Fluisteraars
Bloem


4.0
excellent

Review

by NightOnDrunkMountain USER (9 Reviews)
March 14th, 2020 | 91 replies


Release Date: 02/28/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ethereal artistry.

Fluisteraars had built some momentum with a streak of two excellent releases before their third full length album “Bloem”, namely the amazing two-track EP “Gelderland” and their split with Turia, which has by far the most potent and emotionally heavy track they have written so far in their discography. The band is welcoming the new decade with a record that features a cover that could piss off purists as much as the two Sacred Son albums, yet their music palette seems to be fuller than ever, making it a bit inconsiderate to dismiss it just because you could possibly be allergic to flowers.

By now, the duo has evolved a lot from their first days of being an atmospheric black metal band with clear influences. “Bloem” features five tracks that glorify the personal sound of Fluisteraars, which is driven mainly by vibrant guitar melodies, wonderful shrieked vocals and it’s a blessing that they have stuck to that, instead of choosing to add mediocre clean vocal choruses like other bands of the same genre do as they release more and more albums. The structure of the record is phenomenal and creates a beautiful atmosphere, which includes small, hidden twists and turns that unfold the more you listen to it. Offering a pleasing, totally organic sound, the way they fuse dreamy guitar lines with riffs that get more intense at times, is unique and demonstrates the band’s compositional talent.

If you want to understand how repetitiveness is used properly in an album that leans more towards atmospheric black metal, a sub-genre that is full of endless tracks of empty ambiance, “Bloem” is the way to go. The band’s understanding of the factor of balance in an album is shown in tracks like “Eeuwige Ram” are based on a handful of melodies but are far from boring. At the same time, parts of “Nasleep” and “Vlek” have Fluisteraars bang a bit heavier and are full of highlight moments. It’s hard not to be moved by the charged ending of “Vlek”, starting at the second half of the track, or the menacing guitar riffs in “Tere Muur” or “Nasleep”, both of which include little characteristics that could also surprise a fan. Not to mention how good each instrument sounds, the bass is fantastic and of course, the presence of tampourine and timpani just add the cherry on top to an already fantastic record.

The album closes with a repetitive, Agallochian part in the song “Maanruïne” (the tampourine part in it will be your favorite part as much as mine), which is only a slight connection to that band, since Fluisteraars have opened wings towards their own soundscapes. “Bloem” goes heavily down on emotion and is full of interesting ideas, it keeps the attention of the listener for its whole duration and has absolutely no filler moments. I don’t think their previous full lengths were that memorable, but the band has been on the right track for some years now and finally they molded their inspiration into a full album.



Recent reviews by this author
Enepsigos Wrath of WrathsCaverne (FRA) Omphalos
Beneath the Massacre FearmongerJordablod The Cabinet of Numinous Song
Lurker Of Chalice Tellurian Slaked FurnaceSvart Crown Wolves Among The Ashes
user ratings (101)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
parksungjoon
March 14th 2020


22266 Comments


"atmospheric black metal, a sub-genre that is full of endless tracks of empty ambiance"

???



solid review otherwise. is this your first account?

Digging: Have Mercy (MD) - Armageddon Descends

Azog
March 14th 2020


362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dutch black metal, and it's fucking awesome.



Way...

NightOnDrunkMountain
March 14th 2020


137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes it is my first account, I just found this website.





Trifolium
March 14th 2020


19180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Omg thanks for reviewing this man! It's a great album for sure, and so weird to hear my native tongue in something other than Marco Borsato (Azog will understand).

Trifolium
March 14th 2020


19180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also pos!

parksungjoon
March 14th 2020


22266 Comments


nice dude, cheers for the midnight review as well

zaruyache
March 14th 2020


22983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

one of the better bm albums of the year so far I think. And much better than their previous album.

Digging: Ethereal Shroud - Lanterns

CaptainDooRight
March 14th 2020


4345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks for reviewing

CaptainDooRight
March 14th 2020


4345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks for reviewing

zaruyache
March 14th 2020


22983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks for reviewing



Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2020


12944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album, correct. This is a highlight

Pikazilla
March 15th 2020


12915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not sure if it's better than the band's previous material; all of it falls in the 3.5 category for me right now. Will listen again later.



Pos'd the review.

Azog
March 15th 2020


362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"It's a great album for sure, and so weird to hear my native tongue in something other than Marco Borsato (Azog will understand)."



Azog does. Like when compared to English, I always thought of our language as a rather blunt instrument, unfit to express subtleties like the distinction between happiness and crappiness. Which perfectly explains Marco Borsato, yet somehow we also have bands like Fluisteraars, achieving mastery while using the exact same tool. It may take some time to get used to that, LOL.

MementoMori
March 15th 2020


908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was always convinced my home country almost never, if ever, produces any decent metal. However, this record does seem to be receiving quite a bit of appreciation.



@Azog, I like to think Dutch can be more than a blunt instrument, given it occasionally lends itself to some rather wonderful eloquence. That being said, English, with its significantly larger vocabulary does offer a comparatively greater arsenal for expression.



P.S. "Whisperers" is a rather apt moniker for an atmospheric black-metal outift.

zaruyache
March 15th 2020


22983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dutch bm is pretty good right now i think

MementoMori
March 15th 2020


908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Zaruyache I thought as much. I've seen a lot of praise for Dutch bm on AMG and other metal-related outlets as well.

frozencarl
March 16th 2020


926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this rules

Beardog
March 17th 2020


3795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this good, kind of weird knowing what they are saying, compared to not having a clue in most black metal records. The vocals are really good though, it kinda sounds like Norse when you hear Dutch in a black metal context haha

Trifolium
March 17th 2020


19180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I thought so too Beardog! About the Norse-thing.

Azog
March 17th 2020


362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like, you can easily tell it's Dutch, but somehow it just isn't lame in any way! How?!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy