Amon Duul II
Phallus Dei


5.0
classic

Review

by SandwichBubble USER (83 Reviews)
May 14th, 2020 | 37 replies


Release Date: 1969 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A genre-defining, game-changing record.

In the 50 years that have passed since the release of Phallus Dei, the world of psychedelic rock has shifted and changed with the times. Artists have switched up the formula via many different means, to varying degrees of success. Some modern examples have even become touchstones for the genre going forward, spawning countless copycat acts. Many of which I like and have praised along with everyone else.

But to me, Amon Düül II’s Phallus Dei will always remain the genre’s peak: psych rock’s ubiquitous masterpiece that has not lost a touch of the insanity and fervor it must have shown enthused listeners back in 1969 and would leave a legion of imitators in their wake. But none would ever match Düül’s manic blend of progressive rock, krautrock, traditional folk, and raga. The communal group of German artists would produce in 1969 what hundreds of others would one day try and replicate.

Writing this review, I couldn’t help but feel as if I was fighting a losing battle. Almost everyone who has heard Phallus Dei knows exactly just how wild it is, how influential it is, how incredible it is. But for those who have not heard of this album yet or those with even a mild interest, I dare not spoil this album for you any longer. To those who either description may apply, I envy you. Because if you decide to listen to this, you’re in for a genre-defining, game-changing magnum opus that will make you rethink your entire relationship to the genre of psychedelic rock.



Recent reviews by this author
Faune Des FantômesBeirut Hadsel
Soft Water Middle GroundAnimal Collective Isn’t It Now?
Deeper Careful!Uhr Salathiel Harms
user ratings (199)
4
excellent
related reviews

Yeti
recommended by reviewer
Listen to
the album


Comments:Add a Comment 
SandwichBubble
May 14th 2020


13787 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Stream: https://open.spotify.com/album/0QcpicZcNCf2lCHGbsk6IB

Shortest, crappiest review ever, but I couldn't think of anything to write.

Enjoy.

BaselineOOO
May 14th 2020


2421 Comments


The cover of the album is one of those covers that makes you say "wow" at first then a couple of seconds later you realize it's awful. Luckily the songwriting and production here is the opposite of that first impression, crazy grower! A masterpiece.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2020


31824 Comments


Yeeeeessshhh u madman, u did it, krautpos.

SandwichBubble
May 14th 2020


13787 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"The cover of the album is one of those covers that makes you say "wow" at first then a couple of seconds later you realize it's awful."

Speak for yourself there, chief. Album art rules.

Wish I could find a high quality version to use as a wallpaper or something.



"Yeeeeessshhh"

Yes I did, peer pressure did its job.

If anyone wants to do a better review, I feel it pertinent to say I'm rooting for you 100% cause I didn't know what to write and it shows.

This is why I don't review 10/10 albums.

Frippertronics
Emeritus
May 14th 2020


19511 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rare Baseline sighting

GhandhiLion
May 14th 2020


17630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_dkj2OgD2M4s/TTiSgl8svHI/AAAAAAAAE-I/zh6gHYq9bkQ/s1600/Phallus%2BDei..jpg



Best quality I can find

Source
May 14th 2020


19917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heheh

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2020


31824 Comments


"This is why I don't review 10/10 albums."

The fact that you took it to review it already beats anything else my man.

SandwichBubble
May 14th 2020


13787 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@GhandhiLion still a bit scummy, but I'll make something out of it. Thank you.

And thanks to all, let's hope this comment thread will provide a grounds for positive, engaging discourse in the future.

SandwichBubble
May 14th 2020


13787 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That out of the way,

if you don't like this album, I hate you and yousmellbad.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 14th 2020


70239 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Damn I agree with you on a thing

SandwichBubble
May 14th 2020


13787 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It was bound to happen eventually.

parksungjoon
May 14th 2020


46886 Comments


bless

parksungjoon
May 14th 2020


46886 Comments


chat yall should listen to this

grannypantys
May 14th 2020


2568 Comments


can't believe I have never heard this before

sending a formal complaint to the creators of youtube algorithms

parksungjoon
May 14th 2020


46886 Comments


this should be doing the rounds on youtube agreed

SandwichBubble
May 14th 2020


13787 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pretty sure I've seen Yeti in the related videos sidebar a couple of times

But yes, you should listen to this.

MotokoKusanagi
May 14th 2020


4290 Comments


yeah yeti definitely gets rec'd in youtube for me, haven't seen this one that i recall

Zig
May 15th 2020


2746 Comments


Nice Kraut-review!

SandwichBubble
May 15th 2020


13787 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Danke.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy