Dragged Into Sunlight
Terminal Aggressor II


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (344 Reviews)
January 22nd, 2020 | 64 replies


Release Date: 01/10/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Stepping into a grim, lumbering waltz…

There are some pieces of music just ripe for hyperbole and Dragged Into Sunlight’s Terminal Aggressor II is but one fine example. An introduction of feedback and despair rings a world of static into a tormenting atmosphere. Terminal Aggressor II is not unlike smoke; slowly unfurling, rising, spreading into a mass with the potential to block light or snuff life. But when does the slow build of hyperbole fail to stay exactly that? For Dragged Into Sunlight’s 2020 EP is a molten display of genre fusing sludge metal that lives up to the torment of body, soul and mind that reaches all manners of devastating climax within its second half. Despite the outward presentation of misanthropic heaviness, this U.K. based four piece highlight just how music can build, with patience into something as beautiful as it is compositionally dissonant.

Despite the slow build of Terminal Aggressor II’s entity, its unabashed design is meticulous; careful and fully transferable to its listener. It’s this bold musicianship that launches this overwhelming atmosphere into a whirlwind of patient, yet lumbering riffs. The smoke on the fire builds slowly, but is formless in primitive beginnings. But it’s the patience rewarded in the EP’s latter half which makes the abrasive compositions stand above the noise, touched by spoken word and devastating scream.

Somehow, Dragged Into Sunlight brings all this together in a single-tracked effort, neglecting a need to rush the listener into an inescapable wall of sound. There's an ebb and flow as Terminal Aggressor II runs its course, climaxing in a truly rewarding fashion. Dragged Into Sunlight’s pain can be felt in volumes, warped by smelting feedback and inadequate riff descriptors.



Recent reviews by this author
Steve Von Till No Wilderness Deep EnoughDefeated Sanity The Sanguinary Impetus
Gaerea LimboPyrrhon Abscess Time
Lamb of God Lamb of GodAversions Crown Hell Will Come For Us All
user ratings (81)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


12853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wanted a shorter review style for what could be an easy early contender for EP of the year. Good thing it's still way too early in the year to be throwing definite terms like that around.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


14898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice writing Nocte the Bogeyman.

I've been jam this since yesterday, and I'm enjoying it a lot. Even the super-long introduction of pain makes more sense now.



Just to piss you off, this reads like a 4 ;)

Digging: Napalm Death - Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


12853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're a 4.

Coast
January 22nd 2020


1239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It sucked they didn’t play Melbourne, they even did Hobart.

Digging: Faceless Burial - Speciation

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


12853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well that's about as helpful as a shark biscuit.

Coast
January 22nd 2020


1239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Same score and a comment is my tacit approval

DDDeftoneDDD
January 22nd 2020


13053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"Just to piss you off, this reads like a 4 ;)"



Yess! the 4 is under evaluation! Glad you dig this Notrap. Be sure to check the rest of the discog, but mainly Hatred for Mankind m/m/



Super cool and short rev has it is required.

Digging: Exotic Animal Petting Zoo - Tree of Tongues

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


14898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

D mate, I heard Hatred for Mankind last night and I just wanted to go out and murder someone. These guys have a sick vibe.

If I ever catch my kids listening to these guys, they're grounded for a couple years.





DDDeftoneDDD
January 22nd 2020


13053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ahahahaha for real

m/m/m/ If you checked both these releases my week is done!



TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


14898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Still need to check those 324353452 Portuguese black metal bands you rec'd ;)

DDDeftoneDDD
January 22nd 2020


13053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ahaha Nocte don't dig them though...maybe he don't like us Portuguese...or is it just people in general?

but they're only 3 LMAO

Garea, The Ominous Circle and Tod Huetet Uebel...all with awesome debut LP's...fave is the Ominous Circle.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


27000 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i didn't really care for this

Digging: Baphomet (NY) - The Dead Shall Inherit

DDDeftoneDDD
January 22nd 2020


13053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it's not mandatory X)

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


27000 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

whew, i thought i was gonna get thrown out of sput

Relinquished
January 22nd 2020


45317 Comments


you can choose the door or the catapult, but you're not getting thrown

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


27000 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

clearly catapult

DDDeftoneDDD
January 22nd 2020


13053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I like when this song catapults

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


12853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Nocte don't dig them though...maybe he don't like us Portuguese"



I don't discriminate. Although I'm only on the record about one of those bands - more specifically just one of that band's releases.

DDDeftoneDDD
January 22nd 2020


13053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm glad you defended yourself, but that doesn t give you right to think Appalling Ascension is a 2.5. The album is pretty bleak awesome.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2020


12853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely not buying into the hype.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy