Made of Water
Hydrosphere


3.0
good

Review

by Rock, Rot & Rule USER (1 Reviews)
January 29th, 2020 | 25 replies


Release Date: 01/17/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "If you like instrumental music featuring violin, vibraphone, guitar, bass and some crazy drumming you will enjoy this record!"

Made of Water is the new musical project from composer and multi-instrumentalist Matt Stober. Hydrosphere is the result of his collaboration with Gregg Bendian (percussionist, composer), and Meghan Todt (violinist, educator).

Stober had already demonstrated his love for ethereal music with the post-rock project In​-​Dreamview. The songs had character but it was rarely as impressionistic as what is found here. Hydrosphere is dedicated to water and the music is fairly successful at matching the theme of its title.

The opening song "Abyssal" (containing the most gorgeous melody), matches the mysterious character of the uncharted seafloor. The uncanny trek through a land enshrouded in mist is suggested "In Mists", as well as the slow flow of water in dark passages under the earth -"Aquifer".

"Ice Shelf" is perhaps the most varied song on the album. Metallic noises and otherworldly jazz guitar ( With reverb invoking Vini Reilly and Allan Holdsworth ) initiate the song, until it transitions into a disorienting conversation between percussion and guitar. The violin makes a brief return in the final minutes, before it is disrupted by a burst of Messiaen-like rhythms. It ends with chimes and ambient noises.

Hydrosphere should appeal to anyone who is a fan of Jazz, chamber music or post-rock.


user ratings (4)
2.9
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
GhandhiLion
January 29th 2020


10459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

First review. I wanted the ability to see edits. Roast me.



https://madeofwater.bandcamp.com/album/hydrosphere

Digging: Joe Harriott & Amancio D'Silva Quartet - Hum Dono

budgie
January 29th 2020


23923 Comments


11/10 probably the best piece of literature i've ever set my birdie gaze upon i am transcended ty god.

GhandhiLion
January 29th 2020


10459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That was.. a lot better than I expected. Disappointing.

brainmelter
January 29th 2020


7404 Comments


the edits have been bestowed upon you. the formatting is weird and it looks like a soundoff but I'm sure you know that pos'd anyway

Digging: Have a Nice Life - Deathconsciousness

GhandhiLion
January 29th 2020


10459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for pos. I know it's weird yeah.

Divaman
January 29th 2020


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You've sold me. I'll give it a whirl.

Digging: Teenage Wrist - Earth Is A Black Hole

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2020


23522 Comments


Not bad for a first dude. About formatting, and this is all personal preference, I'd avoid bold. I write names of songs between "" and album name on italics (again, personal preference!)

As a general feedback, I would try to avoid parenthesis and try to integrate what you want to say in that paragraph using punctuation, etc.

And that's all from me! This sounds interesting, will give it a listen too!

Digging: In Tormentata Quiete - Krononota

GhandhiLion
January 30th 2020


10459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the advice. I'm glad People are checking this out.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2020


33161 Comments


"First review. I wanted the ability to see edits"

Lmao dude hard pos, never change

"The violin makes a brief return in the final minutes, before it is disrupted by a burst of Messiaen-like rhythms"

Ooo

Checking now, first track is good stuff

Digging: Go!Go!7188 - Tategami

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2020


33161 Comments


As a general feedback, I would try to avoid parenthesis and try to integrate what you want to say in that paragraph using punctuation, etc. [2]
Parentheses are the best for wanky asides that can't go anywhere else, or for citing specifics tracks/albums/whatever as examples against a more generalising list, but otherwise they generally suck imo

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2020


33161 Comments


In Mists is like something from Book of Horizons-era Secret Chiefs 3 mmm yay

GhandhiLion
January 30th 2020


10459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Maybe you are on to something. The Secret Chiefs 3 reference Messiaen several times on that album too. I suspect it's Zorn's influence that made Messiaen so popular in that scene. (Toby Driver etc)



https://youtu.be/-Ldtr9uOjXI?list=PL1MlPaiB3Q-t2usJ8PnhHmObhWd5_nXVU [first 50 seconds]

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2020


6906 Comments


wow a Ghandhi review

Digging: Booba - ULTRA

GhandhiLion
February 1st 2020


10459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I plan on writing another one this year. So remember to like and subscribe.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2020


6906 Comments


will do

Divaman
February 10th 2020


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like the first two songs, but the last three not so much.

GhandhiLion
February 13th 2020


10459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok! I'm glad I intrigued someone enough to listen to it.



parksungjoon
March 6th 2020


27731 Comments


you suck and noob

Digging: The Sisters of Mercy - Temple of Love / Heartland

parksungjoon
March 10th 2020


27731 Comments


:/ mm this reviewer is look very nerd

GhandhiLion
March 10th 2020


10459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

mm? no this is mow, you nerd



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy