Behemoth
A Forest


3.0
good

Review

by Fernando Alves STAFF
June 2nd, 2020 | 30 replies


Release Date: 05/29/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Eighties-flavored pit stop

The release of singles or EP's between full-lengths is a common practice in the music business, they not only serve as proof of life but are also a vehicle to attract some money, and that's just fine by me, as everyone needs to make a living. Behemoth's A Forest is one of those interim releases, consisting of two original songs orbiting around The Cure's cover (studio and live version). This track must have been relevant during Nergal's youth, or he simply thought it would have the attributes needed to give it a new, blackened outfit. I would say that the outcome of his impression of 1980's Robert Smith & Co song is artistically debatable, to say the least, much due to its somewhat sloppy interpretation. I understand Nergal meant to embed some organic, raw vibe into the song, but he took it a little too far. Both vocals seem to have been taken from two drunken teenagers and everything seems to have been carelessly recorded. One could say that's the very purpose of this cover, and I accept that, yet if we overcome the subjective barricade, it seems clear to me that Nergal has failed to incorporate a layer of memorability into his personal impression, or at least failed to make it timeless, unlike brilliant covers such as Priest's 'The Green Manalishi (With the Two Pronged Crown)' or Sanctuary's 'White Rabbit'. Nevertheless, if I may, I will now turn my narrative upside down and imply that something without the ability to be magnificent or timeless can still have enough qualities to be enjoyed. And unlike many people out there, I will not include 'A Forest' among the worst cover songs of all time, nor will I stone Nergal when I run into him on the street. I'll just quietly place the track on my "it should have been better" shelf. I'm sorry, fellas, but I do love the song's chord progression. Yet not everything is wasteful in these nineteen minutes. If we move beyond the average 'Shadows ov Ea Cast Upon Golgotha', which is nothing more than an inferior version of 'If Crucifixion Was Not Enough', we come across 'Evoe', undoubtedly the EP's highlight. Its high-caliber pre-The Satanist riff is not only up to Behemoth's monstrous legacy, but also shows enough quality to have been included in I Loved You at Your Darkest. And it's moments like this that leave me hopeful for Nergal's creative future, as he will soon have the arduous task of reversing the somewhat uninspired cycle of recent years.



Recent reviews by this author
Flotsam and Jetsam Blood in the WaterGrave Miasma Abyss of Wrathful Deities
Gojira FortitudeAltarage Succumb
Cannibal Corpse Violence UnimaginedSanguisugabogg Tortured Whole
user ratings (43)
2.6
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2020


16187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers,

A brief paragraph on Nergal's new EP.

The release is available on Spotify and other streaming platforms.

Digging: Helloween - Helloween

deathofasalesman
June 3rd 2020


7398 Comments


Very cool lil write-up. Provides an honest look at a divisive release and gives reasons why it's not amazing. Also makes me want to listen to the full EP just to know the experience, so good review.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2020


24533 Comments


Good stuff, I'm not very keen on checking this honestly. Just saw the video when the news popped up and yeah, it was atrocious.

Digging: Kultivator - Barndomens Stigar

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2020


16187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, it's not a memorable cover.



Thanks deathofasalesman ;)

Although it's not mandatory, I think it deserves a spin. Evoe is a nice track.

InFlamesWeThrash666
June 3rd 2020


10059 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Evoe is kinda cool the rest sucks

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2020


14281 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I really don't see the point of this EP.

Digging: Diskord - Degenerations

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2020


16187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shaking things up before the new album later this year.

garas
Contributing Reviewer
June 3rd 2020


6085 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nice writeup as usual.



"'A Forest' among the worst cover songs of all time" I have nothing against you bro, but this was easily one of the worst covers I've ever heard. Maybe it'd work for Carpathian Forest, since they already used rock elements in their black metal, but it was a big failure for Behemoth. And that Live version... I couldn't even finish it, it was disturbingly bad.



"Evoe is kinda cool the rest sucks" + "I really don't see the point of this EP." [2]

Digging: Tenhi - Kauan

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2020


16187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hope you got nothing against me because I like to think I'm a nice guy ;)



Your opinion is obviously valid, and I believe most of the guys around here will corroborate it. Although the cover leaves something to be desired, as I said in the review, I don't include it in the worst cover songs I've ever heard.



parksungjoon
June 3rd 2020


32249 Comments


gonna check out of curiosity

theres no way its as bad as six feet under's covers right?

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2020


14281 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

--theres no way its as bad as six feet under's covers right?--



Did not need the reminder that those even existed, thanks.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2020


16187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hahah right. Nothing comes close to Six Feet Under's covers

Mabbitt
June 4th 2020


1805 Comments


While I don't think that the cover is anything special and wish it was better...I still it's still at least okay. I don't hate it. Agreed that Evoe is the best thing on here though.

Willie
Moderator
June 5th 2020


18922 Comments


I haven't heard the other songs, but I was not a fan of the Cure cover. I'm usually all about cover songs that change the original, but not this time.

Digging: At the Gates - The Nightmare of Being

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2020


16187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, it sounds kind of sloppy, especially the vocal duet. I believe this more organic approach was purposeful, but I don't think it worked brilliantly.

vermillionZ
June 5th 2020


359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not a fan of the title track, the 2 originals are pretty good though.

Digging: Flotsam and Jetsam - Blood In The Water

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2020


16187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love Evoe's riff. Great jam.

Titan
June 5th 2020


22248 Comments


Man, I admit, I need to do a better job of noticing new reviews. Especially from folks I interact with quite a bit.

Good read bro, gonna check it out.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2020


16187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for stopping by Titan bro. It's not mandatory listening. If you wish take a peek at Sorcerer's new album instead, it has a couple of great tracks.

Titan
June 5th 2020


22248 Comments


Well then I will check that one too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy