Conjureth
Foul Formations


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland STAFF
March 9th, 2020 | 49 replies


Release Date: 02/15/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Waltz into deathly embraces…

At thirteen minutes, Foul Formations isn’t an obtrusive listen, but it is the vicious American-style death metal of Conjureth. Having left Ghoulgotha’s dissolution behind Wayne “Elektrokutioner” Sarantopolous, the Father Befouled and Encoffination drummer left older fans wondering whether he’d surface from death metal’s bowels to make something entirely his own again. Conjureth’s debut EP, Foul Formations is a stark representation of cutting death metal formlessness, revelling in the sound developed in the genre’s “older” classics - without the natural hampering of cloning a signature soundscape.

I realise that’s still a broader description of the modern takes on older schools of death metal, but there's something in the experimentation of “The Void Caressed '' that's less than subtle… and considerably more blunt. Continuing, “At The Foot Of Kneeling Worlds” is brooding, but rabid and punishing. The Ep’s mostly up-tempo passages hide the music’s occasional flourish of progressiveness under mountains of double bass and warbly, high-octane riffs. The latter half of “At The Foot Of Kneeling Worlds” showcases dashes of melody, as well as dual guitar solos while offering an instrumental onslaught that holds each feature well together.

Despite the EP’s knack for bringing some aesthetically pleasing deathly elements together, Foul Formations is too abrupt. The run-time,( while matching the release format well) is too brief and doesn’t flesh out the possible majesty on offer here. Don’t confuse what’s being said however; this is a rock-solid, proficient and explorative little death metal effort. Put simply, this is a dick tease for a possible release four times the duration of this little EP.



Recent reviews by this author
She Said Destroy SuccessionTrivium In the Court of the Dragon
Cognizance UpheavalRivers of Nihil The Work
Spiritbox Eternal BlueEunuchs The Castration of Gods
user ratings (13)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2020


15270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

check it here:



https://conjureth.bandcamp.com/album/foul-formations

parksungjoon
March 9th 2020


38445 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sounds swee



listening now

Digging: Slint - Tweez

parksungjoon
March 9th 2020


38445 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yea this gets the park seal of approval for sure



love the way those tremz sound

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2020


15270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice work Parks babe

parksungjoon
March 9th 2020


38445 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

takes me back to when this account was fresh and there was still a glint of hope in my eye



every day discovering a new grave miasma or vasaeleth or cruciamentum or what have you







those were the days man



those were the days



ah.

Gallantin
March 9th 2020


1903 Comments


I never thought I'd get Ghoulgotha back and I weep tears of joy every time I listen to this.

Confessor riffs forever and eternity

Space Jester
March 9th 2020


9666 Comments


Yea his shit was sweet. And Ghoulgotha was rad af

parksungjoon
March 9th 2020


38445 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

perhaps

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2020


15270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Snox vibing nostalgia hard right there.

bloc
March 10th 2020


66685 Comments


Fuck that art looks amazing

Digging: Lloyd Banks - The Course of the Inevitable

parksungjoon
March 10th 2020


38445 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh ye tru



but the music is gd m8 check it

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 10th 2020


10994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

RIPS

Space Jester
March 10th 2020


9666 Comments


bloc you wouldn’t like this it’s not purely consonant melodies

Space Jester
March 10th 2020


9666 Comments


Maybe with all the new users who weren’t tainted by Jac’s initial reviews we can raise those Ghoulgotha ratings whaddaya say guys

Gallantin
March 10th 2020


1903 Comments


Yeah keep Jac away from this

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2020


26091 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gonna jam this once I'm done with Psychonaut, nice shorty Noct.

Digging: Blackwater Holylight - Silence/Motion

Space Jester
March 10th 2020


9666 Comments


Lol I love Jac but I will forever hold a grudge for that review

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2020


15270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What's this? Jac had a rage boner review against Ghoulgotha?

Space Jester
March 10th 2020


9666 Comments


You didn’t know? It’s the only review up for The Deathmass Cloak

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2020


15270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just checked it then. Thought I remembered reading something middle-ground (but I guess that must've been a draft of my own opinions on it). That said I can feel where his 1.5 is coming from - but not to the extent there.

I mean for those feeling wildly different to that the best course of action would be another review to tip the polarity but hey.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy