Aseul
Slow Dance


3.5
great

Review

by Aberf USER (12 Reviews)
March 20th, 2020 | 39 replies


Release Date: 03/06/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Slow Dancing the worries away

Slow Dance is picturesque. It vividly paints the pictures of a slow lazy weekend where mundane activities are in place, be it sitting in front of the fireplace while reading your favorite book, enjoying that leftover sandwich from yesterday as breakfast, or sitting on the couch while watching some comedy movies with your loved ones. Based on those scenarios alone, it’s almost clear that Aseul is taking a step back from her previous works. Compared to this album, Yukari’s (her previous alias) Echo, is more pronounced; her previous album, New Pop is also more experimental, both painting different settings and imagery. Slow Dance leaves only a few traces of the aforementioned aspects, yet it’s brimming with the comfy lo-fi vibes of K-Pop indulgence.

The vocals and production highlight each other in Slow Dance, striking a well-balanced composition. Compared to its predecessors, which heavily emphasize the instrumental while fusing it with Aseul’s subdued voice, the singing on this album is much bolder, more vibrant, and infectious. It also proudly wears the City Pop influence over the Electronic assortment: reverberating synths, sparkly drum loops, and vocal modulations. The peak examples are “Bye Bye Summer” and “2 Weeks” where Aseul sings her catchiest hooks over the funktastic melodies. The rest of the album follows a cutesy, playful atmosphere, a callback to those enjoyable moments that weren’t important enough to be remembered. If happiness is contagious, then Slow Dance is a virus of lightheartedness, forcing her audience to chill down and cherish the remaining time.

Days are short after all. Sometimes a moment of reflection is needed to realize the things that we take for granted. Perhaps those moments that we look forward to may have already happened in the past. Or maybe we simply forgot things that were actually important to us. At least that appears to be the idea behind the nuanced closing track “Tell Me”, a ballad with a melancholic prospect. It’s an introspective break to remind that there is an end to both difficult and easy times, tying all of the chapters together.

In the end, during those uncertain times, we might as well do some Slow Dance.



Recent reviews by this author
Hotel Mira PerfectionismYung Skrrt Dumbass Genius
Yukari EchoYeule Serotonin II
Sweet William and Jinmenusagi la blankaVyva Melinkolya Vyva Melinkolya
user ratings (24)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Aberf
March 20th 2020


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Criticism is always welcome!

Digging: Dabin - Wild Youth

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2020


5210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review! I like the EP and her voice, especially when it's lower in the mix and full of reverb.

Digging: Gazpacho - Fireworker

Aberf
March 20th 2020


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you, friend. I can't get enough of her voice in "2 Weeks". That hook is so cathartic mmmm.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2020


5210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, it's my favorite track off the EP too.

Aberf
March 20th 2020


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not sure if it's an EP. It's listed in Spotify/Bandcamp as an album, though a very short one.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2020


5210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My bad then, I initially saw someone on Youtube name it as EP, but on her channel it's "full album". It's becoming a trend to release albums at around 30 min length.

Bedex
March 20th 2020


2164 Comments


Short but very well written review man, I like how well it ties the musical descriptions to the vibes they represent. Hard pos


Also I'll check this soon

Digging: Gorod - Neurotripsicks

Aberf
March 20th 2020


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you, Pedex. Very cool. This is dream poppy too. Me likey a lot. The album is short so not much things to say anyway. I think you will like too.

parksungjoon
March 20th 2020


21697 Comments


neat

pos'd

dedex
March 20th 2020


4720 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Pedex rofl



Cool review man, pos'd. Will need to check that.

Digging: Damso - QALF

Aberf
March 20th 2020


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Misspelling your names is already a running gag at this point.

JesperL
March 20th 2020


1347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've been jamming this a whole lot since its release, it's so damn nice and )

Digging: Movements - No Good Left To Give

Aberf
March 21st 2020


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice and wut?

Uzumaki
March 21st 2020


2710 Comments


Will add to my backlog...


Pos’d.

JesperL
March 21st 2020


1347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i honestly neither remember nor know, help

Aberf
March 21st 2020


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The suspense is KILLING ME!!

Slow dancing away

parksungjoon
March 21st 2020


21697 Comments


my backlog is big and it keeps getting bigger









Aberf
March 21st 2020


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll put some big log from your back

kevbogz
March 21st 2020


2264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so fucking based. love the city pop vibe

Digging: Rune Realms - Secrets of the Deepwood

Aberf
March 22nd 2020


3414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Criticism is welcome, especially when you leave a neg!! >



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy