Fontaines D.C.
Dogrel


3.5
great

Review

by Marehelm USER (7 Reviews)
February 10th, 2020 | 51 replies


Release Date: 04/12/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Hey love, are you hanging on?"

After the first three songs, “Big”, “Sha Sha Sha”, and “Too Real”, one would be forgiven for thinking they’ve figured these guys out: Catchy post-punk without too much emphasis on atmosphere but, instead, leaning on crisp guitars, speed, and Oirish charm.

Nah, maité.

These guys, within their own limited sound, got songs for pretty much anything and, after the first three songs, continually takes the listener on a sine curve-ish ride up and down in intensity and emotion. From the fun and careless “Liberty Belle” to the critical “Chequeless Reckless”. From the post-punk atmosphere of “The Lotts” to the anthemic “Boys in the Better Land”, and finally, the distinct it’s-4am-the-pub-is-closing-vibe of “Dublin City Sky”.

It’s not like these changes during the rest of the album, compared the initial three songs, are earth-shattering or revelationary, but their differences in tone combined with the fact that you’re still absolutely sure you’re listening to Fontaines D.C.

Here’s the thing: I really want to hear Fontaines D.C. perform live. These songs make me want to hear them together with other people, to share the experience with them. It makes me want to be with other human-beings and laugh and cry and have fun and live and die and love. Together. That, in this day and age and at this stage in my life, is in itself remarkable.

Similar to IDLES, Fontaines D.C. makes me want to be connected and unified. Makes me want to feel. Maybe it’s because, after taking this cosine curve-ish post-punk ride maybe 50 or 100 times, I think they understand the feelings. I think they’ve been there. Fontaines D.C. feel like kin and peers.

I’m having a hard time deciphering with exactly how much sarcasm the chorus of ”Big” is sung. But Fontaines D.C.’s Dogrel can for a short while, if not make me feel bigger, then at least make me stand just a little bit taller.




Recent reviews by this author
Abyssal A Beacon In The HuskKrypts Cadaver Circulation
Julia Holter AviaryKhorada Salt
Eliane Radigue Trilogie de la MortMournful Congregation The Incubus of Karma
user ratings (123)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Marehelm
February 10th 2020


862 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, well

DoofDoof
February 10th 2020


8424 Comments


should be a 4 rating but cool

Marehelm
February 10th 2020


862 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ya, I'm a cheap one

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2020


18622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Real good album. The singer is amazing. Love “television screens”

Tunaboy45
February 13th 2020


17163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a hard 4 bordering on 4.5

Digging: Fontaines D.C. - A Hero's Death

Marehelm
February 14th 2020


862 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, it's really good

Marehelm
February 17th 2020


862 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thought these guys would get more love once a review up

Tunaboy45
April 11th 2020


17163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Thought these guys would get more love once a review up"



They've already been making a name for themselves over here, they've become a pretty well respected and loved band.



Tunaboy45
May 5th 2020


17163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New track tonight at 7:30 on R1

Tunaboy45
May 5th 2020


17163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

titled a Hero's Death, from the album of the same name

anatelier
May 5th 2020


3544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ooh didn't expect a follow up so quickly, album art is lovely

Digging: Protomartyr - Ultimate Success Today

anatelier
May 5th 2020


3544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Littlefinger is in the music vid

AxeToFall93
May 6th 2020


190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New song is great, a lot darker than a lot of stuff on "Dogrel". Hyped af

SlothcoreSam
June 11th 2020


2300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

New song "I Don't Belong" is their chillest yet.

Digging: Classics of Love - World of Burning Hate

someone
June 14th 2020


751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

new song is awesome, though i am little annoyed at how he say "bee-long"

anatelier
June 26th 2020


3544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fair play to this lot, headline show at the Ally Pally next year

someone
July 5th 2020


751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Televised Mind" sounds like 00s Oasis. the video doesn't help

SlothcoreSam
July 27th 2020


2300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Another great Irish band just released an album, similarities between this and Parquet Courts are evident.

Silverbacks- Fad

Closk
July 27th 2020


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Most ballsy album from a Irish band in the last 30 years. Taking a step back from the temptations of overproduction, the monotony of an easy tune to get radio airplay, bringing back startling lyricism, stripped back riffs and drum patterns and an angst that represents an entire Irish nation. Fontaines D.C came at the right place at the right time. A pivotal album in such treacherous times.

SlothcoreSam
July 31st 2020


2300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

New album is not what I was expecting. It's good, but half the songs could be by a different band.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy