Donny Benet
Mr. Experience


3.5
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
May 23rd, 2020 | 75 replies


Release Date: 05/22/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: He always satisfies...

Donny Benét embraced all the ‘80s disco clichés and turned himself into a quirky character from the respective era. His rich, middle-aged sleazy persona wears Miami Vice-like flamingo pink suits, sports that porn mustache and inevitably, women fall at his feet. As a result, the tunes are peppered with sexual innuendos and feature all the cheesiness you can expect. Luckily, humor finds its way to the surface, especially in the music videos, rounding the overall experience.

2018’s The Don helped the Australian multi-instrumentalist gain a solid underground following, plus, it allowed him to expand his horizons by touring North America and Europe. Due to the ‘80s music's popularity resurgence, post disco (Italo-disco, city pop, in this case) rides some of those waves as well. Giving credit where is due, Donny took bits from various influences and crafted some sweet, fun tunes. On his latest record, Mr. Experience he continues to diversify his output within the genre. Inevitably, the synthesizer is at the forefront, being used to portray various moods and sounds, such as the late night, warm vibes of ‘Negroni Summer’ or ‘Second Dinner’, the sensual porn (synthwave) soundtrack ‘Waterfall (Love Scene’), as well as the sequencer-led, dancefloor-ready, ‘One Night in Paradise’. Luckily, Benét graces us with his bouncy, funky bass lines, leading the groovy title track, ‘Moving Up & the smooth, jazzy-tinged, ‘Girl of my Dreams’. Moreover, the man’s lovely croon fits the music perfectly, complementing it rather than becoming main focus.

Donny relied on consistency on Mr. Experience and it paid off. Ultimately, the album is an entertaining and cohesive listen. The honest delivery makes it even better, as its aim is to put a smile on your face. Behind the comical nature of his persona, the music is actually great. At the same time, Benét worked on the production side to offer a modern take on the original, arguably outdated disco sound. So, you either accept the whole package or forget about it.





Recent reviews by this author
Protomartyr Ultimate Success TodayMoby All Visible Objects
Brant Bjork Brant BjorkMark Lanegan Straight Songs of Sorrow
The Sonic Dawn Enter the MirageAWOLNATION Angel Miners and the Lightning Riders
user ratings (29)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


5153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a fun listen. Stream here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xQeyhQAglmE&list=OLAK5uy_nmATM_vIG7LzLnfKLZqpN8ovUaJcz-_fA



'Second Dinner' (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0dD7KeRETsA

'Girl of my Dreams' (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkGG3eyMyd8



Also, if you are interested, these are some of his best tunes:

'Konichiwa' (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PnzXZlm4wwg

'Love Online' (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_DchQu7QPE

'Santorini' (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcZWSfKJ--8

Digging: Bryan Ferry - Boys and Girls

Waior
Contributing Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


11765 Comments


What a mystifying album. I put the first song on and now I've listened to the whole thing despite having no intention to. Moving Up was my favourite.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


5153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep, same happened to me when I first listened to his music. It's easy listening and catchy lol. Check out The Don as well, Konichiwa is his best tune IMO.

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 23rd 2020


35299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That album cover paired with your summary is a pure win.

Digging: Westelaken - Westelaken

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


5153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This should go side by side with Carly Rae Jepsen lol. Beauty and the beast

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 23rd 2020


35299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Done

MO
May 23rd 2020


22965 Comments


dude this funks so hard

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


5153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Sowing, I hope you dig this. It's all good vibes.





Love his bass lines MO.





Gyromania
May 23rd 2020


30289 Comments


Easily the sexiest album art of the year so far

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 23rd 2020


35299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Surely sexier than his present company on the front page as well...

Dimorphic
May 23rd 2020


1308 Comments


Distinct lack of ratings considering the fact this has apparently been listened to in its entirety.

I'm tempted to 5 this based on cover art sex appeal alone.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 23rd 2020


57948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The fuck is this shit

Digging: Thomas - Balls On Yo Neck

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 23rd 2020


57948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Kind of seems like a 5

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 23rd 2020


57948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just listened to title track and it's a 5 confirmed

Drpibb
May 23rd 2020


178 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/d4/0b/e5/d40be582027641cdda45520e2b423bc0.jpg

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 23rd 2020


57948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Watched the music vid for girl of my dreams and now I'm leaning more towards a 7/5

bloodshy
May 23rd 2020


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if dr phil was a guest on his own show, he'd look like this

Digging: Synovial - Songs of Silver

Ebola
May 24th 2020


3864 Comments


jonbenet

Lichtbringer
May 24th 2020


364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, you just got a new fan.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 24th 2020


57948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bruh needs to make an album with louis cole



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy