">
 

Peach Pit
You and Your Friends


4.0
excellent

Review

by WatchItExplode USER (14 Reviews)
April 9th, 2020 | 42 replies


Release Date: 04/03/2020 | Tracklist


Peach Pit deliver a well-crafted guitar rock sound that has certainly not been under-represented in popular indie music over the past couple decades. While instantly familiar, there are intricacies that reveal themselves upon repeat listens of You and Your Friends. The group employ standard rock instrumentation – lead and rhythm guitars, bass, and drums – while demonstrating a refreshing interplay between instruments. Perhaps it is the fact that these high school friends have become intimately familiar with each other’s musical tendencies over the years, but the melodies and rhythms throughout the album are ever shifting in subtly dynamic ways. This is thanks in no small part to lead guitarist Christopher Vanderkooy, who delivers the the type of clear-eyed guitar heroics I don’t recall hearing this side of Albert Hammond Jr. (The Strokes). His ability to compliment a song with a colorful swell of slide guitar or a sprightly-plucked clean-tone lead is impressive. Although the guitar work is an immediate highlight, every time there is a flourish of bass notes or an isolated drum fill it seems to come at the most opportune time. Peach Pit compliment each other in a way that bolsters their songwriting overall. They are a playful, fun-loving group, and that seems to translate to the music they produce.

Although endearing musicality is strength of Vancouver’s own Peach Pit, it is not a defining characteristic. Neil smith’s singing voice is a soothing coo that seems to penetrate the entire sonic spectrum. Regardless of what may be happening musically, his voice floats effortlessly above like a Styrofoam cup refusing to be swallowed by the surf. It’s captivating, somehow exuding lovelorn wisdom and youthful naivete. When Smith sings of coming to terms with a breakup on “Shampoo Bottles”, he does so by describing a handful of items left behind by his ex. These include a cell phone charger, toothbrush, and (of course) some shampoo. Listening to Smith explore his feelings while exploring his bathroom is refreshing and delightful. The lyrics throughout You and Your Friends are observational in nature and often highly relatable. There is also matter-of-fact storytelling surrounding the band and their friends, past and present. At times, descriptions of these events are almost profound in their mundanity. Peach Pit have arrived at a winning indie rock formula which is far too cool to take itself seriously, even when delving into heavy territory like heartache and existential ennui. They’re taking their life experiences and giving them a nice spit shine to proudly share with the world. They’ll probably be having a blast regardless, but it might be a great time to join the party because Peach Pit write music that deserves to be shared. You know…with you and your friends.



Recent reviews by this author
Dinosaur Pile-Up Celebrity MansionsPile Green and Gray
Built to Spill There's Nothing Wrong with Love311 Grassroots
Janelle Monae Metropolis: The Chase Suite311 Music
user ratings (46)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
WatchItExplode
April 9th 2020


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

If I find anyone that loves "Live At The Swamp" as much as me I'll put you in my will.

BenThatsMyJamin
April 9th 2020


3437 Comments


what's your net worth?

WatchItExplode
April 9th 2020


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'll tell you if you can explain to me why you have my name.

BenThatsMyJamin
April 9th 2020


3437 Comments


Cos you're my alt

BenThatsMyJamin
April 9th 2020


3437 Comments


*my indie rock alt

klap
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


12329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love this band but i gotta say this felt like a step-down from the debut and EP

WatchItExplode
April 9th 2020


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I started with this one and it feels superior to their debut, go figure. I've seen a lot of disappointment elsewhere online though.

klap
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


12329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you should def check them out live if you ever get a chance, the guitarist sounds amazing on record and it really translates. so sick



never felt older than i did at that show given the crowd tho hahaha

WatchItExplode
April 9th 2020


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You know I love my Klap-core. If they find their way to my neighborhood I'll be there.



You can tell he's a great guitarist when he can make clean(ish) tones sound so good.

klap
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


12329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

been listening to this more as a result of this review and it's def growing on me. that second half is a lot better than i initially gave it credit for

WatchItExplode
April 9th 2020


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This was a 3 after a listen and a half...then something happened

Slex
April 9th 2020


10409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yes this is so good, might already be my most listened to album of the year lol

Digging: Gulfer - Gulfer

WatchItExplode
April 9th 2020


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Welcome to the party freddy my dude.

flvnkie
April 10th 2020


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

super bummed i was gonna see them in philly on may 7th, corona’s really fuckin with everything

WatchItExplode
April 10th 2020


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yooo, you familiar with their earlier stuff before hearing this? How would you compare it?

flvnkie
April 10th 2020


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah, their sweet fa ep is what made me a fan back in 2016, this is definitely more mellow and has less sweeeet guitar licks than their previous stuff, but it’s still pretty bangin

WatchItExplode
April 10th 2020


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think it's just less obvious. I have listened to the their other stuff now and its also great but there are layers here that I dont hear with the debut ep or normal. And the guitar is still definitely kicking because its the main reason I bothered to give this album a second chance. Either way, happy to see some others digging this as much as me.

flvnkie
April 10th 2020


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah, i definitely agree this has more layers than their previous stuff. there’s a lot more maturity here, but their music videos are still pretty quirky. this has been on repeat all week, i preordered the vinyl but they delayed production so no idea when that’s coming lol

WatchItExplode
April 10th 2020


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

When you say maturity it is true but it's kind of funny because the juvenile heart of this is kind of what makes it special.

flvnkie
April 10th 2020


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i knew i was gonna get dragged for that. i just love how well the fact they enjoy the music they play translates, they’re just so damn good at it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy