Igorrr
Spirituality and Distortion


4.5
superb

Review

by MercuryToHell USER (44 Reviews)
March 28th, 2020 | 98 replies


Release Date: 03/27/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: How do you fine-tune insanity?

Gautier Serre doesn’t so much fuse genres as gulp them down and vomit them back up onto a silver platter for a bemused world at large. As hard-hitting, crazy and outstanding as 2017’s Savage Sinusoid was, one could be forgiven for listening to the odd track as a novelty, before dismissing the rest of the record, citing a lack of clear direction. More’s the pity, but this wouldn’t be unfair criticism. From elegant baroque chamber music to slamming mathcore via gritty dubstep wobbling and high-energy breakbeats; Igorr isn’t an easy listen by any stretch of the imagination, but there’s always been something praiseworthy to be said of how eager and downright fun the end result is.

You get the sensation that a number of artists would look at a follow-up record with something of a censorship filter. The talent within the ranks of Igorrr is undeniable, and a more straight-forward metal project would have assuredly been a safe option. And where crunching guitars and punchy natural drumming are brought more to the forefront on Spirituality and Distortion to give a somewhat conventional backbone, the end result is little shy of miraculous. This is not a ‘safe’ record. Nor does the addition of these elements make for more of an uncomfortable miasma of conflicting noise. Through an increased focus on songwriting, Igorrr have managed to create an entirely compelling journey from start to finish without sacrificing any of their lunacy in the process, or even giving the record something as pesky and unnecessary as a concept.

The artwork conjures up a mysterious Eastern flair, and between the lovingly performed oud appearances and snake-charmer vibes of some of the atmospheric electronics on ‘Downgrade Desert’, ‘Himalaya Massive Ritual’ and third single ‘Camel Dancefloor’, this flavour is explored beautifully. Elsewhere, some of the more instant glitchy and chaotic attention-grabbers found on Savage Sinusoid are represented in the form of ‘Nervous Waltz’ and ‘Musette Maximum’ (which, alongside ‘Kung-Fu Chevre’, features the return of the accordion used so enjoyably on that album’s standout track ‘Cheval’). The album also makes space for chugging riffs and breakdowns which appear not just as a centre of gravity to rein in the more outlandish stylistic choices, but to provide a rich, textured sound that shows their appreciation for the conventional metal wheelhouse.

Spirituality and Distortion is a product that very few avant-garde projects can achieve; the almost crass sound-clashes and bizarre instrumental choices don’t sound like a cheap novelty or an intentional mind***. Sure, even the most casual listener will be afforded a grin at an instrumental break or sudden switch in style, but the project as a whole sounds a lot less alien than it has any right to, and this is entirely to Igorrr’s credit. Step into the album, and you’ll be rewarded with chaos, undoubtedly, but more impressively, this is coupled with focus and identity that makes for a polished and comfortable ride into the depths of insanity.



Recent reviews by this author
Alan Walker Different WorldEminem Kamikaze
Gang Gang Dance KazuashitaThe Weeknd My Dear Melancholy,
Icarus the Owl Rearm CircuitsFoo Fighters Concrete and Gold
user ratings (143)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
MercuryToHell
March 28th 2020


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So, we've been here before.



For a contributor, I've been ridiculously absent for the last 12-18 months, and I don't know if it's worth suggesting removing the title until I'm back with more regular output. But this isolation business has been a kick up the ass, and for now at least, I'm happy to be back doing what I love.



Like listening to seriously great records such as this.

dedex
March 28th 2020


3125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

What a great review. Lovin’ the record at the moment

Digging: Minor Threat - Minor Threat

Pikazilla
March 28th 2020


11132 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It is safe to say I did not enjoy this.

fastspeed33
March 28th 2020


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice sound

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 28th 2020


54607 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

aids

Digging: Populous - W

WatchItExplode
March 28th 2020


8133 Comments


This is making my afternoon very happy

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2020


6360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hyped for this one. And that first sentence is on point.

XyphDryne
March 28th 2020


13 Comments


The songs that were presented before release did not hype me at all unfortunately. Everything until Hallelujah was comically crazy. Savage S. was already quite tame - but I guess, this development allows them to make more money, which they totally should after so much hard work they put into the music. Some fans like me might jump ship, but many new ones will enter.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2020


11217 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Welcome back! Agree with Sleep, first sentence is a great opener. Solid write-up for sure.



Never tried this band, am I able to start here?

Digging: No Note - if this is the future then I'm in the dark

MementoMori
March 28th 2020


603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@MarsKid This might be Igorrr's most focused effort to date, so this is as good a starting point as any. His other two seminal works would be Savage Sinusoid & Hallelujah, which are both worth checking out, especially if you enjoy this record.



@XyphDryne Camel Dancefloor was a banger however.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2020


19767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh Mercury's back!



Nice rev dude, welcome home!

Digging: The Move - Shazam

MercuryToHell
March 29th 2020


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks all, feels good cracking on with it again.



And to get to start with a record like this, I feel honoured! =]

Asdfp277
March 29th 2020


22442 Comments


swag swag

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2020


18893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is soooooo good fuck

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2020


13993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've been enjoying this album. I've never listened to these freaks before, it was a good surprise.

Digging: Sinister - Deformation of the Holy Realm

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2020


12522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's probably a good thing we don't see Mercury review that often. He's so good it's scary.

MercuryToHell
March 29th 2020


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jesus fuck, don't make me cry!



Honestly it's a massive pleasure to be back, thank you so much!

WatchItExplode
March 29th 2020


8133 Comments


Couple glitchy segments are a bit much but this is just too good overall.

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2020


6360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Aw jeez, mercury's return is so wholesome it almost makes we wanna write again.

Asdfp277
March 29th 2020


22442 Comments


wholesome quarantine isolation !



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy