Vasudeva
Generator


4.0
excellent

Review

by TooManyFriends USER (26 Reviews)
April 21st, 2020 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: audible bliss

There’s something to be said about the role an album’s artwork plays into the experience of the music within. Does it matter? Should a record’s cover have any bearing on the sensation that it itself gives you? There’s something to be admired about artwork that perfectly distills the essence of its musical counterpart, but it’s just as notable (and much more rare) when it evokes the opposite. In direct contrast to the steely reel to reel tape recorder adorning its cover, Vasudeva’s Generator feels like receiving a hug from the warm spring air, a naturalistic reprieve from the disorienting state of the world.

While never a particularly heavy band, New Jersey based three piece instrumental outfit Vasudeva have been slowly but surely trading their strident math rock stylings for more breezy and groovy atmosphere. Generator marks their most significant expansion in that direction so far, with keyboards and electronics making themselves just as populous as electric guitars. There are other little tricks along the way, such as drummer Derek Broomhead (who is fantastic throughout) trading sticks for brushes on the acoustic leaning “Drop”, or the unusual high pass filtering and left-right panning in “Only On”, their most out-and-out dance number to date.

A major-key mood trip that preaches substance over style, Generator is significantly less showy than the works of many of Vasudeva’s instrumental peers. At times, it almost verges on background music, like a post rock edition of the “lofi hip hop beats to study/relax to” YouTube channel. But Generator switches things up more than enough to remain engaging, and never overstays its 37 minute welcome.

It’s hard to separate any music from the circumstances that surround it, and in these disconcerting times of quarantining and self isolation, Generator feels necessary. With the world noisier than ever, sometimes we need a reminder of the simple things; that the sun will still come up in the morning, that the grass is still gonna grow. Generator is that reminder, forward-moving and optimistic even when everything around seems to be going to complete hell.



Recent reviews by this author
Animals As Leaders ParrhesiaMicrowave Death is a Warm Blanket
Birds in Row We Already Lost The WorldVein.fm Errorzone
Teenage Wrist Chrome Neon JesusHundred Suns The Prestaliis
user ratings (49)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
TooManyFriends
April 21st 2020


3486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

band needed a review



some of you will probably think this record is boring but whatev

parksungjoon
April 21st 2020


46886 Comments


review certainly piques my interest having never heard of this band before

pos'd !

Calc
April 21st 2020


17311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was some relatively lively post rock from what I heard, I should def listen to this. props for reviewing dude

dustandnations
April 21st 2020


371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very very talented band.

JS19
April 21st 2020


7777 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes yes yes yes yes

JS19
April 21st 2020


7777 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is the 'sunny weather listening only' album I was waiting for this year, good review

MarsKid
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2020


20948 Comments


Cool review my man. First para's theme might have gone on a bit long but it ties in nicely with the music and overall writing. Well done!

Never liked these guys much though, felt very standard and generic, jammy math stuff. Same them live with Gates and wasn't impressed, although they unfortunately had equipment malfunctions that were out of their control.

TooManyFriends
April 21st 2020


3486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ty folks, yeah review could probably be a little better so maybe i should stop being an asshole and write more than 1-2 a year lol

MarsKid
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2020


20948 Comments


I actually liked your review, I gave you a pos! Going too deep into making a review theme is something I do sometimes so I was just saying to be mindful for the future. It works just fine here.

TooManyFriends
April 21st 2020


3486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fair! ty again

Dmax28
April 22nd 2020


1261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loved a few tracks off their first two records. And it feels like they took the aspects of their songs I liked the most and made a whole album with that sound. I didn't even know they had a new one coming too. This is some of the most beautiful music I have ever heard.

JS19
April 22nd 2020


7777 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Chase is still the best Vasudeva song but they expanded on the sound of that song here that's why I think it's so strong

Earlgrey79
April 22nd 2020


25 Comments


Chase is a great song but Tuxford Fall off their first album is their crowning achievement. An exception in their discog actually, I have yet to listen so energetic a song as that one from these guys.

TooManyFriends
April 22nd 2020


3486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i would say stop making yourself miserable or turnstile are their best songs. only on from this album really has a case though

nash1311
April 22nd 2020


7730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"band needed a review"



"this is the 'sunny weather listening only' album I was waiting for this year, good review"



Yaaaasss. Album is so damn good. its like pure ethereal bop bliss. So glad someone reviewed this.

dustandnations
April 23rd 2020


371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This really is beautiful!

twlight
May 25th 2020


8613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is gorgeous

MementoMori
May 26th 2020


910 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I never really enojoyed their previous material, but this sounds pretty neat, will check.

efp123
November 1st 2023


210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is still very good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy