Bohren und der Club of Gore
Patchouli Blue


4.5
superb

Review

by Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (99 Reviews)
February 5th, 2020 | 107 replies


Release Date: 01/10/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The last one, I swear.

I've spoke to her ghost almost every day since she vanished. Dim, flickering city lights guiding my steps through the cold mist as my eyes succumb to the weight of the night. So many things I wanted to tell her, yet they don't matter anymore. Her passing left a dark, pulsating void of anger and deception. I notice it as soon as I enter the room and the needle goes down on Patchouli Blue. The sax breathes and whispers, it almost sounds like her voice, desecrating mementos better left untouched at the bottom of a glass. Her perfume lingers in the air, like vibraphone notes tipping over the smoke rings. Her spectral touch feels like those brushes on the rugged snare. Dark jazz, they call this, certainly the bastard unwanted son of distant musical practices like doom and jazz, creeping up the walls now like a long, miserable shadow behind me.

The room is getting smaller every minute, suffocating whatever was left of my good will to end the eve in peace. So I grab my coat, one-shot the sad remains of a lukewarm whisky and head out again in the arms of sorrow. It's past midnight, but I know Kasumi's den will still be welcoming my woes and curses. I don't belong to this world anymore. My head is filled with music that screams Angelo Badalamenti. The remains of a weeping sax melody that crawls with me through the streets, at times answered by some dripping piano, other times embraced by a long menacing organ, and perennially carried by the solemn plucking of a contrabass and the faint strokes of cymbals and drumheads at writhing speed. Even if the titles are extraneous to me, I remember them somehow, written on the back of the record with big, white letters. "Vergessen & Vorbei" had a nice synth going on, if I remember correctly. "Glaub mir kein Wort" was especially gloomy, while "Sollen es doch Alle wissen" felt more like a Blue Note ballad played by the resident trio. “All in all, Patchouli Blue it’s a nice record, huh?” I tell her ghost, “kinda fits the goddamn mood.”

A few more steps and I'll be leaning on the bar, focused on my unhinged quest of becoming the phantom of all things gone wrong in life. I know Ipecac has a soft spot for wretches like myself but also for spectral jazz like the one Bohren & Der Club of Gore have been refining since like... forever, so no surprise they released their three last records... cheers to that! Fortunately, not many customers left at this time in Kasumi's. There's an old lady whose make-up seem to have taken a revenge on her, a somber little man who didn't have time to hang his coat and went straight to business, his bottle ready to be replaced. I indulge myself in brew at the usual pace until my words are not what I want them to be. I open my wallet to Kasumi, I know I can trust her fair judgement and stagger towards the door. I'm going home. Not before long, the sullen notes of "Sag Mir, Wie Lang" return to my mind as rain pours down. I lean on a wall for a second, not eager to give in. But I break down, cuddle up and burst, crying like a five-year old lost in the dead of night. If I could only make the world understand, how much I miss her... I wipe away the mush of tears and mucus mess that stream down my face and power through my pitiful state. At home, I hug the toilet like my life depends on it, spewing out the last meal of my ancestors til’ I’m moderately satisfied. Once I reach my bed, I stretch my arm and the needle goes down again. One last Patchouli Blue for me, for the road.



Recent reviews by this author
Vjuga AeternumAncient Mastery Chapter One...
Frozen Soul Crypt Of IceMechina Siege
Emma Ruth Rundle and Thou May Our Chambers Be FullEnslaved Utgard
user ratings (107)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


22942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

More like a stream of consciousness thing as I heard the album than a review. There's some fiction in this, and also some reality.



Here's the video for "Tief gesunken": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLWATH36bYA



Full stream (tx ddassault!): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wd_HVpX5yME&list=OLAK5uy_l6I-DNuwEMPDGyLz8p1Z1v213tNiI_2hY



Anyway, get this on wax cause it sounds A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.

Digging: Typhoon (USA-OR) - Sympathetic Magic

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2020


31711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tief gesunken indeed, my dude. Really intense, powerful read; not really the place for remarks on style, but I love you reached for (bits which I assumed were) slight fictional embellishments. Felt like it came from a really clear, cogent place. Big pos.



I remember forgetting to check Sunset Mission a while ago - think asdfp rec'd something from it in SOTD. The track you linked is great, so imma jump on this

Digging: Fushitsusha - Live I

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2020


31711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like (?) that this is in many ways the yin to your First Body review's yang. Weird to think they're just over a year apart...

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


22942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tx dude, yeah I tried smth similar, you got good memory! ;)

notagenius
February 5th 2020


368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I listened to it.

review with a visual!

Gyromania
February 5th 2020


31417 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Very cringey review

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


22942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Gyro for your unwavering support.

Gyromania
February 5th 2020


31417 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Lol you know I like you Dewi, I'm just not a fan of this style at all. Sounds very overdramatic and contrived to me 99.9% of the time

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


22942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know, brah. No worries, just trying out different things here and there, you know, for the sake of variation. Nothing wrong about not liking it.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2020


31711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album. The t/t and Deine Kusine are really doing it for me, gonna have to check their older stuff. I find it strange looking at the track lengths now, having listened twice without paying them any mind - this flows so smoothly that I didn't expect as much disparity

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


22942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is, works wonders as a background jam, and really, incredible production. Most impressive when the people credited as engineers are themselves.

NightOnDrunkMountain
February 5th 2020


137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This band has so many great albums!

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


15460 Comments


Nice write-up, you felt the album deeply. The last sentence is pretty strong.

Judging by what I've read, when I feel like diving into deep sorrow I know exactly what I should listen to.

Digging: Asphyx - Necroceros

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


22942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just realized I wrote nail instead of needle lol



Tx Notrap, last sentence has a double meaning I think, what you thought is probably different from what I meant ;)

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


15460 Comments


Hahah I thought nail was a metaphor for needle

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


22942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah just my brain drifting as usual lol

ddassault
February 5th 2020


5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the album as streamed by the band on youtube!



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wd_HVpX5yME&list=OLAK5uy_l6I-DNuwEMPDGyLz8p1Z1v213tNiI_2hY

Pho3nix
February 5th 2020


1017 Comments


I should probably give this a spin, saw 'em live almost a decade ago and it reminds me of my younger, hazier days.

mofongotron
February 5th 2020


43 Comments


Looking forward to checking this out. It should go well with all the rain we've been getting.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2020


22942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks ddassault! I was looking for a stream to share.



And I can confirm it goes really well with rain.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy