Empty
Hope and The Loss of It


4.0
excellent

Review

by NorwichScene USER (13 Reviews)
November 21st, 2019 | 5 replies


Release Date: 09/06/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Erase UnderOath, there’s a new kid in town!

Empty are a relatively unknown post-hardcore band from South Carolina. Their debut album Hope & the Loss of It was released in September 2019 through Solid State Records, who have a decent roster of Azusa, Norma Jean, Oh, Sleeper to name a few.

This is a seriously fun album from start to finish with memorable choruses, impressive vocals and enjoyable riffs throughout. The album displays many genres including post-hardcore, metalcore, rock and even pop influences throughout.

Gary Spears is a beast of a vocalist, performing both clean and harsh vocal duties. Due to the contrasting styles you’ll likely be amazed it’s not two different vocalists. Not many people could pull off such a feat, sounding similar to both Spencer Chamberlain and Aaron Gillespie from UnderOath. Shane Told of Silverstein comes to mind of having such a talent, albeit years more experience.

From the opening of the title track, it all kicks off within 30 seconds. Less than a minute passes before the first chorus “My life passes through my hands, after years of ambitions and dreams”. A fun and energetic start to Empty’s debut album.

After the heavy first two tracks, Trech showcases the bands talent in a more dark, slower, atmospheric vibe until half way through when the harsh vocals bring back their post-hardcore sound.

I maybe giving this album high praise, however it’s not without its faults. The final track is slightly too long imo and doesn’t really go anywhere, also the somewhat emo lyrics within Prototype for Breathing of “I feel your breath against my skinny legs” and “I cannot see the end” are somewhat immature. For such a new relatively young band I can excuse there exuberance.

Empty could be compared to bands such as UnderOath (Prototype for Breathing, From a Chemists Point of View), Beartooth (Do not let me sink, Underneath the wreckage) and Incubus (similar singing techniques to Brandon Boyd are showcased on Trench, Slow Death by Fluorescent Lighting and the slowest song on the album Life & Limb).

Hope & the Loss of it can be considered as a resounding success. I’m looking forward to seeing how this exciting prospect progresses in the future given this is their debut record.



Recent reviews by this author
The Dangerous Summer The Dangerous SummerBlack Peaks Statues
Ducking Punches Fizzy BrainLonely the Brave The Day's War
Flood of Red ThrowSilverstein This Is How the Wind Shifts
user ratings (37)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
NorwichScene
November 21st 2019


3102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Wrote this in my lunch break. Hope it’s not too bad, band needs attention

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2019


16474 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't think this was all that but from a chemist's point of view gets my blood pumpin.

Digging: Peace'd Out - Feelings Blade

NorwichScene
November 23rd 2019


3102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yes, great song. That and prototype in the middle really stand out

KenboSlice
January 23rd 2020


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These dudes are so fucking good

NorwichScene
January 24th 2020


3102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

One of the best albums from last year imo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy