Jeff Rosenstock
NO DREAM


5.0
classic

Review

by Lucman USER (6 Reviews)
May 22nd, 2020 | 444 replies


Release Date: 05/20/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: NO DREAM is the sound of memories being made in the middle of rough times, mistakes being admitted to and forgiven, and relishing in the joy we find in each other. In other words, it's a Jeff Rosenstock record.

There has always been something more behind the music of Jeff Rosenstock. Catchy punk numbers, creative genre mashups, and rapid guitar rhythms merely scratch the surface of what makes Rosenstock's music special. Behind it all is a strong sense of community. It's a togetherness that makes every moment feel larger than life as we find ourselves connecting to every ill feeling Jeff is shouting to us and to himself. That's how one could describe NO DREAM in a nutshell. There are no real answers or elegant bows that tie our troubles together in a box to be sent off, only people like you and I and grievances we can't do much about. But if you think we're going to accept them you better think again.

NO DREAM is not the album of an anxious and insecure individual. On NO DREAM the problems haven't vanished, in fact, they've only continued to grow and morph into our lives in other ways (when we've overcome one hurdle there's always another), yet the unsettled anxiety that coloured Worry. and POST- has been replaced with a courage that we haven't heard from Rosenstock since the Bomb The Music Industry days. As a result, NO DREAM isn't abrasive or nervously sporadic, it's breezy, fun, and as bright as the summer sun. It's not dissimilar to BTMI's Vacation musically speaking, but this time we're not running away, we're facing the crap together.

Although NO DREAM can almost feel like a Yellowcard album at points with its beautiful, summery aesthetic and heart-felt approach, you can make no mistake about the who's who behind it. This is a quirky, loud, and undeniably punk record full of personality and wit. "NO TIME" is a blistering and nostalgic opener that harkens back to the days of the fast, brief skater-punk jams of the 80s. Speaking of nostalgic throwbacks, "Leave It In The Sun" sounds like a lost gem from Green Day's Kerplunk. The album's titular track begins in a warm haze before exploding into a jaw-dropping outburst of hardcore punk that feels like BTMI has been brought back from the dead. Moreover, "Scram!" is one of the most cathartic and gleefully relatable songs Jeff has written in years.

The amount of melody and instrumental genius on display here is staggering. "State Line," for example, opens with a peppy, jangly guitar lick that transitions into another anthemic and melodically gorgeous capstone. "The Beauty Of Breathing" is given a full studio makeover here after first appearing in demo form before being included on the Thanks, Sorry! live album from last year and it's everything fans could have wanted. "Honeymoon Ashtray" and the emotionally heavy "Ohio Tpke" close the album on a serene but bittersweet note that brings us back to square one. The community, as caring and empathetic as it is, can be just as messed up like the rest. We criticize the world's ideals of fame and corrupted ethics even though we are far from perfect ourselves. It is the ones who are closest to us that we will always value the most and for Rosenstock, it is the bridge between them that is so agonizingly difficult to accept and subsequently cross.

NO DREAM is yet another triumph. It's the sound of memories being made in the middle of rough times, mistakes being admitted to and forgiven, and relishing in the joy we find in each other. In other words, it's a Jeff Rosenstock record.



Recent reviews by this author
Jimmy Eat World InventedCopeland Blushing
Hopesfall ArbiterSuis La Lune Riala
Paramore Brand New Eyes
user ratings (262)
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lucman
May 22nd 2020


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Bet you weren't expecting me to jump in first! Criticisms and feedback are very much welcome.

This is probably AOTY. There is just nothing like the feeling of a beloved favourite releasing an album that surpasses every expectation.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2020


43747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

I see where you're coming from here but I don't know if I agree this is a breezy listen, in fact I thought some of it was stunningly dark for how upbeat the melodies are, t/t for instance

also (this is a tiny nitpick I'm sorry) Beauty of Breathing was out before the Thanks Sorry album, I guess in a demo version now. the recording on this album is far superior for sure

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2020


43747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

that being said good work on the review, you argue your points well

Lucman
May 22nd 2020


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks, Row, appreciate it. Ah, I didn't know there was a previous demo for Beauty of Breathing. I'll change it. This can definitely be dark lyrically, and maybe calling it a breezy listen isn't entirely accurate, but since it is contrasted with a lighter mood musically I think there's a lot of significance thematically there.

Pikazilla
May 22nd 2020


11160 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

You should review more, because you have a lovely writing style. Pos'd.

Lucman
May 22nd 2020


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thank you Pika, that means a lot. I'm definitely trying to write a little more.

deathschool
May 22nd 2020


25607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hype the fuck.





Will read.

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - NO DREAM

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2020


18904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

album is pretty good ig

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2020


19772 Comments


Rev oozes love, nicely done Lucman, pos'd!

Digging: The Move - Shazam

Lucman
May 22nd 2020


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Dewi!

ian b
May 22nd 2020


787 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

shit, this makes me even wonder if my review is necessary to post now. this is a wonderful write-up dude, heavy pos.

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - NO DREAM

deathschool
May 22nd 2020


25607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Scram goes harder with every listen

Lucman
May 22nd 2020


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Go for it, Ian! Yours and (hopefully!) Slex's reviews are what I'm looking forward to reading the most.

dimsim3478
May 22nd 2020


8714 Comments


i'm seeing so much hype for Scram (esp in the facebook group) but it hasnt hit me yet.

on the other hand, State Line, BNB and Ohio Turnpike were immediate highlights for me. CAN I TAKE A PIECE OF YOU????

Digging: Yoshida Ichiro Untouchable World - ????

Scoot
May 22nd 2020


19863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

jeff is the divorce punk king

deathschool
May 22nd 2020


25607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

BNB is fantastic too. The melody is, dare I say, cute?

decisions
May 22nd 2020


553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Scram is the worst song here

deathschool
May 22nd 2020


25607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn.

KillJester
May 22nd 2020


7 Comments


Usually not a fan of this guy spare a few songs, but this album flows so well. Been spinning this all day. State Line and Honeymoon Ashtray are so fucking good. Deff a top 10 album this year

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2020


43747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

Ohio Tpke prolly the best song yeah. can't believe how good that shit is, my favourite Jeff closer since Felt Just Like Vacation tbh



that being said State Lines, BNB and Leave it in the Sun are the hardest bangers and will be getting played most in the car



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy