Marrasmieli
Between Land And Sky


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheNotrap USER (49 Reviews)
February 26th, 2020 | 28 replies


Release Date: 01/24/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: These unforgettable days, between land and sky.

In the past couple of years, whenever I enjoy some free time at my country house, I carry in my luggage a playlist where I usually include at least one folk black metal album (yes, it's a bit cliché, but let's go on) among my travel stuff. It's the perfect place to enjoy music with strong links to nature and the simple things in life. I've always been an urban creature, but as the years go by I've been enjoying these relaxing moments more and more. It's where I enjoy my family, the surrounding woods and the music I choose as my company.

No, I'm not that old, fellas.

This year I brought an unknown new Finnish band, whose artwork and album title seemed appropriate. One could say it was a shot in the dark, an intuition if you wish, but against all odds I got it right. Marrasmieli's debut proved to be a suitable choice, having been a faithful companion these last days. Not only for its overly emotional folk touch, but also for the way it combines this aesthetic with straightforward black metal. It is in the midst of these two worlds that we find the heart and soul of Marrasmieli, Between Land and Sky.

Don't expect any expensive production within a mainstream package. It's just three northern boys in their woods cabine making genuine music. And that's how I feel about Between Land and Sky. Genuineness. Unpretentious, authentic genuineness. That brief glorious moment only glimpsed a few times in a lifetime. All it takes is the first two songs 'Embrace The Eternal' and 'Those Who Are Long Gone' to feel this splendorous innocence. In addition to the blackened folk we were waiting for, Marrasmieli surprises us with death/thrash deliveries that add power and diversity to the compositions. I'm sold by now. My Portuguese woods and these songs make the perfect duet. The album keeps running consistently between land and sky, flowing organically, in a way only new souls can shape. The catchy 'Karakorum' and the two epics that follow give the final tones to this majestic painting, making me forget the low production value, which, frankly, is the least of my concerns. I'm too focused on the lads' music, so don't bother me with technicalities.

Well, my short time in the cottage is almost over. Among countless souvenirs, photographs and good food, I will also take with me these three Finnish lads and the experience we shared through these unforgettable days, between land and sky.



Recent reviews by this author
Skam Sounds of a DiseaseWhite Stones Kuarahy
Aeternam Al QassamAfterbirth Four Dimensional Flesh
Dark Fortress Spectres from the Old WorldIhsahn Telemark
user ratings (24)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
February 26th 2020


13500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The soundtrack of my short countryside vacation. Enjoyable debut.

Full stream:

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RI_fCSdVOCk&t=7s

Digging: Skam - Sounds of a Disease

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2020


19044 Comments


Notrap rev = auto-pos'd

Man, i wish I'd have a country house so i could go and chill on the weekends.

Will check this dude,

Digging: Pure Reason Revolution - Eupnea

TheNotrap
February 26th 2020


13500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks, Dewinged.

It feels good to get out of town with your family and good music.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2020


12012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"expensive" or expansive Mr Notrap?



Good review, could do with a bit more detail/bulking but i am glad to see this covered.

Ray91
February 26th 2020


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review. Been planning to check this out as well due to DD constantly reminding me to do so

Digging: August Burns Red - Guardians

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2020


12012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice dig Mr. Ray

Ray91
February 26th 2020


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thx mate, I just wish more people would be on this. Some really well done deathcore with blackened influences and strong dynamics. Not sure if they can be really classified as deathcore but the record slays

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2020


12012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gimmie a sec - keep refreshing that front page.

Ray91
February 26th 2020


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a sounds like someone wrote a review

Pikazilla
February 26th 2020


9358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The folk parts really bring this one down

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2020


12012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their not as lush as a few of last year's more prominent releases. There's some really high standards for this little niche at the mome

Ray91
February 26th 2020


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the production really is not good. But somehow this is charming and I'm a sucker for folk elements lately

DDDeftoneDDD
February 26th 2020


11139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Shit! I'm not even into folk but this fuckin rules. When its complemented with dm thrash gives it such a cool vibe. Karakorum may be its best track but my fave is def Those Who Are Long Gone, prob for that reason. m/



You guys giving 3 to this stop sucking ass and spin this once a day.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Ray91
February 26th 2020


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

getting some windir vibes

DDDeftoneDDD
February 26th 2020


11139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Rev is beauty. Pos d

NightOnDrunkMountain
February 26th 2020


110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great to see a review for this band and I'm glad you liked it!

Digging: Wake - Devouring Ruin

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2020


11852 Comments


Nice pick for review, this is great.

TheNotrap
February 26th 2020


13500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks, guys.



Cheers Nocte,

Yeah, I meant "expensive," like big-budget.



"could do with a bit more detail/bulking but i am glad to see this covered."

This time I tried to do something more personal, grabbing the moment, without much technical detail.



"Been planning to check this out as well due to DD constantly reminding me to do so"

Hahah I know what you mean. D is a rec machine



"The folk parts really bring this one down"

I love them. They're not overly melodic. They're the right whipped cream layer on top of this cake. That violin in Embrace the Eternal is a beauty.



"Shit! I'm not even into folk but this fuckin rules. When its complemented with dm thrash gives it such a cool vibe. Karakorum may be its best track but my fave is def Those Who Are Long Gone, prob for that reason. m/"

Damn right D, album rules m/ Those Who Are Long Gone is also my favorite song along with Embrace the Eternal. That early killer riff is something else, isn't it?



I'm glad you're enjoying it manosg ;)

DDDeftoneDDD
February 26th 2020


11139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Shit yeah...I love the whole thing...and yap, those 2 first songs are definitely an assault and my early faves...the other tracks took their time to sink...currently I'm overly enjoying Aallot's intro with those violins again...uuughhh



About this rev I love how personal it is...I'm feeling this more and more lately:



"I've always been an urban creature, but as the years go by I've been enjoying these relaxing moments more and more."



That combined with my increasing love for Black Metal feels very blissful.





Glad you dig this Ray91! Glad "recing" this worked to someone :P



TheNotrap
February 26th 2020


13500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The first two songs were indeed the ones that clicked immediately, but I've been enjoying the following ones more and more. The Maiden-esque passage and the final sequence of The Ardent Passage are also among my favorite moments on the album. I can't find any filler in Between Land and Sky.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy