Lorna Shore
Immortal


4.0
excellent

Review

by Fernando Alves STAFF
February 2nd, 2020 | 70 replies


Release Date: 01/31/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An ambitious orphan

My relationship with deathcore has always been somewhat volatile, swinging between genuine interest and deep indifference. If bands such as Thy Art is Murder, Wretched or The Red Chord were able to catch my attention at the beginning of the past decade, I also witnessed a panoply of uninteresting bands that managed to gain strong notoriety within the deathcore scene, without adding anything new to the formula. Therefore, there are a significant number of players within the genre that, in my opinion, are already the result of a worn aesthetic, becoming a set of familiar and unimaginative echoes that can only capture the interest of less demanding listeners. Well, Lorna Shore's Immortal, despite not presenting anything truly innovative, has the merit of exploring new textures, thus catapulting the band to new horizons. This greater freshness results from the symbiosis of several styles that manage to shape a creature that successfully escapes the stagnant canons of the genre.

Before delving further into the symbiosis present in Immortal, I cannot fail to point out the drama that preceded the album's release on January 31st, which led to the dismissal of vocalist CJ McCreery, who was involved in some allegations of sexual and emotional abuse. How does an album manage to be properly reproduced and promoted live, when one of its key pieces is missing from the stage? Leaving aside the accusations made against CJ, which belong exclusively to the courts, his contribution to Immortal's end result is undeniable. His powerful performance delivers the suitable hatred to this hybrid colossus, managing to adjust perfectly to its various nuances.

We are, therefore, facing a singular work, with a life of its own, which will probably never be reproduced in its fullness.

Which brings me back to the style symbiosis I mentioned earlier. Immortal compiles in its DNA several approaches, which orbit the same structuring deathcore axis. All tracks blend different aesthetics ranging from more conventional deathcore to other peripheral signatures, such as technical death metal, brutal / slam or black metal. But the most contrasting element, which sets Immortal apart from its predecessors, is the symphonic component, present in songs such as the title track, 'This Is Hell', 'Hollow Sentence' or 'Warpath of Disease'. These new colors give the band's palette greater chromatic diversity, enriching the band's signature. The melodic choruses, that proliferate everywhere, should also be mentioned, in which I would highlight 'Immortal', whose chorus would fit perfectly into an Insomnium song, and 'Darkest Spawn' which is a personal favourite. 'Death Portrait' is another track that reflects the hybrid spirit of the album, combining blackened signatures with brutal / slam and folk melodies.

It goes without saying that technically all musicians are up to the task. The rhythm section is solid, even if I'd prefer a less triggered drums, and the guitar work is top notch, especially the solos, which are clearly above average. As expected by my initial comments, CJ's vocals are excellent, showing great dynamics, always with a massive delivery. Production value is what one would expect within the genre, even if I would prefer a less compressed mastering.

Born out of a drama, Immortal is an ambitious orphan which seeks its place in the world. It will certainly not be the most magnificent or innovative creature to leave the incubator this year, but it has the merit of taking risks, without repeating the past.



Recent reviews by this author
Archspire Bleed the FutureCradle of Filth Existence Is Futile
Worm ForevergladeVeilburner Lurkers in the Capsule of Skull
Carcass Torn ArteriesReplicant Malignant Reality
user ratings (177)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2020


16825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decimal rating: 3.8

As you'd expect from a deathcore album, not everyone will enjoy it.

Immortal is available on Spotify

Digging: Archspire - Bleed the Future

butt.
February 2nd 2020


9099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed with the rating, this is like a 3.7 or 3.8

Great production and performances, but gets a bit repetitive at times

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2020


16825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it's around 3.7/3.8, but I'm always a glass half full kind of guy

YuriZakhaev
February 2nd 2020


728 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Tbh half of these solos sound exactly like the ones off of Flesh Coffin, but killer album for sure. Wish they'd have a slightly better production job on this considering the drums drown everything else out.

mrdogthrow
February 2nd 2020


1855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Tbh half of these solos sound exactly like the ones off of Flesh Coffin"

[2]

I'm forever going to miss the trademark Lorna sound with Tom, but this album feels very grand in it's production and is helleva fun listen

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2020


16825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Flesh Coffin has a more conventional approach, but it's also good jam. Infernum rules.

Get Low
February 3rd 2020


11158 Comments


Band has improved with each album.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2020


15264 Comments


" But the most contrasting element, which sets Immortal apart from its predecessors, is the symphonic component, present in songs such as the title track, 'This Is Hell', 'Hollow Sentence' or 'Warpath of Disease'. These new colors give the band's palette greater chromatic diversity, enriching the band's signature. "

Great couple of lines. Pos'd - - although I'd be making a point to watch your comma abuse. There's a few paragraphs that are really hampered by them.

bloodshy
February 3rd 2020


2750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Each song is what I would expect to be the worst song on a great album. Lorna sound so good but just never deliver a song that intrigues me.

Digging: Spiritbox - Eternal Blue

bloodshy
February 3rd 2020


2750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"If bands such as Thy Art is Murder, Wretched or The Red Chord were able to caught my attention at the beginning of the past decade, I also witnessed a panoply of uninteresting bands that managed to gain strong notoriety within the deathcore scene, without adding anything new to the formula."



I think "if" is meant to be "while" and "caught" is meant to be "catch" ?

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2020


15264 Comments


That one works both ways. Dependant on the tone - which is somewhat conversational. It allows for the possibility for either of those situations. "While" states it less loosely in a more definitive sense.

Caught should be catch yes.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2020


16825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, if Master Nocte says so, I have an obligation to correct.



"although I'd be making a point to watch your comma abuse. There's a few paragraphs that are really hampered by them."

It's an habit that comes from my native language. Be patient and trust me, I'll get there. By the time I reach the hundredth review, I'll be a coma master.

RogueNine
February 3rd 2020


4827 Comments


I see this band and can only think of that meme with cats.

mrdogthrow
February 3rd 2020


1855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ahahha that's how I found these guys too

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2020


16825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have to check that cat meme

DDDeftoneDDD
February 3rd 2020


18957 Comments


hell yeah...congrats for another Rev!

Digging: She Said Destroy - Succession

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2020


16825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks D mate ;)



I'd tell you to check this out, but it's probably not your cup of tea, namely the melodic choruses and symphonic moments.

DDDeftoneDDD
February 3rd 2020


18957 Comments


I'm walking on the thread with no pressure ;)

SteakByrnes
February 3rd 2020


25132 Comments


Nice review, I gotta check this, kinda expected them to not release this because of the whole CJ thing

Digging: Every Time I Die - Radical

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2020


16825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man.

The guys still thought about releasing the album with another vocalist, but they didn't want to delay the process anymore. They also felt there was no point in revising it with new vocals.

I understand the band. This is the creature that was recorded, for better or for worse, so it's the album that people should listen to.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy