In This Moment
Mother


1.5
very poor

Review

by Simon K. STAFF
March 27th, 2020 | 38 replies


Release Date: 03/27/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Time is a flat circle.

On a purely superficial basis, if you squint, tilt your head and look at In This Moment’s last couple of albums, they appear to have some semblance of substance and meaning to them. Of course, looks can be deceptive, and judging a book by its cover is never a good idea, but honestly, the band have a distinctly pleasing aesthetic these days; a Pagan image partnered up with a fine gossamer, spiritualistic production that meets the images being conveyed with synergistic results. The problem with Ritual, and inherently Mother, is that they fail to deliver on their base ideas in just about every other regard. Granted, next to Ritual, Mother looks like The Dark Side of the Moon in terms of how it actually focuses on one sound, but there’s still that cumbersome feeling of vacantness which is present throughout. And seriously, with the LP’s disposition for disregarding the band’s bread and butter for minimalism – i.e. actual guitar riffs – so Maria can ostensibly spin a yarn or two, I actually thought Mother was going to take me down some sort of narrative-driven roller-coaster ride. The brutal reality here is that there is no real concept here – no methodical planning on how the album will sound or flow – it’s just a patchwork job of vapid and repetitive original cuts, and a few arbitrary covers overtly used to draw in a wider audience.

In essence, Mother is painfully homogeneous with its songwriting, and without a proper goal. This record retains the same bland writing as its former – which stems from the fact it solely relies on Maria to pick up the slack, and of which she fails miserably at doing once again – and learns very little from previous mistakes. It’s definitely a follow-up to their previous attempt, but it’s irritating to know it hasn’t made any effort in progressing this electronic-heavy sound in a way that’s interesting. Maria robotically croons her way through entire songs, with very little deviation from the fact; melodies are extremely subtle and don’t go anywhere; and the music itself barters little with the vocals to make any of the songs here worthwhile. “We Will Rock” is a stupefying rendition that pays no homage to the original in any way, but I found more enjoyment in trying to work out why the hell it was even in the tracklist to begin with. The same goes for the other covers here (“Fly Like An Eagle” and album closer “Into Dust”) – what purpose do these tracks serve other than to derail the album’s cohesion?

Overall, it’s yet another disappointment from the band. It’s self-destruction at this point. I get what they’re trying to do with Mother, and Ritual for that matter, but the execution is intensely soporific and ham-fisted, to put it lightly. All the band have managed to do is repress their craft so Maria can take to centre stage – which is absolutely fine, as long as she has something of value to contribute. She’s a fantastic singer, with a great vocal range (one of the best in metal today), but none of that is showcased here. It’s a compromise made internally, and the results hinder everyone involved. Mother has a good production, yes, and I’m sure they’ll put on a great live show with intriguing images, but to listen to it based on its own merits, or lack thereof, it’s an empty vessel with very little to say.

FORMAT//EDITIONS: DIGITAL/̶/̶C̶D̶/̶/̶V̶I̶N̶Y̶L̶/̶/̶V̶A̶R̶I̶O̶U̶S̶ ̶B̶U̶N̶D̶L̶E̶S̶

PACKAGING: N/A

SPECIAL EDITION BONUSES: N/A

ALBUM STREAM//PURCHASE: https://store.inthismomentofficial.com/




Recent reviews by this author
And So I Watch You From Afar SuccessorsGrey Daze Amends
Lady Gaga ChromaticaParadise Lost Obsidian
Brian Reitzell Hannibal - Season 3 - Vol 1Eat the Day The Demos
user ratings (62)
2
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
KjSwantko
March 27th 2020


12009 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Nice review man- pretty much my thoughts as well. In This Moment are one of the most disappointing artists in all of music to me. Maria has a really unique, raspy voice and could bring this band to legitimate stardom. But they just insist on putting out shitty, predictable, lazy songs. Bummer, again.

William21
March 27th 2020


534 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Better than Ritual at least. Aside from some of the usual ITM problems since Blood, the biggest problem with this is the over-reliance on covers.



But yeah this band is probably never gonna do anything as good as The Dream or Star Crossed Wasteland again

Pikazilla
March 27th 2020


11304 Comments


Mother of all fatherfuckers

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2020


16442 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this is better than ritual, yes, but it doesn't say much

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2020


16442 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

@KjSwantko



and agreed man, the potential here is utterly squandered

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 27th 2020


20218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

They're not coming back, right?

Digging: Naked City - Naked City

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2020


16442 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Not from this

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 27th 2020


20218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Truly a shame, really like beautiful tragedy

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2020


16442 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

A star-crossed wasteland is legit fire, blood is great too

Willie
Moderator
March 27th 2020


18808 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

Bewbs

Digging: Make Them Suffer - How to Survive a Funeral

tyman128
March 27th 2020


2053 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Never checked the singles leading up to this, and based off of the first few songs I've gone through, this isn't gonna be all too enjoyable. Her vocals are not nearly as interesting as I remember from their earlier stuff

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2020


16442 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

“Bewbs”



4 realz

bloodshy
March 27th 2020


1122 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

The lyrics suck too. Same tactics as the rest of the music, disguising itself as vulnerable and meaningful when they're confused and lazy.

chrisvasco23
March 27th 2020


32 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

ive never been as angry at an album like i am at this. fuck this album.

Rowhaus
March 27th 2020


3445 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

never thought the singer was hot either

Digging: Hum - Inlet

KjSwantko
March 27th 2020


12009 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"ive never been as angry at an album like i am at this. fuck this album."



lmao.

bloodshy
March 27th 2020


1122 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Thanks for reviewing this, Simon. I was really looking forward to seeing why everyone else hates it too.



Anyone else want to admit they like a song off the album? I really enjoy "The In-Between". That's why I rated the album so high, at "poor".

teamster
March 27th 2020


4996 Comments


Dude. What a fantastic review. You have a great talent for laying the negatives down gently without ever coming across as bombastic or hypocritical.

I admit I have the debut record - got hooked from the radio song at the time, can’t remember the name, lol. But this genre for the most part isn’t my brand of vodka.

Digging: Zealand The North - Brightness of an Endless Light

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2020


16442 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Really appreciate that teamster, thank you

Tunaboy45
March 28th 2020


17162 Comments


Lol are they covering Billy Idol again



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy