Brant Bjork
Brant Bjork


3.6
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
May 11th, 2020 | 17 replies


Release Date: 05/08/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Blending the past with the present…

In 2018, Brant Bjork started reissuing his back catalog through current residence, Heavy Psych Sounds. Last year, it was Jalamanta’s turn (among others), one of his most meaningful efforts. It represents the start of his solo career and ended up quite an influence on the stoner rock genre. The LP was recorded solely by himself and thus, he was inspired to repeat this process after a long time of collaborating with several musician friends. As a result, this latest, self-titled affair shares the same intimate sound without trying to repeat that journey. It dabbles less in psychedelic jams, focusing mostly on the straightforward, riff-oriented material of recent albums. The slow burning starter, ‘Jungle in the Sound’ captures the gist of Bjork’s music, setting the steady pace for the following strong string of tracks. ‘Mary (You’re Such a Lady)’, ‘Jesus Was a Bluesman’ & ‘Cleaning out the Ashtray’ are smooth, smoky, mid-tempo rockers boasting those cool grooves and melodic vocals everyone expects from the man. During the second half, the bluesy ‘Duke of Dynamite’ pays direct homage to his ‘70s influences, whereas ‘***kickin’ Now’ finally revs things up a notch. Nevertheless, Brant sings just as relaxed as before over the boogie-like shuffle of the latter.

Overall, the record features fewer flashy solos and flourishes, keeping true to the intimate nature of his early solo tunes. Even so, this collection of tracks is strong, albeit slower in tempo and less intense than we got accustomed to lately. A couple of punchier or faster paced numbers could have added more to its vibe and flow. Still, Brant Bjork effortlessly delivers once more the dose of desert rock groove to brighten every listener’s day. He doesn’t need to change, nobody wants that and why do it when it works so fine 20+ years later?





Recent reviews by this author
Donny Benet Mr. ExperienceMoby All Visible Objects
Mark Lanegan Straight Songs of SorrowThe Sonic Dawn Enter the Mirage
AWOLNATION Angel Miners and the Lightning RidersElder (USA-MA) Omens
user ratings (13)
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2020


5127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Another good Brant Bjork record, I just wanted to draw some attention towards it. I like the intimate nature of it, much like Jalamanta.



Stream here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umIvRS2GmU4&list=OLAK5uy_mEQAgSNg0am3s8UCqqIP_S_lmXZde0cnk

Digging: Boris - NO

ChaoticVortex
May 11th 2020


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You gotta love this man, no matter how many years might pass or what crazy shit might go down in the world, he's still gonna do what he's good at. Really enjoyed this one, a more better balance of his 70's influences and the groovy desert rock sound.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2020


5127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Agreed. Love him and his music always puts a smile on my face.

wildinferno2010
May 12th 2020


639 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Never looked into Brant Bjork's solo stuff. Sounds good, I'll check it out

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2020


5127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

One of the most consistent dudes in the genre. None of his records are bad.

Anastasiya
May 12th 2020


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He did it again. An album that every time you will love more and more



Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 12th 2020


55997 Comments


Fucka bork

Even a brent bork

Digging: Patrick Holland - Reality Picture

wildinferno2010
May 12th 2020


639 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This chill vibe and that guitar tone is making me feel all fuzzy inside.



"One of the most consistent dudes in the genre. None of his records are bad."



That's really impressive considering the big discography. What are the highlights?

ChaoticVortex
May 12th 2020


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"What are the highlights?"



I would say Jalamanta, Somera Sól and Black Power Flower.

wildinferno2010
May 12th 2020


639 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers. I'll give those a listen next

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2020


5127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Besides those recommendations, I also dig Gods and Goddesses, as well as Punk Rock Guilt a lot

DoofDoof
May 12th 2020


8372 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this is awful lol

MotokoKusanagi
May 12th 2020


3110 Comments


i like jalamanta, i'll check this

BenThatsMyJamin
May 12th 2020


3235 Comments


Raul I admire your tireless endeavours to get stoner rock properly represented on sputnik, keep going bud!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2020


5127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Haha, thanks!

satanicaleve
May 16th 2020


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For folks just getting into Brant's solo material you should listen to his debut Jalamanta. That is by far his best solo work to date. This album ain't bad but its no Jalamanta

RaylanCrowder
May 22nd 2020


118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really solid album. I preferred last years Desert Sessions tho

Digging: Run the Jewels - RTJ4



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy