Silverstein
A Beautiful Place to Drown


2.5
average

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (40 Reviews)
March 6th, 2020 | 188 replies


Release Date: 03/06/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not mad, not surprised, just disappointed

To be completely honest, I’m glad Silverstein finally made A Beautiful Place to Drown. I’m glad it’s out. Ever since, well, 2005’s Discovering The Waterfront, the band’s bouncy, catchy songs always seem to have garnered the most collective interest. While critics praised the likes of heavier and/or more experimental cuts such as ‘Medication’ or the incredible ‘In A Place of Solace’, the band kept pushing further and further into pop-territory, coming up with one of their most streamed tracks on previous record Dead Reflection: ‘The Afterglow’. Not a bad song by any means, it appeared to be the final push Silverstein needed to get all their pop frustrations out of their system, and here we are: this very album was born.

Keeping up with the birthing-imagery, I feel like a parent. Not mad, not surprised, just disappointed. Mostly disappointed considering the fact that Silverstein has shown their ability to craft a clever, catchy hook many times before. Lead single ‘Burn it Down’ brilliantly rhymes ‘down’ with ‘down’ and then proceeds to repeat the word ‘down’ a few more times for good measure. Similar awkward songwriting hiccups show up all over the record: ‘Shape Shift’s chorus sounds like someone who hasn’t quite grasped the concept of full stops yet and just randomly inserts them into sentences. ‘Infinite’, pointlessly featuring Aaron Gillespie, falls victim to unnecessary repetition as well, mentioning the word ‘infinite’ six times per chorus, making for quite a boring listen. While vocalist Shane Told has rarely slipped up lyrically, some awkward passages bump this album down a few notches more. 'Say Yes!', for example, provides an unusually juvenile chorus: I don't want anyone else / Can we stay here for a long time?

However, even these sub-par songs still hold up as ‘listenable’ or merely ‘forgettable’: perhaps the only truly awful thing about A Beautiful Place To Drown is the 2:46 mark of ‘Burn It Down’, where featured Beartooth vocalist Caleb Shomo provides an inexplicably shaky yell, sounding about as tired as the song’s chorus. How this take ever made it through the mixing process is a miracle, especially considering how crisp everything else sounds. Guitarist Paul Marc Rousseau remains the best part of the band, laying down some catchy riffs on most tracks where he’s given a chance to shine. Especially album highlight ‘Madness’ shows him on top of his game, with the chorus coming close to being of the classic, irresistibly catchy Silverstein quality, something painfully lacking on this album. Most surprisingly, however, is the fact that Princess Nokia’s guest vocals are the best ones on the entire record (which contains way too many pointless features). Adding a strange nu-metal esque layer to the song, her voice beautifully contrasts Shane’s screams.

Even with ‘September 14th’ not being much more than a lite-version of their own song ‘A Better Place’ and closer ‘Take What You Give’ taking the risk of boring listeners to death, A Beautiful Place to Drown is not a bad album. This seems like the record this band has been wanting to make for several years now, and, for better or for worse, it’s here. If anything, this album gives me hope that in two years time a reinvigorated Silverstein will present us a much better project. Until then, this album functions as a placeholder to remind you that the band are planning on staying for a long time (if you just Say Yes!).



Recent reviews by this author
Seaway Big VibeHundredth Somewhere Nowhere
Aphir Republic of ParadiseIress Flaw
Movements No Good Left To GiveSeas and Centuries battles
user ratings (157)
2.6
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2020


1599 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

quick write up for a whatever/okay album. do not check this out, let it flop, let the band realise this is not what people want to hear

Digging: Seaway - Big Vibe

SteakByrnes
March 6th 2020


21176 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Good review, album is probably dogshit

Digging: Motives - Death Throes

reven
March 6th 2020


1 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Album is at the end of the day incredibly radio-friendly and listenable and that's its most defining feature. Not really many interesting tracks on this thing, Madness and Where Are You were the best imo - I understand Silverstein want to experiment n shit but it's not like they had much more to add to pop-punk, an already oversaturated genre, and this album is evidence of this. However, I can't call this a cash grab or as 'betraying' long time fans since this does seem like something they genuinely want to make and if this is the direction they want to take then I can't see my self listening to anything they put out from now on.



Good review, pretty much sums up my thoughts, hope they bounce back from this disappoinment.

Pikazilla
March 6th 2020


12828 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Music to be drowned to

SteakByrnes
March 6th 2020


21176 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Yea this was not good

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2020


1599 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

a very average place to drown. n thanks guys haha

outliers
March 6th 2020


1715 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Say Yes! and Stop make me want to vomit

SteakByrnes
March 6th 2020


21176 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Not even some of the above average guitar playing can save this, and I've always thought Silverstein's guitarist was really good

JayEnder
March 6th 2020


8431 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Shane is in his 40s and still writes songs like Say Yes...

Digging: clipping. - Visions of Bodies Being Burned

notagenius
March 6th 2020


361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i am gonna be fair. if they are not silverstein, this album deserves a 3.



i buried my own disappointment alive.

LoLifant
March 6th 2020


1549 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is Silverstein‘s „amo“.

mann28
March 6th 2020


19 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

They have always been consistent, never spectacular, but good at what they do. This album was definitely disappointing and they’re far better than this.

veninblazer
March 6th 2020


11755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

so far its honestly ok, it clearly screams radio play but you could do a lot worse with that style of writing. I'm only to "Shape Shift" though, so if it really takes a nose-dive I'll update.

veninblazer
March 6th 2020


11755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

alright this is just getting stupid

Minushuman24
March 6th 2020


4342 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this is shockingly bad

Digging: Black Randy and the Metrosquad - Pass The Dust, I Think I'm Bowie

veninblazer
March 6th 2020


11755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

feeling a light 3 on this tbh

pizzamachine
March 6th 2020


14261 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Some fire songs, some boring songs. Pretty hard to rate. 😅



5/5

SteakByrnes
March 6th 2020


21176 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Oh fuck pizza has returned to us hi fren

pizzamachine
March 6th 2020


14261 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I’ve always been here



Waiting























Watching O_O

LoLifant
March 6th 2020


1549 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Surprised that after so long in the business they deemed it necessary to release something to appeal to the radio audience. But maybe they just didn‘t care and wanted to try it out just once (hopefully).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy