Maserati
Enter the Mirror


3.5
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
April 6th, 2020 | 24 replies


Release Date: 04/03/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The anniversary recap...

Maserati brought ‘80s synth aesthetics into their psychedelic/post-rock output long before it was cool to do so. What started as a curiosity became main focus during the past decade, as they switched to disco/pop oriented material. Nevertheless, the neon-lit, retrofuturistic urban scenery evoked added to the overall charm and experience. 2020 marks the quartet’s 20th anniversary and their latest effort blends a large portion of previous experiments into one hyperactive journey. In a way, Enter the Mirror ends up as a sweet, encompassing LP, complete with significant fan service. The guitars are back in full force too, while the sequencers pave their way alongside the tight drum/bass interplay. There are familiar themes throughout, still, the group found different ways to express them.

Musically, Enter the Mirror is Maserati’s most aggressive work in over a decade, the songs are soaring for the most part. After the blissful ‘2020’ keyboard intro finally kicks into gear, you find yourself on a sonic highway with no brakes until the trip is over. ‘A Warning in the Dark’ toys with Depeche Mode-esque, mid-tempo sequencers, the guitars gently building along, before launching into a smooth groove with glossy leads. Then, ‘Killing Time’ & ‘Der Honig’ burst in with powerful beats and a tense atmosphere. They were born out of similar ideas, the former following a bolder route, whereas the latter features more subdued details. One’s the harder edged punk rocker and the other a moodier, krautrock inspired brother. Even so, they are entertaining and maintain the album’s energy. Unfortunately, the vocoder vocals don’t always click and should’ve been kept to a minimum. Meanwhile, ‘Empty’ can be described as an adrenaline shot and it’s something you wouldn’t think you’d hear from the band any time soon. Its post-punk drum beats are flawless, plus the guitars take off on their lovely, trademark high-pitched, effects-soaked licks. Halfway through, the synth edges begin to take over, shifting the song’s vibe really nicely. They ultimately give way to the album closer, ‘Wallwalker’, one of the highlights here. Containing dancefloor ready rhythms and fun interplay between the instruments, the tune is a great reminder how easily the guys manage to craft lush bangers. The fragmented guitars especially are sleek and never overload the tune.

Overall, Enter the Mirror does an excellent job in merging Maserati’s both electronic and rock sides together. As the latter makes a welcomed return, it also balances the output. The only concern with this LP is that it doesn’t really explore new grounds. It somewhat recapitulates their experiments, albeit in a tighter, more experienced manner, instead of taking steps forward. Despite this setback, the record is arguably their hardest hitting in over a decade. It does a good job displaying the band’s strengths in a fun way. I hope the group remains active another 20 years and am curious what will they try next.




Recent reviews by this author
Donny Benet Mr. ExperienceMoby All Visible Objects
Brant Bjork Brant BjorkMark Lanegan Straight Songs of Sorrow
The Sonic Dawn Enter the MirageAWOLNATION Angel Miners and the Lightning Riders
user ratings (14)
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2020


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a good album, but not their best. I like they included heavier songs though



Stream/buy here: http://maserati.bandcamp.com/album/enter-the-mirror

Or here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YY3O0hKGQsw&list=OLAK5uy_lFEzV2E-Z1X6ARpI0eWNy-Vj0CjYjICgE

Digging: Paradise Lost - Obsidian

bloc
April 6th 2020


61053 Comments


Never been a fan of Maseratis tbh, they look like Lincolns/Buicks made in Italy

Digging: Cut Copy - I Thought Of Numbers

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2020


19694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked this a lot, love how they incorporated the robotic voices.

Digging: Mrs. Piss - Self-Surgery

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2020


19694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They probably did that before but I haven't heard and album from then since "Pyramids of the Sun".

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2020


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some models are nice, but they have that arrogant look of an Italian sports car.



@Dewinged - They did it on Rehumanizer, but it was more interesting than here and only on one track. 'A Warning in the Dark' would've been better without them for example.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2020


19694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see, I've only jammed it once, have to give it more... spins ;)

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2020


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Both Rehumanizer and VII are cool, it's nice how they developed the synth stuff from Pyramid.

Project
April 7th 2020


4212 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Was about to give up on this after the first half, but the second half is much, much stronger

MementoMori
April 7th 2020


603 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've never really been able to get into this band's material. I found it to be poorly produced, musically uninteresting and compositionally unremarkable. The review was excellent though.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2020


19694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gotta check those albums you've put on the rbr section, Raul, I'm digging a lot this kind of stuff recently.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2020


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I've never really been able to get into this band's material. I found it to be poorly produced, musically uninteresting and compositionally unremarkable. The review was excellent though."



Thanks! Not even the '00s material? It's less electronic more post rock



@Dewinged - Tuber have Maserati's grooves with a rockier edge. They are cool. Also, have you listened to 65daysofstatic?

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2020


19694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah not really much into them

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2020


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ah, okay then. They changed considerably over the years as well, some of their material is awesome.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2020


19694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah what i heard was mostly the very electronic and very ambient post rock stuff, it bored me to tears.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2020


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, then maybe Tuber sounds better for you haha :D

virpi
April 8th 2020


114 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

By far their worst album imho.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2020


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why do you think that? Just curious

SputnikSweetheart
April 8th 2020


264 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Spinned the first few tracks and had a similar impression. As you pointed out, I would have liked this to be a little more adventurous. Maserati VII that's where it's at

MementoMori
April 8th 2020


603 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@insomniac Honestly, some of the records around 2007-2012 were slightly more enjoyable, and as far as post-rock goes, their earlier material really doesn't stack up against the greats. To each their own I suppose.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2020


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed. They distanced from post rock anyway, but they are gradually pigeonholing themselves.



And yeah, VII is great.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy