Moby
All Visible Objects


4.0
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
May 15th, 2020 | 33 replies


Release Date: 05/15/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Eco-friendly nostalgia party...

Moby celebrates his 30th anniversary under the moniker this year. He passed through several polarizing phases throughout his career, confusing at times even dedicated fans. Nevertheless, the artist stuck to his guns, marching forward on his own terms. The past decade saw him becoming a tad predictable, so unexpectedly, he branched out, alternating from downtempo to punk infused new wave, trip hop, as well as hours-long, droning ambient journeys. Out of all, the vitriolic Void Pacific Choir LPs, coupled with some of his most aggressive music yet were a breath of fresh air. The sobering slap in the face came with 2018’s Everything Was Beautiful, and Nothing Hurt, maintaining that momentum through a contrasting, subdued, post-apocalyptic vibe.

The latest material, All Visible Objects throws us back to the early ‘90s, when techno, house and rave parties were at their peak. While not apparent from the album artwork, this record is middle-aged Moby’s take on those times. There is more focus on melody, however, thumping beats and mesmerizing synthesizers recreate that vibrant atmosphere. The lyrics concern today’s political and social issues, but this time we’re allowed to dance and spread some love too. ‘Morningside’ opens this nostalgia trip with sampled vocals, steady percussion and spine shivering keys build-ups akin to his first hit, ‘Go’. Also, the Roxy Music tune, ‘My Only Love’ was reworked into a trance pop anthem, complete with pristine chamber piano touches, paranoid-sounding leads, topped by Mindy Jones’ mournful vocals. During the middle stretch, the more powerful techno grooves of ‘Refuge’ or ‘Power Is Taken’ are interspersed with warmer club bangers like ‘Rise Up in Love’, ‘Forever’ & ‘One Last Time’. The fast-paced, cyclic beats, high-pitched noises, alongside echoed samples boast those lovely, euphoric feels.

Usually the latter half of Moby’s albums represent a gradual comedown, embellished with lush or melancholic ambient cuts. On All Visible Objects he managed to fend the habit by leaving us a number of immersive instrumental epics. Still, he totally resist it and included ‘Separation’, a gorgeous piano segment, augmented by waves of mellotron leads. On the other hand, the 10-minute opus, ‘Too Much Change’ can be seen as the transition to late night partying. The beat is there, however, you start experiencing some emotional lows. Then, you drain your remaining energy dancing during ‘Tecie’ and the title track. On these two songs, Moby went all in with the synthesizers. They grow in intensity with each passing minute, becoming dominant (as if a blurry soundtrack to a drug-fueled epiphany). Headphones definitely help, due to the encompassing, huge, layered sound.

Overall, All Visible Objects acts as a love letter to the early ‘90s techno/trance/rave scene, albeit in a pop-instilled way. Moby pays his respects to the respective era, blending various sounds from his discography into what plays like a smoothly sequenced, nostalgia party mixtape. Unfortunately, there is nothing as punchy as ‘Feeling So Real’, but I appreciate how the man created a cohesive journey. In fact, this is one thing he successfully improved during the past few years. I believe Richard Hall still finds ways to offer interesting music after 30 years of activity and this LP deserves to be digested by as many people as possible.




Recent reviews by this author
Protomartyr Ultimate Success TodayDonny Benet Mr. Experience
Brant Bjork Brant BjorkMark Lanegan Straight Songs of Sorrow
The Sonic Dawn Enter the MirageAWOLNATION Angel Miners and the Lightning Riders
user ratings (20)
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2020


5150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album that flows really well.



Stream here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=We8eBk7B30c&list=OLAK5uy_no0iK0Uhx1iZU2WIPgWyYIML94aBQgRZE

Digging: Bryan Ferry - Boys and Girls

Trifolium
May 15th 2020


17148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice! I still need to hear this, have been meaning to check it for some time now...



And oh my gosh the way you describe this sounds like it could totally appeal to me! Been a long time fan but kind of lost interest for a while, but your review makes me want to finally check it!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2020


5150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you!

I dig his recent works a lot and this album is sweet. You should check Everything Was Beautiful and Nothing Hurt as well if you feel like.

Trifolium
May 15th 2020


17148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh yeah I loved that one. Wasn't too keen on his Void Pacific Choir stuff, but Everything Was... was a great one, agreed.



Today was going to be Monolake-day but perhaps I'll slip in a little Moby while no-one is watching.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2020


5150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aaaaaight!



I liked the change of pace and those noisy grooves on the Void Pacific Choir LPs. Also appreciated he went all in with the political/social/environmental rants, very few were so brutally honest about them.

Trifolium
May 15th 2020


17148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah for sure! I have always loved his choices of remaining true himself. Even comes through with for instance the touring (when that was still a thing 😥🌊), that he decided to just do a few gigs in a venue close to his home and no longer go abroad. And with his musical direction too, yeah. Even loved Hotel haha!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2020


5150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed. I'm happy I managed to see him during the Destroyed tour, especially since it was his last trek. I hope he decides to do another run sometime, the full band performance helped a lot. I really dig Hotel too.

Trifolium
May 15th 2020


17148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Caught him at the Destroyed tour too! And it indeed ruled, nice chemistry on stage, interaction with the audience, and they sounded great.



Loved Destroyed and Wait For Me a lot by the way. Ideas on those two?

sizeofanocean
May 15th 2020


1905 Comments


The review summary sounds like a later era Mogwai track

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2020


5150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love both those albums, I listened to Destroyed more probably, it's a tad more uplifting. I was a bit disappointed he didn't play much from the album at that show. Nevertheless, it was awesome.

grannypantys
May 15th 2020


2302 Comments


I was expecting bad things after track 1 but this record hits a good stride eventually

bloc
May 15th 2020


62183 Comments


I always got time to hear this dude's albums, will check this

Digging: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Dazzle Ships

Mythodea
May 15th 2020


5069 Comments


I haven't listened to much Moby other than Play and Everything... but I absolutely love both. This is going to be the third one I'm checking out and I'm glad it's gotten favourable reviews. I could use some Moby in my life rn.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2020


5150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was waiting for your opinion bloc haha.



This is a more melodic, slightly ambient presentation of his early '90s stuff.

Trifolium
May 15th 2020


17148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Destroyed was a high point for him I think, as was WFM. Two of his best outside of his earlier classic albums. He has made some absolutely great stuff.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2020


5150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed. I don't really listen to Wait For Me unless I'm in the mood. Destroyed works better in random moments IMO.

virpi
May 15th 2020


122 Comments


Some tracks are absolutely terrible, others are amazing. Very strange album.

bloc
May 15th 2020


62183 Comments


Album's a little long, but wow I am liking it. Good mix of moody piano tracks and upbeat dance stuff

Mythodea
May 16th 2020


5069 Comments


you're talking about EWBANH, right?

bloc
May 16th 2020


62183 Comments


That album was pure excellency, and this is pretty close to it in quality. I gave this a 3.5 for now, but I can see it rising over time



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy