Denzel Curry and Kenny Beats
Unlocked


4.1
excellent

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
February 13th, 2020 | 134 replies


Release Date: 02/07/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I kick that funky shit until my casket close

Denzel Curry is the fucking best, and it's not because he spits good lines with skill. In fact it's more accurate to say he spits bad lines with complete, infectious abandon – it's hard to imagine any other rapper staying in the conversation after a bar like "that's me at my Lois, no Peter Griffin", but here's Curry setting the game on fire with an 18-minute tape promoted like 80% by memes. What's his fucking secret?

I'd like to say he does it through sheer force of will, but it's more accurate to highlight his truly terrific delivery. Second only to ScHoolboy Q in terms of pure vocal elasticity, Curry pivots like an acrobat around the beat instead of sitting on it, which is served beautifully by the 90s-inspired, roomy tracks Kenny Beats supplies him with here. Listen to the way he stretches up to a punky nasal snarl on his "Bulls on Parade" and "I Against I" covers, down to a new wave-ish mumble on "CLOUT COBAIN", flips between a growl and ODB sing-wail on "DIET_" for the hell of it. UNLOCKED literalises Curry's penchant for metamorphosis, pitch-shifting his vocals up and down like it's 2011 and he's just joined Odd Future, and the rapper has endless intoxicating flows to keep pace with the effects. Even when he's not powering the tape with straight rocket fuel, Kenny Beats smoothly remixes lines from other songs into beat tracks "Track 01" and "Track07", or drops in single-word samples to finish sentences, painting a lo-fi plunderphonics soundscape equal parts Madvillainy and The Avalanches. I could go on with the comparisons, but they don't really matter: UNLOCKED's best features are its brevity and simplicity. Songs drop in, do what they need to and cycle to an end without melodrama – something like "Pyro (leak 2019)" is just one straight heater of a verse that ends when its point is made and not a second after. With that in mind, this is a tape best enjoyed as a light digest, endlessly replayable but admittedly shallow. Until Denzel finds the right balance between his lofty conceptual ambitions and his seemingly endless well of punky bangers, a surface level this fun is the best we can hope for.



Recent reviews by this author
Mac Miller CirclesEarl Sweatshirt Feet of Clay
Norma Jean All HailDanny Brown uknowhatimsayin¿
The Early November LilacBlink-182 Nine
user ratings (204)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2020


43263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

MY BITCH BAD LIKE BATTLE RAPPERS THAT MAKE ALBUMS

Digging: Denzel Curry and Kenny Beats - Unlocked

Gyromania
February 13th 2020


29536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Lol literally was just in the middle of writing a review for this. That creative spark comes once every 6 or so months for me! Thanks Rowan!



But for real, gud review. Madvillainy and Since I Left You, definitely hear it. I've spun this thing nearly 15 times now, easily my favourite thing so far this year.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2020


43263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

lol damn rough timing, I pumped out this real quick to have a thread so still publish yours if you finish it for sure



I've heard it like 20 times now and not tired of it, Pyro is the song to beat this year so far

butt.
February 13th 2020


6580 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can't believe you didn't even mention cosmic! He gets most wild on that one. I love it when he just fuckin growls/barks near the end.



anyway yeah it'll be hard for any other EP in 2020 to beat this

Pikazilla
February 13th 2020


7826 Comments


This is better than Curry's last album

dedex
February 13th 2020


1750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Short but good review (like the album eh)

'Zel is on fire since 2018 it's not even fun anymore

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2020


43263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

Cosmic knocks no doubt, I find it kinda hard to distinguish highlights here cos it all flows so well, apart from Pyro which always makes me sit up straight



and ye this is better than TA13OO for brevity's sake

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2020


1296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great review, love denzel and even loved zuu though many thought it was average. excited to hear this.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
February 13th 2020


3957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

AHhhhh this is so good

Digging: Denzel Curry and Kenny Beats - Unlocked

JeetJeet
February 13th 2020


7665 Comments


Theres a couple times on here where Zel sounds like DMX and I love it.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2020


43263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

cheers chan, that album didn't have too much replay value for me but RICKY is an all-timer

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2020


16439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dude is a few 8-bit beats away from being Mega Ran or one of those corny-ass video game rappers but dammit if I don't appreciate it

Digging: Satyr - Locus

botb
February 13th 2020


13623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This tape is sick. I wish he would elevate his lyricism a bit, when he spits real shit it’s so good, but for every real line you get some no Peter Griffin punchline haha. But he’s still young.

Gyromania
February 13th 2020


29536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Also disses pixar on this which is whack

Gyromania
February 13th 2020


29536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Also disses pixar on this which is whack

trilo
February 13th 2020


3041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cosmic slaps big time

Digging: Moloken - Unveilance Of Dark Matter

RaylanCrowder
February 13th 2020


88 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

HE'S USUALLY SLIGHTLY BIGGER, OR STRONGER THAN THE AVERAGE



I was sold from that line itself lol. Also I feel you, Denzel, I don't like Pixar (anymore) either

Digging: Denzel Curry and Kenny Beats - Unlocked

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2020


16439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

fuckin pixar and their well made movies....

WatchItExplode
February 13th 2020


7806 Comments


MM...Curry

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 13th 2020


50979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You are spare parts bud

Digging: Yoko Duo - Behaving Like A Widower



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy