Destroyer
Have We Met


2.5
average

Review

by saenwidc bahbl USER (52 Reviews)
February 5th, 2020 | 102 replies


Release Date: 01/31/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A poet for no one, in slow motion.

It’s been a very long time since I sat down and spun a Destroyer album front to back, I’ll admit it. Usually, I’m content with a few tracks from one of their earlier records showing up on a playlist here or there; a song off Streethawk, maybe a handful off Rubies or This Night. It’s not a deliberate choice on my part, it just sort of happens that way. That noxious line of thinking seemed to carry over to my initial listen of Have We Met. By the halfway point of the album, I found myself instinctively reaching for the ‘skip track’ button like I would on a playlist set to shuffle.

That’s not to say the A-side of Have We Met is skippable. “Crimson Tide” and “Kinda Dark” weren’t all that special, but the three tracks that follow are enjoyable. “It Just Doesn’t Happen” is a good alternative dance track with a decent synth line, and my favorite track on the album is found within this string of tracks, “The Raven.” The calming sounds of keyboards and drums mixed in with sudden bursts of guitar makes for an interesting listen. The second half of the album is noticeably worse than the first, but only because it begins with “Cue Synthesizer,” Have We Met’s weakest track. Aside from that, it’s a middling affair. “University Hill” is a ploddingly-slow synthpop track and “The Man in Black's Blues” is pleasant, but doesn’t really switch anything up, seemingly content with going at the same tempo the whole way through. The album closes with “foolssong,” which fittingly ends the album with a 2-minute long droning fade to black.

There’s this belief that I’ve held for a very long time, that being boring is a lot worse than being outright terrible. It’s not a steadfast rule by any means, but it does mirror my feelings about Have We Met. With the exception of the grating “Cue Synthesizer,” Destroyer have put out a collection of songs with practically zero bite. The run from “It Just Doesn't Happen” to “The Raven” is a highlight for sure, but even those tracks aren’t enough to make the entire thing worth listening. Yet again, it seems Destroyer have made another album destined for cherry-picking and "best-of" playlists, one where 2/3s of the album is disposable and lackluster. Uninteresting to the point you don’t even remember the name; that’s the impression Have We Met leaves you with by the time it’s over. When it disappears into the crowd, it's like it was never there.



Recent reviews by this author
The Snogs Boyfriend's DeadLazy Beam Pasquinade
Team Dresch Personal BestSt. Christopher Dig Deep, Brother 1984-1990
Lula Cortes and Ze Ramalho PaêbirúGumming Overripe
user ratings (97)
3.3
great
related reviews

Your Blues

Poison Season

Archer on the Beach

Ken
recommended by reviewer
Elevator Muzak


Comments:Add a Comment 
SandwichBubble
February 5th 2020


12359 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Stream: https://destroyer.bandcamp.com/album/have-we-met

Probably my worst review, feel free to bash it below.

Digging: Dirt - Never Mind Dirt - Here's the Bollocks

GhandhiLion
February 5th 2020


9584 Comments


Album Rating: 7.0

I'm glad someone reviewed this Kenny G album.

Digging: Ichiko Aoba - ?????

SandwichBubble
February 5th 2020


12359 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Well, the last one was dedicated to Kenny G, was only a matter of time before his influence was felt.

AmericanFlagAsh
February 5th 2020


9946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I quite enjoy this album, it's relaxing

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


22310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have we m...I DISAGREE!

Digging: King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard - K.G.

GhandhiLion
February 5th 2020


9584 Comments


Album Rating: 7.0

"Well, the last one was dedicated to Kenny G"
Really? I was making a joke about his appearance on the cover. Well that's funny.

SandwichBubble
February 5th 2020


12359 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Now fellas, before you hit that neg keep in mind:

• take a deep breath

• read the review

• notice all the spelling errors and lack of actual content

• THEN neg

Do it for me.



"Really?"

I'm joking, joking.

Damn my iron wit.

GhandhiLion
February 5th 2020


9584 Comments


Album Rating: 7.0

Oh.. now I'm disappointed.

SandwichBubble
February 5th 2020


12359 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

That quip had layers.

Matches the dude's looks, matches the name of the last album (sort of), matches the music (maybe not).

NorthernSkylark
February 5th 2020


10506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

have we met, not his best yet

Digging: Yukika - Soul Lady

SandwichBubble
February 5th 2020


12359 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

You bet, don't get upset.

Bought it on cassette.

AmericanFlagAsh
February 5th 2020


9946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2.5 seems so harsh, this is his best since Kaputt

GhandhiLion
February 5th 2020


9584 Comments


Album Rating: 7.0

That one is a 2.5 though

AmericanFlagAsh
February 5th 2020


9946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're entitled to your completely wrong opinion

tectactoe
February 5th 2020


3651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is fine, nothing particularly special or memorable about it imo, except for "Crimson Tide."

Digging: Spiritualized - Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space

DoofDoof
February 5th 2020


8513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'Cue Synthasizer' is very very Bejar baby, the most droll and knowing thing on the album, to not embrace it is to not be a card carrying Bejar lover



Review void

GhandhiLion
February 5th 2020


9584 Comments


Album Rating: 7.0

Review void [2]

Classic Dischord band

DoofDoof
February 5th 2020


8513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

On the Ghandi rating scale for albums released since 2010 a 2.5 equates to a 7/5 for most regular users

GhandhiLion
February 5th 2020


9584 Comments


Album Rating: 7.0

I think you'll find they equate to a 3.0 or 3.5/5 actually.

anatelier
February 5th 2020


3674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Blocked and reported



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy