Soccer Mommy
Color Theory


3.0
good

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
March 1st, 2020 | 220 replies


Release Date: 02/28/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Meet me in the middle

"Pleasant" is not an emotion I often associate with great art. It’s the kind of thing that hangs in the back of your mind as you drink a cold beer in the sun on a temperate day - “This sure is pleasant”. It’s not even the kind of thing one would literally say aloud - it comes and goes without words. It’s a fine feeling to have, but it’s not interesting enough to think about for more than a split second. And this is how I feel about Color Theory, it’s pleasant in all the worst ways. It hearkens back to a time when we as a society collectively fooled ourselves into believing Mac Demarco made good music. It’s reminiscent of eating bland, but-at-least-it’s-healthy food at Souplantation while Sheryl Crow’s “Soak Up The Sun” plays unnoticed in the background. With bright melodies, overproduced songs, and a disappointing lack of depth Soccer Mommy has aimed for the middle with Color Theory and largely succeeded.

It’s clear from the album cover that Color Theory is promising to be reminiscent of late 90s/early 2000s pop-rock, and it most certainly delivers. Soccer Mommy channels her inner Sheryl Crow when she croons “Quit taunting / quit taunting me” about seven times too many on "Lucy," and like Crow’s early 2000s output the charm and talent of Soccer Mommy’s early work is washed out with rays of sunshine. When you quadruple track into oblivion the guitar parts of a lo-fi bedroom pop outfit like Soccer Mommy the music starts to lose its muster. Color Theory becomes more inspired the more stripped down the songs become. "Stain" is mostly just guitar and vocals, and it hits like a ton of bricks in the way most of the tracks on Soccer Mommy's 2018 effort Clean did. "Up the Walls" is the shortest song, and also the best, which is a shame as most of the album features four to five-minute bloated romps with verses and choruses that are repeated one too many times all plugged into meandering song structures. There’s nothing particularly troubling or outright bad, again, it’s a pleasant listen, but subtracting the cute, self-aware lyrics and smart lo-fi songwriting makes Color Theory one note, one hue of sunny orange.

The lyrics on Clean aren’t particularly deep, but Soccer Mommy sells “I don’t want to be your ***ing dog” and “Baby I lost my faith / I kissed him on the second date" with such charisma and relatability that it’s hard not to swoon like a high schooler. After several listens of Color Theory, none of the lyrics stand out at all:

“What did you have that I didn't? And why am I so blue? Someone's talking in my forehead that says, "I'll never be like you".

It’s all so verbose and overwrought, a perfect complement to the lackluster music. You can hang out in the sun with this album, but don’t expect the sort of catharsis Clean offered. Soccer Mommy is too talented to settle in the middle. Chalk Color Theory up as a sophomore slump - a misstep she’s not likely to repeat - and the most aggressively OK album of 2020.




Recent reviews by this author
Covet technicolorTiny Moving Parts Breathe
State Faults ClairvoyantOvero Overo
American Football American Football (LP3)Hotel Books I'll Leave the Light On Just In Case
user ratings (137)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2020


57316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Went a bit harsh but it's because I see the potential



Digging: 100 Gecs - 1000 gecs

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2020


9976 Comments


Was bummed to see this have a staff review but it's the wrong score so I'll keep working on mine
Good write-up tho

Digging: Fontaines D.C. - A Hero's Death

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2020


57316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How you feel about this one Slex? I'm a huge Clean fan, but this one hurt me in the wrong way

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 1st 2020


35234 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good review. It's well formulated and I didn't think it was all that harsh. I still need to hear this.

Digging: The Microphones - Microphones in 2020

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2020


57316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Sowing

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2020


9976 Comments


I have Clean at a 5, I think it's truly special, especially Scorpio Rising

This one isn't as good, I'll probably settle on a 4 tho: I definitely disagree about the lyrics, actually think she leveled up there. I do think that things can get a little bland at times here, but it's more a 'this is more respectable than it is enjoyable/affecting' instead of 'this is weak'
Overall it seems like she was just TOO subtle at times here

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 1st 2020


57738 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Scorpio Rising?



ha ha more like STAY AWAY SATAN

Digging: HellHammer - Apocalyptic Raids

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2020


9976 Comments


I also definitely disagree that this is overly bright/pleasant, this album is dark as hell

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 1st 2020


57738 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

woah dude like billie eilish dark?

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2020


27193 Comments


This review is more or less how I felt about Scorpio Rising the 1 or 2 times I heard it, so I'm now interested out of morbid curiosity hmm

Digging: Coaltar of the Deepers - Come Over to the Deepend

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2020


9976 Comments


No not that dark that music is scary

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2020


27193 Comments


Billie Eilish has night terrors i wonder why

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2020


9976 Comments


Someone cut in line at Whole Foods

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2020


27193 Comments


every time someone cuts the line at whole foods their basket becomes

reduced foods.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2020


9976 Comments


Johnny you're my best friend

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2020


27193 Comments


did you just kill me with kindness? am v into that if so

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 1st 2020


57738 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i appreciate that joke you made



i didnt laugh



i didnt smile



i didnt make any facial expression whatsoever in fact but



i like it

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2020


9976 Comments


[2]

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 1st 2020


57738 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

listening to this rn

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2020


9976 Comments


U will hate it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy