Hotel Mira
Perfectionism


1.5
very poor

Review

by Aberf USER (12 Reviews)
April 24th, 2020 | 41 replies


Release Date: 02/14/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The refusal to accept any standard short of perfection; perfectly repulsive.

This review is a submission for “Review a Random Album Game: 2020 Q1 Edition”

It’s never too late to have fun. Sometimes you just got too busy in your 20s, exhausting yourselves with an outstanding amount of workload, ambitiously chasing your dream without sparing any moments for self-care and well-being. Now that the 20s, which are commonly associated with the time of youth, have been depleted, your 30s now has come. It sounds like a time to, maybe, start a family and move on with your life… Right? No, screw that. It’s time to play hard! Don’t you remember those times when you wished to get wasted instead of working yourself to death? This is also still a perfect time to start getting yourself a hobby since you have all the time and money. Living life to the fullest in your 30s, what a joy.

No, the rambling that I mentioned above isn’t to describe the situation of Hotel Mira, but it’s rather an impression that Perfectionism gives me. Regardless of whether the situation is applicable to anybody or not, this record is the butchered version of it. It takes all the positive aspects and turns it into a mush. It’s like eating your favorite sandwich, but it’s pureed and you drink it like a milkshake. The varying texture and flavor of each ingredient of a certain dish are what makes it palatable and enjoyable. However, Hotel Mira seems to smush the perfectly fine ingredients of rock music by cringe-worthy lyricism and out-of-touch theme. Each song sounds incoherent as it is difficult for me to paint a clear picture of what it’s telling me. When I try to analyze lines like “That's not love/ It can't be love/ If that was love/ I'd be in love”, it only left me with some confusion and chronic existential crisis instead of some comprehension. The bland vocal delivery doesn’t help to salvage anything either. While the hooks could undeniably be infectious at times, it also increases my desire to develop a vaccine for those who experience similar symptoms like mine, such as having a midlife crisis in my 20s after listening to this album. Perhaps the instrumental is the only saving grace from this mess titled as Perfectionism. Unfortunately, it only falls into the category of generic radio rock from the early 2000s, not that it’s terrible, it’s just average at best.

Perfectionism is like your inappropriate uncle at a family reunion. There is a potential that he might say something genuinely funny. But most of the time, it’s uncomfortable to have him around. “Aren’t you a little bit too old for this?” is the question that arises silently whenever his antics are showing. It’s the same question that I would ask Hotel Mira for this mess of an album. The reason being is connected to the potential audience, it's for people who are a bit too old to spend their youth, have acceptance for slight amount of inappropriateness, and enjoy a basic level of radio rock music with an unintelligible theme. In other words, I hardly recommend this album at all. It feels like the perfectionism that Hotel Mira pursued is perfectly repulsive; they succeeded.



Recent reviews by this author
Yung Skrrt Dumbass GeniusAseul Slow Dance
Yukari EchoYeule Serotonin II
Sweet William and Jinmenusagi la blankaVyva Melinkolya Vyva Melinkolya
user ratings (4)
3.1
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
Aberf
April 24th 2020


3519 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thank you for SlothCoreSam for recommending this, I finally wrote my first negative review ever.

parksungjoon
April 24th 2020


22890 Comments


lol

Digging: Slauter Xstroyes - Free the Beast

MiloRuggles
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2020


893 Comments


pos

Let the hate flow through you

bloodshy
April 24th 2020


2623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wonder if you would have liked the album better if you couldn't speak English?

Digging: The Wytches - Three Mile Ditch

MotokoKusanagi
April 24th 2020


3515 Comments


lol bloodshy i can hear your avatar

nice (negative) review aberf

SlothcoreSam
April 24th 2020


2748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad to be of service.

LOL

Digging: STIFF RICHARDS - State Of Mind

bloodshy
April 24th 2020


2623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty sure i'm going to 5/5. i'm in my 30's so i get this album.

parksungjoon
April 24th 2020


22890 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yco53t_CLC4

Aberf
April 24th 2020


3519 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"I wonder if you would have liked the album better if you couldn't speak English?"

Maybe, but then I won't be using sputnikmusic lol.

parksungjoon
April 24th 2020


22890 Comments


not necessarily

MotokoKusanagi
April 24th 2020


3515 Comments


"https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yco53t_CLC4"

slammin m/

bloodshy
April 24th 2020


2623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

true. i'm glad you speak english.



there are a few artists i hate more because i can speak english. p!nk is my least favorite lyricist of all time. "you're just like a pill, except instead of making me better, you keep making me ill." so how the hell is that like a pill? she's such trash.



oh, i yes'd this btw. i feel like i have to say that in case someone no's you and i'm the only one enjoying this album.

SlothcoreSam
April 24th 2020


2748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey i like the album, that's why i recc'd it. And there is another 3.5.

I think Aberf is the odd one out.

bloodshy
April 24th 2020


2623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm pretty sure this is going to bump to a 4.5... but to be fair, my entire rating system is higher than everyone else's

parksungjoon
April 24th 2020


22890 Comments




there are a few artists i hate more because i can speak english. p!nk is my least favorite lyricist of all time. "you're just like a pill, except instead of making me better, you keep making me ill." so how the hell is that like a pill? she's such trash.



Aberf
April 24th 2020


3519 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Well, I just got unlucky in the randomizer. The album isn't for me at all lol.

bloodshy
April 24th 2020


2623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i can see why you don't like it, at least

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2020


29867 Comments


"It’s like eating your favorite sandwich, but it’s pureed and you drink it like a milkshake"

Nice Beach House reference. First para is so Abe of you lmao, love the hate here

"Unfortunately, it only falls into the category of generic radio rock from the early 2000s"

Main quibble is that you pulled this *shocking* reveal in the final leg of the review and I had no idea what flavour were talking up til then

parksungjoon
April 24th 2020


22890 Comments


Staff Reviewer


bloodshy
April 24th 2020


2623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

User



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy