Alestorm
Curse Of The Crystal Coconut


3.5
great

Review

by Grumpy USER (19 Reviews)
June 1st, 2020 | 26 replies


Release Date: 05/29/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Your favourite rum-based cocktail with extra coconut syrup.

Such folk/power metal bands are not really my territory in metal, but I was always interested about Alestorm guys’ well-being and output (especially since Máté Bodor joined them on guitars), since they presented the term "pirate metal" to a wider audience and earned some fame and success with it (at least more than what the band Running Wild ever got).

In case if you don't know Alestorm, keep one thing in mind: don't take these guys seriously. And that's where the band usually gets all the hate, since some from the grumpier side of the metal community doesn't like the term "fun" in their music... Shame. Personally I haven't really discovered any other metal act as entertaining as Alestorm over the years, and I have to admit they brought some carefree fun to some of my grimmest days in life.

Writing and recording six LPs in the same concept is quite an achievement, especially if we are talking about this pirate-oriented gimmick... And most surprisingly, Alestorm still managed to squeeze out something new(!) from this pirate metal-thing, even though the result is far from their biggest albums. However no one can deny the fact that The Curse of the Crystal Coconut is clearly their most daring release so far. They brought some new interesting elements into their sound, like some sort of hip-hop vibes in 'Tortuga', female vocals in 'Zombies Ate My Pirate Ship', and like in the beginning of the album's best song 'Wooden Leg, Pt. 2 (The Woodening)' some furious blast beats and some sort of extreme metal riffing accompanied by atmospheric synth melodies - the latter is an exceptionally important and dominant component in the album, since the synths got more spotlight than ever before. Furthermore some improvement is also noticeable in the vocals - personally I think Christopher Bowes never sounded this good on any other album - and they really did put a lot of effort into the choruses as well.

Despite all these improvements, I had a bigger problem with this album. Namely, it feels that some of the presented songs are very lifeless. Especially the opener, closer track with '*** Boat (No Fans)' feels like they ran out of ideas and just put together something to reach the desired length... So altogether: I think the album contains too much filler material. However, focusing on the better songs of the album, I think the result is satisfying enough. The more heavier songs like 'Chomp Chomp' and 'Wooden Leg, Pt. 2 (The Woodening)' may remind the listener to the band's earlier, more thrash oriented phase, and the band did not lose their great sense of humour. Moreover, in 'Pirate Metal Drinking Crew' they openly stated in the lyrics they absolutely don't care about the hate towards them, and I found this type of honesty especially enjoyable.

Very likely every Alestorm fan will enjoy this album, and to those are not familiar with them, I'd say: a little bit of power metal never hurt anybody. Yahrrr!




Recent reviews by this author
Celestial Bloodshed ΩSelvhat Den Svarte Tid
Murgrind The Power of YourselfFief I​-​IV
Impaled Nazarene Suomi Finland PerkeleBlack Magick SS Rainbow Nights
user ratings (41)
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
June 1st 2020


4537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ya-ha-hahrrrrr~

Digging: Mora Prokaza - By Chance

Bedex
June 1st 2020


1829 Comments


aye aye

Digging: Sound of Ceres - Nostalgia for Infinity

parksungjoon
June 1st 2020


20887 Comments


could never get into this band

> Writing and recording six LPs in the same concept is quite an achievement

im not sure if id call it an achievement but if it were then amon amarth would be kings lol. altho they too have fallen quite a bit over the last decade imo

garas
June 1st 2020


4537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"if id call it an achievement but if it were then amon amarth would be kings lol" This, hahahaha! :]



"could never get into this band" It's alright, I feel the very same about bands like Powerwolf or Sabaton. This pirate thing was always oddly close to me, but I have no strong reason why, though.

BallsToTheWall
June 1st 2020


49993 Comments


Love these guys. Zombies Ate My Pirate Ship is SOTY contender.

Digging: Make Them Suffer - How to Survive a Funeral

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2020


14345 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don't dig their silly piracy brand, but to each his own, obviously.

Good work garas. Pos’d

Digging: Convocation - Ashes Coalesce

wildinferno2010
June 1st 2020


592 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

When I was 13 I took this band embarrassingly seriously. I still reckon their first two albums are above-average power metal. They're a bit *too* silly for me now, and I can't believe I'm saying that about a literally effing pirate metal band.



Still a fun time, though.



Good review, btw.

BallsToTheWall
June 1st 2020


49993 Comments


Must see live. Always a hoot.

garas
June 1st 2020


4537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"I don't dig their silly piracy brand" I noticed your 5.0 on Port Royal by Running Wild, so I'm not surprised by this.

"Still a fun time, though." And that's what really matters, in my humble opinion ;]

"Must see live." On my bucket-list! I was kinda bummed I had to skip their last concert here where Chris dressed as a human-sized bacon :|

parksungjoon
June 1st 2020


20887 Comments


> I feel the very same about bands like Powerwolf or Sabaton

ye power metal in general almost, and anything like ensiferum, anything cheesy really

amon amarth were good cuz they were powerful and ruff but deceiver onwards has been a tumble down a flight of stairs imo

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2020


12679 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Tortuga was a refresher, considering I'm all for their "sunken Norweigan" type schtick. That said I find it harder to rate higher than a 2.5. Its silly fun, sure. But that doesn't qualify it as "good"

Nerdurosis
June 1st 2020


393 Comments


'Tortuga' is pure anal vomit.

Never was a fan of this band at all. I might take a listen though.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
June 2nd 2020


12679 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Don't knock anal til you try it.

wildinferno2010
June 2nd 2020


592 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is so much fun, I can't help but like it. Can't wait until the next chance I have to see these guys live.



But also, does anyone else seriously miss the days when these guys would sing Pirates of the Carribean style power-metal epics instead of party-metal joke songs? Captain Morgan's Revenge is still epic as heck

south_of_heaven 11
June 3rd 2020


5555 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is album is so dumb and I don't know why I can't stop listening to it.



Zombies is the best.

InFlamesWeThrash666
June 3rd 2020


9733 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bet this rules

garas
June 3rd 2020


4537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Captain Morgan's Revenge is still epic as heck" [2] It is. + The remastered version is even better!



"bet this rules" Care to find out? ;]

wildinferno2010
June 3rd 2020


592 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Had no idea they'd remastered it, have to get on that.

NorwichScene
June 4th 2020


3112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pirate Metal Drinking Crew my favourite here

Deathconscious
June 4th 2020


24874 Comments


this is the kind of band you only need one or two albums of, but i might listen to this once just to see what kind of funny shit they came up with this time.

Digging: Shakey Graves - Look Alive



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy