Postcards
The Good Soldier


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (91 Reviews)
January 13th, 2020 | 28 replies


Release Date: 01/03/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dreams don't die under the red sky.

I can’t think of a city brimming with as much love and life as Beirut. When chaos started to spill over the Lebanese frontier during the Syrian war, it was impossible for its citizens to ignore that the world around them was in flames. Over a million refugees crossed the border into Lebanon escaping a war that is still ongoing for almost a decade. It was in this setting where Postcards came to life.

Music has always served as a way to escape reality, specially when it’s painted with bloodshed, injustice and human drama. For Postcards, making music was a way to cope with the surrounding maelstrom, but also a way to raise awareness about a formidable shoegaze and dream pop scene happening in Beirut, spearheaded by them. The Good Soldier is their second release, recorded in Beirut’s Tunefork Studios with Fadi Tabbal on the controls and published by German label T3 records. It is a vast improvement on their first album, I’ll be here in the morning, partly due to a more aggressive approach in songs like the fantastic opener, “Dead end”, but also because they have explored further the depths of dream pop and slow core, striking gold in tracks like “Last resort”, more akin to the direction of their debut.

At first, The Good Soldier seems a bit front loaded. The band shows how effortlessly they can tame a wild track like “Dead End” and at the same time rock out a bedroom pop wonder like “Spiderwebs” in the first ten minutes of the album. A song like the second track, “Fossilized”, show the best they have in them, setting the bar really high for the rest of the album to follow. In comparison with the band’s debut, I personally feel that their newfound strength relies on the harsher tracks that fall on shoegaze territory. Julia Sabra’s voice has a distinctive, ghostly charm that compliments the distortion wall they create perfectly in a track like “Lights out”, one of the many peaks of The Good Soldier, whereas in a song like “Freedriving”, an affair closer to twee pop, the band’s tension deflates and falls somewhat short of lightning. It’s almost an isolated case though because Postcards know how to handle slow droning pop in songs like “Last resort” or the closing “Little lies”, while still weaving an electrifying web of sounds around them to take hold of the listener.

For a band active since 2012, whose first record came out just a couple of years ago, The Good Soldier is an outstanding achievement, not only because Postcards have been able to create a superior album in such a short time after their debut, showing they ride on unstoppable momentum, but also because they have been able to do so pushing away the horrors of the brutal reality they have lived on a daily basis. 2020 is a promising year for Postcards, thanks to a brand new album and a European tour ahead of them to support it, so catch them live if you have the chance!



Recent reviews by this author
Kairon IRSE! PolysomnHallas Conundrum
Two People Second BodyDream Wife So When You Gonna...
Rorschach Remain SedateBo Ningen Sudden Fictions
user ratings (36)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2020


21265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't hit me as much on first listens, but damn this thing is a grower.



Official video for Fossilized: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkoEUpCXuPA



Couldn't find a bandcamp link but it's available for streaming on your usual platforms through their official website.



Show them love, Sput

Digging: Anna von Hausswolff - All Thoughts Fly

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2020


12878 Comments


Good work Dewi, not sure if this would be my thing - I think the last dream pop I fell for was Anna Murphy based.

Are you going to cover a selective genre (to review) this year bro?

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2020


21265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Rob! And nah, not really man. I like to diversify otherwise I get stagnant pretty quickly and all my revs read more or less the same.

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2020


3417 Comments


Ooo. Very nice work, Dewi. Gonna check this one out.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2020


21265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Blush, hope you dig! First track is bliss. Love it.

butt.
January 13th 2020


7889 Comments


sounds interesting, gotta remember to check this

Digging: Napalm Death - Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism

mofongotron
January 13th 2020


40 Comments


The first moments of Fossils have me SUPER curious, since I've been wanting to listen to more newer dream pop. A friend turned me on to Hatchie, and they were just OK. Slow Crush on the other hand, rules. Does anyone have any other recommendations they'd be willing to share?

Faraudo
January 13th 2020


3736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Beautiful album.

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2020


21265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@mofongotron About shoegaze released recently I'd check DIIV and The Stargazer Lilies. For dream pop, The Day, Tallies, Mellow Gang were released last year. Fazerdaze and Hazel English are also sure picks.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2020


21265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Reminder for butt to check this.

mofongotron
January 14th 2020


40 Comments


@Dewinged thanks so much! Fazerdaze immediately resonated with me. I'll be sure to check all of these out though!

anatelier
January 14th 2020


3590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Opening two tracks and the closer are formidable - the rest is good but doesn't quite match up

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2020


21265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's how I felt about it too, until some middle tracks started to click, specially Lights Out. But yeah, the first, I would say 3 tracks, and the closer are really, really good.

LunaticSoul
January 15th 2020


1453 Comments


It's gud and not helping my Beirut withdrawal syndrome after having spent holidays there

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2020


28842 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Going to check in a sec, will read this after

Digging: Deftones - Saturday Night Wrist

SteakByrnes
January 15th 2020


20811 Comments


Good review brother, I've always wanted to get more into dream pop so I'm gonna check this

Digging: Vientre - Semillas

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2020


28842 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This reminds me a lot of Say Sue Me, in a mostly good way - but it also seems a little indistinct and homogenous in the same way as their stuff. A nice listen, but it felt a lot longer than 37 mins. Albums like this tend to be solid growers, so we'll have to see...

Lovely review as per

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2020


28842 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I like to diversify otherwise I get stagnant pretty quickly and all my revs read more or less the same."

The truth in this is literally eating me alive rn lol



Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2020


21265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers, Byrnes, try the first 2 tracks at least, they are amazing.



@Lunatic I wanna read about those holidays!



And Johnny, agree about that Say Sue Me comparison, the slow tracks took a while to settle in, but they have grown in me rather quickly too.





JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2020


28842 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Gonna try listening to these one at a time - that closer is lovely



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy