The Night Flight Orchestra
Aeromantic


3.7
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
April 20th, 2020 | 22 replies


Release Date: 02/28/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Wear your favorite white jacket, roll up your sleeves and dance to the tunes of these Swedish metalheads

Metalheads are a weird bunch; most of them will discard altogether the idea of jamming an AOR LP in full, but when members associated with Soilwork and Arch Enemy unite to record their interpretation of the aforementioned genre, then heads turn. That’s not to say that The Night Flight Orchestra don’t deserve the praise, as their take on late ‘70s-early ‘80s pop and rock music is very successful. The Swedes are far from a nostalgia act whose sole reason is to copy its influences. On the contrary, they integrate the best elements from bands like Toto and Journey, to their songwriting while trying to create their own sound. Of course, the outcome is not highly original, yet it’s very entertaining.

Their initial albums revolved around hard and pomp rock, and with every release, they added more to their palette. On 2018’s Sometimes The World Ain't Enough, they introduced more disco-oriented songs like “Paralyzed” and “Pretty Thing Closing In”, which were among the standout tracks. So if you, like me, enjoyed the aforementioned songs, you will love Aeromantic, as on their latest offering, the Swedish outfit has further developed that sound. That means that the music revolves mostly around the keyboard and the rhythm section, rather than the guitars. However, besides the solid songwriting, the main reason to jam this one is the amazing vocal melodies, as Björn Strid steals the show with some absolutely fantastic lines supported by harmonized female vocals. It is apparent that the band has strived to create catchy and memorable choruses, with “Divinyls” being the most successful example. There is also a nice mix of more energetic tracks like “Taurus”, “This Boy's Last Summer” and “Sister Mercurial”, and softer ones like “Curves” and “Golden Swansdown” which sounds as if it belongs in the Top Gun soundtrack. There is also “Dead of Winter” that leans slightly towards progressive rock, “If Tonight is our Only Chance” which is largely influenced by Abba and “Transmissions” with the uplifting violin solo that has a cool synthwave vibe going on.

Despite all the positives, Aeromantic suffers from the same issue as virtually every release by these guys. Specifically, clocking at 54 minutes, it could benefit from some trimming or even the omission of a couple of tracks, namely “Servants of the Air” and the title track, which are too ordinary and average. Also, the album lacks a couple more strong AOR songs like “Something Mysterious” and “Living for the Nighttime”.

Nonetheless, most of the songs on here have single potential, which makes Aeromantic one of the strongest releases by The Night Flight Orchestra. The album’s main selling point is that it can lift your spirits and it definitely does that. It is also a great window to everything that made AOR so fun, and an opportunity for younger audiences to delve into the genre. So wear your favorite white jacket, roll up your sleeves and dance to the tunes of these Swedish metalheads.



Recent reviews by this author
Gullinbursti Mythical MetallurgySacred Outcry Damned For All Time
Blues Pills Holy Moly!Deep Purple Whoosh!
Villagers of Ioannina City Age of AquariusCirith Ungol Forever Black
user ratings (46)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2020


12016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"Divinyls": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUh5iyl0Pyw

"Transmissions": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkLkE4FiFpc

"Golden Swansdown": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbhBlrfuPsE

Digging: Winter?s Verge - The Ballad of James Tig

Scheumke
April 21st 2020


1881 Comments


Sweet review, didn't know these guys had a new one coming out. Will def jam this, sound like a lot of fun!

Digging: DGM - Tragic Separation

Scheumke
April 21st 2020


1881 Comments


Hmm need to do this in 2 sittings I think. I'm about halfway and it feels like I've been listening to this for over an hour. It's fun and energetic though I'd give them that.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2020


12016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Hey Scheumke, I definitely agree. It's one of the things I didn't like about the album, it could have easily been 10 minutes shorter.

Beardog
April 21st 2020


3795 Comments


It's that time of the year again? Sad that they make such long albums, they are a bit too samey imo to be that long

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2020


12016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Agreed.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
April 21st 2020


15131 Comments


I've never heard of these guys before, it sound like a lot of fun. I'll check it out.
It's always nice to read a manosg review. Are you warming up for the new Sorcerer? ;)


Digging: Undeath - Lesions of a Different Kind

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2020


12016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Haha, I actually am but those damn singles are making me nervous. Is the curse of the third album real? Is it time that these guys stumble?

EvoHavok
April 21st 2020


7841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet read, manos.

I've never checked a full album by these guys, but I love a lot of Soilwork material and Bjorn's contributions for other bands. I'm also digging the Art Deco album cover and the colour scheme reminds me of the game BioShock.

Digging: White Walls - Grandeur

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
April 21st 2020


15131 Comments


Yeah, I wasn't thrilled either, but maybe the rest of the songs will meet expectations! I'm not aware of the curse of the third album hahah

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2020


12016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

To be honest, I only recently came across that theory lol. The gist is that the third album by the same artist that is of the same style, will be quite inferior to the two that precede it. It's a silly theory but I really hope it doesn't apply in Sorcerer's case. Their first two albums are among my all-time favorite epic doom LPs.



Appreciate the comment Evo and it is always a pleasure seeing you around! Hope you enjoy this one if you manage to check it. Yeah Bjorn is really talented.

Toondude10
April 21st 2020


14295 Comments


forgot these guys were coming out with a new album, will jam when it comes out

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2020


21930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fun album and great rev manosg!

Digging: Crippled Black Phoenix - Ellengaest

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2020


5236 Comments


Sounds interesting, I'll check this out

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

Pikazilla
April 22nd 2020


12828 Comments


I like these guys, just wish they'd separate the aesthetics of this project from Soilwork

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2020


12016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I must admit that I haven't checked Soilwork properly, need to change that.



Appreciate it, Dewi and hope you enjoy Raul.

EvoHavok
April 23rd 2020


7841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You could start with Verkligheten, since it has a few moments that seem influenced by this project, then go backwards. Their last three albums are top tier modern melodeath.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2020


12016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks, Evo. I gave it a whirl when it was released and liked it but haven't jammed it since then. Will give it a shot again.

Inveigh
April 25th 2020


26796 Comments


love Soilwork, well a lot of their stuff especially the first 4 records. this one hits me just right for some reason. good stuff, good review m/

Flugmorph
May 23rd 2020


23288 Comments


transmissions has a glorious synthwave beat



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy