Afterbirth
Four Dimensional Flesh


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheNotrap USER (47 Reviews)
March 22nd, 2020 | 67 replies


Release Date: 03/13/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Four dimensional sound maze

After the rather troubled and prolonged labor that surrounded the birth of The Time Traveler's Dilemma, one would expect its follower to take a while to shape. Like another twenty five years or so, if you know what I mean. However, this time, Long Island's Afterbirth didn't take another quarter of a century to make things happen, launching Four Dimensional Flesh just three years after its debut. It's kind of a record for these guys. For those unfamiliar with the story, Afterbirth started in 1993, prematurely breaking two demo tapes later in 1995, being part of the obscure roster of bands that helped shape brutal death metal. Basically, a story of failure like so many others, no big deal. But it seems the metal gods had other plans, and against all odds, two decades later, with an updated line-up, the band finally managed to release their full-length debut. Who would have guessed, right?

In The Time Traveler's Dilemma, the band evolved their early raw brutal death metal style into a more comprehensive, but still lethal, signature. The shift from gore themes to science fiction concepts and a taste for more progressive textures are the most evident reflections of Afterbirth's stylistic evolution. In this sense, it is safe to say that Four Dimensional Flesh is the logical sequel to its predecessor, further deepening its progressive and atmospheric approach. All songs embrace a transverse atmosphere, as segments of a single organism. It's clear Colin Marston's engineering (Artificial Brain, Gorguts) was instrumental to this remarkable cohesion, driving the band to another sound level. Given this transversal coherence, it's particularly hard to highlight any song since they all orbit a similar aesthetic, however tracks such as 'Beheading the Buddha', 'Spiritually Transmitted Disease', 'Never Ending Teeth', 'Rooms to Nowhere' or the contagious 'Black Hole Kaleidoscope' are certainly among the best moments this band has ever recorded. Will Smith's massive delivery, which is currently one of the best throats in extreme metal, combined with the cohesive rhythmic section, build a brutal retro-futuristic architecture where all paths seem to lead to the same place, as if we were inside a sound maze. The drumming is particularly impressive, always working to the benefit of the song, just like the rhythm guitar that never distances itself much from the other instruments, as if a strong gravitational force pulled it towards the other pieces of the machine. The four instrumentals should also be mentioned, as they enhance the album's atmosphere, serving not only as bridges between songs but also as hinge points, helping us to go through the album smoothly. Of these four moments, I would like to highlight 'Girl in Landscape', which briefly reminds me of Deftones' Change, acting as a perfect interlude to 'Everything in Its Path'.

Four Dimensional Flesh is the next logical step for Afterbirth. It takes the previous formula and disperses it even further, adding more atmosphere, sophistication and artistic cohesion. If we look at the Escheresque artwork, we come across a vintage astronaut looking into the future. I like to believe that the music within this fourth dimension is represented by the labyrinthine stairs, and that the character personifies the band, who despite the troubled path, is now strong and confident, looking ahead. And considering the troubled times we are all going through, this fictional character is an inspiration to us all.



Recent reviews by this author
Aeternam Al QassamDark Fortress Spectres from the Old World
Marrasmieli Between Land And SkyIhsahn Telemark
Blaze of Perdition The Harrowing of HeartsSepultura Quadra
user ratings (29)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
March 22nd 2020


13413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decimal rating: 3.8



More cohesive than the debut, in my opinion. Gotta love Will Smith's vocals.



Full album stream:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qs2_YaHdBek

Digging: Aeternam - Al Qassam

parksungjoon
March 22nd 2020


15967 Comments


"Will Smith's massive delivery, which is currently one of the best throats in extreme metal"

not a phrase i'd ever expect to read in a metal review lmao

Digging: 420 - Reality

parksungjoon
March 22nd 2020


15967 Comments


hard pos man, can't believe you only have 46 reviews i was sure you'd be at double that by now.

but yea i actually found out about this band when this dropped. i listened to the embryotomy demo and was pleasantly surprised. heard half the other LP and a song or two off this and i am intrigued. not a fan of bdm as im sure some might know by now, but ill have to check this band out more thoroughly soon m/

trilo
March 22nd 2020


3123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review mang



album friggin slaps

Digging: Afterbirth - Four Dimensional Flesh

TheNotrap
March 22nd 2020


13413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys.



@parksungjoon

I've only started writing on a regular basis since the second half of last year. Before that I had only ten or something.



Yeah, their demo's pretty cool, they're at the genesis of the genre, no doubt. Even though you're not a BDM fan, you should give these guys a chance. Their style is far from being conventional.





parksungjoon
March 22nd 2020


15967 Comments


yeah definitely based on what ive haerd.

im always open to being surprised, i mean even the thing im digging right now is a pretty cool 90s bdm demo imo, tho prob not as good as these guys and much more obscure

TheNotrap
March 22nd 2020


13413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

420...I've never heard of these guys, it must be deeply obscure indeed.

parksungjoon
March 22nd 2020


15967 Comments


yeah i dont remember how i stumbled across it. most likely the youtube recommendation system working in mysterious ways yet again haha

Deathconscious
March 22nd 2020


24111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuckin noice.

Digging: Afterbirth - Four Dimensional Flesh

parksungjoon
March 22nd 2020


15967 Comments


yall give it a try if you can, its only 7 mins after all

you can find it here

https://youtu.be/VfZJej9A9dM?t=47

but skip to like 45~ seconds cuz the vid has a long and lame intro that has nothing to do with the tape

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2020


8681 Comments


Alternate album stream:
http://uniqueleaderrecords.bandcamp.com/album/four-dimensional-flesh

Curious to check this out, will read review tomorrow.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2020


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Seeing a lot of 4s and 4.5s and it sounds like this might tech ahrd



Good review, this will be on my radar moving forward.

Digging: Omega Infinity - Solar Spectre

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2020


18912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On the interlude now. So far this is pretty good. Those growls man, they sound like an alien creature from outer space.



Great rev as per usual Notrap, heartily pos'd.

Digging: Old Man Gloom - Seminar IX: Darkness of Being

TheNotrap
March 23rd 2020


13413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers guys.



"Curious to check this out, will read review tomorrow."

I think you'll like it. The band has a nice 'outside the box' approach.



"Seeing a lot of 4s and 4.5s and it sounds like this might tech ahrd"

The guys are skilled, no doubt, but their style doesn't rely on technique, but rather on a combination of power and atmosphere.



Thanks Dewinged ;)

"Those growls man, they sound like an alien creature from outer space."

Yeah, definitely. This guy is easily one of my favorite extreme metal vocalists these days. It's the dude from Artificial Brain.



DDDeftoneDDD
March 23rd 2020


11036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Shit!!! A rev!!! SO happy. God's work you're making Notrap!!!



Spiritually Transmitted Disease and Minimum Safe Distance are official jams of the season, state approved.

Digging: Aeternam - Al Qassam

TheNotrap
March 23rd 2020


13413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahah I heard the call and it was too strong to ignore. I became a missionary of truth in these troubled days ;)

Unfortunately, you're right. Those jams are prophecies of doom.





MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2020


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh I didn't mean technique, I want tech-death lol. I'm always in for some good techie.

ChaoticVortex
March 23rd 2020


934 Comments


Pretty crazy how these guys split up after two years in the 90's (the decade where they could've made it big) only to reform in the late 2010's and drop two quality records.

DDDeftoneDDD
March 23rd 2020


11036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yap, read that on the other album's rev...pretty crazy!

And how they sound well rooted, yet fresh and modern is also crazy...

TheNotrap
March 23rd 2020


13413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Their sound is modern, but retro simultaneously.

The band has forged its own BDM style, with strong expansion potential. In the next album they will be able to harden their sound and release something heavier (without losing their identity), or launch something even more atmospheric/progressive.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy