Green Day
Father of All Motherfuckers


1.5
very poor

Review

by Green Baron USER (160 Reviews)
February 8th, 2020 | 91 replies


Release Date: 02/07/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Where's the monkey pissing in its own mouth when you need it

One would have hoped that Green Day learned their lessons from the utter disaster that was The Trilogy, given that Revolution Radio was the first album of theirs without any gimmick in over 15 years. It still wasn’t very good, but plain ol’ mediocrity was a step up from the neutered, lazy glorified triple album and yet another rock opera about politically star-crossed lovers. At well past 30 years into their career, there’s not much that Green Day can do without some form of blowback, but it doesn’t take a savant to realize that whatever the fuck this is was a bad idea.

The warning signs should have flashed immediately with the release of the lead single/title track, as well as the absolutely hideous artwork. Unicorn puke? Self-referential American Idiot nod? Ketchup-looking red font? The ‘edgy’ attempt at profanity in the title? The music quickly proves itself to be deserving of its packaging - ten seconds in and Billie Joe Armstrong hits with a wretched falsetto before the track’s limp garage rock revival reveals itself in an oversanitized mess featuring goddamn handclaps in the chorus.

The jury’s still out on whether or not Father of All Motherfuckers has worse production than The Trilogy. Sure, the latter had some of the most toothless guitar sound ever put to tape, but everything here is so slicked-up and clean-cut with the vocals buried in the background or modified unnecessarily. Given some of Billie’s performances here, they might have known what they were doing. I’ve never gotten the hype around Butch Walker as a producer, and this certainly won’t convince me otherwise. There’s no excusing how godawful the drums sound on “Oh Yeah!”, for instance.

Lousy lyricism has been Green Day’s M.O. for the last 10 years, but Billie Joe is pushing 50 and the best he can come up with in 2020 is such zany quips as “You can take a walk or you can suck my cock”, “Life’s a mess and school is just for suckers”, and “My pride is my pornography, Kool-Aid is my motto”. The lack of emphasis on politics is unusual for his 21st century output, yet the vapid party-hard mantra in its place is just awkward from a man well past his dog days. He may have tapped into that teenage teenager inside of him, but I’m sure Billie was putting better words on paper when he actually was in high school.


Comparisons to The White Stripes, The Hives and the like will be the first ones thrown away because of their ubiquity in the garage rock revival world, but Father of All Motherfuckers is reminiscent most of Pitchfork darlings Jet, and even the majority of Jet’s songs weren’t this horrible. All this album offers is stale retreads of a long-forgotten fad – the garage rock revival revival, if you will. There are zero interesting ideas, nary the chipmunk vocals, the Weezer wannabe track, the one that sounds like a Verizon commercial, or the half-written song that literally is an NHL advertisement. This is Green Day for the new decade: somehow even more insipid than before.



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park One More LightIncubus 8
Highly Suspect The Boy Who Died WolfFrom Ashes To New Day One
Frank Turner Mittens3 Doors Down Us and the Night
user ratings (306)
1.7
very poor
other reviews of this album
SowingSeason STAFF (1.5)
My downward spiral, oh yeah...

industry plant (3.5)
Everyone's so full of piss and vinegar...

TheMoonchild (1.5)
How do you do, fellow punks?...

related reviews

Awesome As Fuck

iTRE!

Revolution Radio

Insomniac
recommended by reviewer
Jet Shine On

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2020


11956 Comments


Not sure who these guys are trying to impress with such an edgy title....

DoofDoof
February 8th 2020


7691 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Was this garage rock? I thought it sounds too pop and robotic/over produced for that

Digging: Baxter Dury - The Night Chancers

Lucman
February 8th 2020


3931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Good review but I don't think this is that bad.

Digging: Red (USA) - Declaration

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2020


16199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"Good review but I don't think this is that bad."



[2]



it's not good by any means, but it's hardly terrible.

Digging: Nine Inch Nails - Ghosts VI: Locusts

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2020


16199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

also pos baron, good review.



great to see you reviewing again mate

RogueNine
February 8th 2020


4229 Comments


Yay Baron review.
I like the t/t (couldn't even tell it was them when I first heard it). I have no doubt this is bad though.

bigguytoo9
February 8th 2020


694 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Have not heard a single song off this year.

SymbolicInTime
February 8th 2020


5590 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Album is anal leakage. Stab You in the Heart is a fun little bop, I'll give this disc that.

Digging: Rollins Band - The End of Silence

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2020


18969 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Truly an abomination.





Digging: Ginger Baker's Air Force - Ginger Baker's Air Force

Tunaboy45
February 8th 2020


16978 Comments


the post-punk revival revival is here folks

as if it wasn't insipid enough the first time round

WhiteNoise
February 8th 2020


3682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Sorry, I’ve already decided I like this quite a bit. It’s fun.

Lucman
February 8th 2020


3931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"Meet Me On the Roof" is catchy as. Come on lads, this is just dumb fun, not something worthy of hate.

Drbebop
February 8th 2020


112 Comments


Wasn’t as overwhelmingly bad as I was expecting but it’s still not great. I like the title track, Meet Me on the Roof and Grafitia but the rest was just white noise

Willie
Moderator
February 8th 2020


18543 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's not terrible, but it's not good... and it's definitely not very 'Green Day'.

Digging: Testament - Titans Of Creation

Pangea
February 8th 2020


3718 Comments


good review. i don't think i'm going to bother with this

Digging: Kendrick Lamar - good kid, m.A.A.d city

cloakanddagger
February 8th 2020


366 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Haven't been interested in any new green day material in over a decade and I doubt this album will change that.

Point1
February 8th 2020


775 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

3 songs in I was totally ready to be a contrarian and give this a good review. Then the rest of the songs totally sucked.

onionbubs
February 8th 2020


12372 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

still not as bottom of the barrel as uno dos and tre are



like after the singles (which are all unbearably horrible) i expected like a 0.5, but most of this is just kinda average, w sugar youth and graffitia being kinda good ish

Digging: Brian Fallon - Local Honey

THISISMYWAR
February 8th 2020


378 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

this is as abysmal as green day could get for me



even the songs that Billie ain't doing that fucking GOD AWFUL falsetto bullshit, they just are painful



like sugar youth, riffing sounds like earlier 2000s gd but done in such an offensively generic way, I cant help but be pissed off



blown out, redundant, sugary, melodically remedial, lyrically stomach churning, band needs to throw in multiple towels

Digging: The Weeknd - After Hours

onionbubs
February 8th 2020


12372 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

also production on this album is weird and shitty but its still got more punch and presence to it than literally all of the slog of their 2010s output (admittedly saying nothing bc trilogy and rrs mixes are both so flat and lifeless). it still sounds bad but the bar is lower than this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy