Peace'd Out
Feelings Blade


4.0
excellent

Review

by Casus belli CONTRIBUTOR (83 Reviews)
April 6th, 2020 | 12 replies


Release Date: 04/03/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We are the first disorchestra..

You have to respect the fashion in which Feelings Blade was revealed and released, especially in comparison to the theatrics around the band’s debut EP. The band was introduced to the masses back in 2012 via three Lazarus Squad-esque videos uploaded to Youtube followed by a scavenger hunt for special USB drives, bestowing those lucky enough to find them an early look at the group’s concoctions. In stark contrast, Feelings Blade saw the group change their Facebook photo, record two live performances basically letting us know we are about to get punched in the mouth and few weeks later, no smoke, no mirrors, Feelings Blade drops and I’m finding pieces of my teeth on the floor. Like the group’s eponymous EP, Feelings Blade is soaked with guitarist Steve Choi’s signature and influence, with the man’s distinctive riffage we’ve heard on Rx Bandits and The Sound of Animals Fighting transitioning nicely to a full album of eclectic hardcore. But it’s the whole, rather than the pieces, that puts substantial weight behind Feelings Blade’s punch.

One of the best aspects of Feelings Blade is the decision to not rely on goofy production techniques to convey its mood or its sense of heaviness. There’s no “wall of sound” that typifies many hardcore releases, and other than a lack of bass tonality, you’re hearing damn near everything the band is doing. It’s this decision-making that makes the musical acrobatics displayed on Feelings Blade shine. Although remaining tethered in the realm of vaguely punk-leaning hardcore, the songs here progress in sections, branching off in numerous tempos and melodies in their short runtimes which despite sounding exhausting leave the listener wanting. Vocalist Vinnie Caruana’s voice, slightly grizzled with age compared to 8 years ago, provides a tinge of melancholy with its wrath, a pervading theme in Feelings Blade. His angst is realized beautifully as he roars through gritted teeth, a trick he uses sparingly to punctuate particularly bleak sections of the album. But more so than bleak, Feelings Blade is wild. Its constant twists and turns rip through you, mentally abbreviating its already short runtime as you catch your breath from the last song. Its aversion to using dissonance as a crutch is a breath of fresh air for the genre as well and helps the listener connect to the tone and mood of the album in a deeper fashion.

With all this said, Feelings Blade isn’t transcendent; it doesn’t reach the surprising highs of the bands EP but it has the feel of an actual album rather than a collection of crushing songs. Passages and sections bleed in and out of each other, and Choi’s use of subtle electronics peppered throughout the album convey a sort of twisted psychedelia that is as impactful as it is transient. With 8 years since the Peace’d Out’s last release, who’s to say what the future holds at this point? Hell, this album existing could be nothing more than the guys getting together seeing if they can wrangle one more bolt of lightning in that bottle. And while Feelings Blade can’t quite close the lid, I think the thunder they’ve recorded here is the next best thing.



Recent reviews by this author
Chopping Mall Mauled by a Magical Bear with Scalding Hot LiquidSuper Whatevr don't you wanna be glad?
The Number Twelve Looks Like You Wild GodsRussian Girlfriends In The Parlance of Our Times
Avantdale Bowling Club Avantdale Bowling ClubTowkio WWW
user ratings (9)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 6th 2020


16579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://peacedoutmusic.bandcamp.com/releases



tried one of those, "don't mention song titles in the review" reviews. not my best but eh I more want a place to post how great this is every few years. cheers!

Digging: Grey Matter (MI) - Climbing Out

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2020


11813 Comments


Woooaaahhh a Calc sighting!

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2020


16579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

doooood!

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2020


11217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds like this could be pretty solid. Nicely written stuff my man. That intro is pretty captivating considering how different the two release cycles are.

Digging: No Note - if this is the future then I'm in the dark

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2020


16579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks mars, I will admit that the 8 year wait has colored my opinion a bit but regardless, this still rips and tears

WatchItExplode
April 9th 2020


8135 Comments


Gonna listen tonight, sounds great.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2020


16579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

let me know what you think man.

WatchItExplode
April 10th 2020


8135 Comments


Consistently interesting riffage, nice left turns... Vocals are pretty onenote and the production is cavernous neither which I feel help this effort. I'd be excited for something else if I thought there was a chance of that.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2020


16579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah I'm with you, this came out of left field for me but it might be the last hurrah

WatchItExplode
April 10th 2020


8135 Comments


There were a couple songs I could hear the heart of a bandits tune starting and it made me really miss that band

fromrows
April 21st 2020


377 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The album is excellent and great review!

Digging: Darkest Hour - Godless Prophets and The Migrant Flora

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 21st 2020


16579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tell your friends dude I'm hoping these guys can eek out a tour if all this craziness passes



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy