are back and better than ever. We’ll see you when the sun sets.




Recent reviews by this author
Counterparts Nothing Left to LoveDayseeker Sleeptalk
Windrunner MAICitizen As You Please
END (NJ) From the Unforgiving Arms of GodTigers Jaw spin
user ratings (159)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
June 5th 2020


8766 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Welp, this came out and kept me up raving about it at my computer.



This isn't at all edited and it's honestly way too long. Any help fixing that would be greatly appreciated. The band deserves at least that much.

JesperL
June 5th 2020


1133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it is long but it definitely isn't bad (the review, haven't heard the album yet), do combine some of the shorter paragraphs (with some edits the first three could become 1). i also think the bit about the reunion show can be dropped, as much as i love the 'scrawny asian male' analysis haha.



lacks some consistency wrt use of parentheses, eg fury and the fallen ones (2nd para), bit in brackets in the 8th para, might have missed a few others. hope this helps a bit, planning on checking the album later today!

Digging: Catz 'n Dogz - Moments

Spec
June 5th 2020


35970 Comments


Loving this.

SteakByrnes
June 5th 2020


20081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet review man, I'm so pumped to hear this

Digging: Lost For Life - We All Share The Blame

nash1311
June 5th 2020


1939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fastest 5 I have ever dished out. I found lots of F&tFO elements here with Returners production. But in general this album is a great juxtaposition of all of their previous work, but the raw and authentic lyrics put it over the edge for me.



Edit: We'll see how this compares to their first 2 over time.

sspedding
June 5th 2020


5296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review. I don't think it's a 5 though.

butt.
June 5th 2020


7721 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's good but still pretty standard metalcore. sounds exactly like they did 7 years ago. not a bad thing. Feelin a 3.3 - 3.4 on this after one listen



either way, proud of these guys and glad they finally got to make this happen

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

JustJoe.
June 5th 2020


9268 Comments


win review is a win

JaqenTheFacelessOne
June 5th 2020


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

AOTY

TheNewWhack
June 5th 2020


1547 Comments


Phoenix Rise is an absolute banger. Loving the album.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - Terraformer

JayEnder
June 5th 2020


7744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review man.



Album absolutely slaps. I was so stoked when I got my copy a day early. Jammed it in my car all day yesterday and I gotta say... I might enjoy this album more than Returners. Overexposure kicks so much ass.

Digging: Sufjan Stevens - Illinois

rafalafa
June 5th 2020


217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's solid. Nothing groundbreaking here, but a welcome return.

SteakByrnes
June 5th 2020


20081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea it sounds like they never left

iChuckles
June 5th 2020


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is great! Very nice review too but perhaps consider cutting back on the amount of paragraphs. Some serious highlights on this monster of an album; favorites right now are Still Alive, The Outcast, Make or Break, Phoenix Rise & Begin Again plus the singles. I'm a bit iffy on some of the singing parts but on the whole I'm very pleased.

Digging: Stand Atlantic - Pink Elephant

Spec
June 5th 2020


35970 Comments


Their twitter comment section is a shit show right now.

nash1311
June 5th 2020


1939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ why



Edit: Nvm, found it

Spec
June 5th 2020


35970 Comments


alleged racism from their bassist

EDIT: in case anyone is wondering

JayEnder
June 5th 2020


7744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Twitter is a cesspool of accusations so I'm really not sure how I feel about that.

Winsomniac
June 5th 2020


8766 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It's pretty shitty if true. But I also feel like you gotta give people the opportunity to do better.



Thanks for the kind words and suggestions. I cut some ramblings out LOL.

JayEnder
June 5th 2020


7744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"It's pretty shitty if true." Yeah, but I'm not buying it until Jim makes an official statement.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy