Wake
Devouring Ruin


4.0
excellent

Review

by Fernando Alves STAFF
April 6th, 2020 | 123 replies


Release Date: 2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A new beginning

I accidentally stumbled upon this album yesterday when looking for something to fill my Sunday's COVID-19 confinement. Contrary to what one might think, extreme metal brings me some peace of mind these days, namely that which combines density and atmosphere such as Wake's Devouring Ruin. From a more conventional grind signature, Wake has progressively evolved into a hybrid style that embeds both death and black metal. In a simplistic way, I would say the band enters the new decade combining the dissonant density of bands such as Ulcerate, Altarage or Noctambulist with grind fierceness and surrounding black metal atmosphere. When this kind of formula manages to balance all these ingredients well, it delivers a more comprehensive and challenging sound, and that's exactly what Devouring Ruin offers. Songs like 'This Abyssal Plain' or 'Mouth of Abolition' are among those that explore this wider scope the most, by combining an Altarage-esque wall of sound with melodious textures. 'Mouth of Abolition' may even be considered the song that, alongside opener 'Dissolve and Release', moves further away from the band's past repertoire. By exploring these bold new territories, it is clear Wake doesn't want to repeat itself or engage into a creative loop. The colossal 'Torchbearer' with its doomy approach and closing track 'The Procession (Death March to Eternity)' are both good examples of this new metamorphosis. It's hard to picture the Blood Incantation-esque riff of the former or the epic ending of the latter on any of the band's previous releases. Although there's some kind of continuity, the leap is too evident to go unnoticed. Nevertheless, Wake doesn't erase their original ferocity, 'In the Lair of the Rat Kings' and 'Monuments to Impiety', both similar in style, are still overwhelming displays of power which should please early fans.

When a band takes a leap of this magnitude it is natural that it leaves someone behind, we will never be able to please everyone. Evolution involves risks, gains and losses, and not everyone will follow the band in this new chapter. But can we doom someone for seeking new horizons? Isn't that what makes us look forward? I'm glad I stumbled upon this yesterday. Not only did I get to meet a new player on extreme metal's board game, but also got to experience a new beginning, a new cycle, from a band that I will be following closely from now on.



Recent reviews by this author
Malignant Altar Realms of Exquisite MorbidityDer Weg Einer Freiheit Noktvrn
Obscura A Valediction200 Stab Wounds Slave to the Scalpel
Mortiferum Preserved in TormentBe'lakor Coherence
user ratings (227)
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Confluence


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2020


17129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I listened to this album yesterday and I was quite surprised. Great jam.



Full album stream:

http://wakegrind.bandcamp.com

necropig
April 6th 2020


6385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice, listened today and was well impressed

Digging: Beketh Nexehmu - De Fornas Likgaldrar

Scoot
April 6th 2020


20952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

goes hard

Deez
April 6th 2020


8561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yar tis gud

zaruyache
April 6th 2020


24883 Comments


it's been on my list but i haven't had a chance to rly indulge in the blackened grindy goodness.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2020


16236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great succinct review Notrap, this was on my list to cover to stem the corona boredom I'm currently a slave to - guess I can move on knowing job well-done.



pos'd



--I accidentally stumbled upon this album yesterday when looking for something to fill my Sunday's COVID-19 confinement.--



It's a nice Segway, but you could probably go without this.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2020


17129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Nocte.



Maybe you're right, but that's what came out when I started typing. When I get to read it again in a few years, I think I'll remember this Sunday.



Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2020


16236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All's fair. It fits the current flavour of the month style lead in - just not sure how it will age.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


17129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album is currently 15th on the trending chart. That's nice



Edit: 13th ;)

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


16236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Could do with a few more ratings

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


17129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed. Thirty-three ratings to date is not that bad, but indeed it deserves more attention

DDDeftoneDDD
April 9th 2020


19656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

sweet, should check this one

Digging: Wiegedood - There's Always Blood at the End of the Road

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


17129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think you're going to love it D

DDDeftoneDDD
April 9th 2020


19656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This Abyssal Pain - massive jam

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


17129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it's massive, its Altarage-esque start is awesome.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


9399 Comments


Loved their previous two albums, got to check this one too.

Great review, pos.

Digging: Kold Front - Kold Front

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


17129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks mate, I appreciate it.

You'll probably be surprised, it's significantly different from previous releases.



DDDeftoneDDD
April 10th 2020


19656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Getting some tough Cult Leader vibes...which is awesome...unfortunately life does not abide me to complete a full album. Hehe monday maybe

DDDeftoneDDD
April 12th 2020


19656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Torchbearer is fire! Love the doom section.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2020


17129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Most definitely, it's my favorite track. But honestly, all songs are fire, it's a great jam



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy