Abigail Williams
Walk Beyond The Dark


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheNotrap USER (39 Reviews)
November 17th, 2019 | 218 replies


Release Date: 11/15/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The creature of a thousand faces

These past few weeks have been fertile when it comes to discovering new bands, first Schammasch and now Abigail Williams, one can say that I've been having a good time. As long as I keep hearing new things, I'll stay alive. One of the things I quickly realized when exploring the band's discography is that they have never released the same album twice. Every step forward has always revealed a willingness to change, a yearning for new approaches. From the early blackened melodic metalcore to symphonic black metal, shoegaze or psychedelia, Abigail Williams is a creature of a thousand faces, either musically or in relation to line-up, which has had more facelifts than Michael Jackson.

Something immediately noticeable as we start listening to the opener is the clean, polished production that contrasts with the previous album. It's the first indicator of the band's broader, less hermetic approach. 'I Will Depart' perfectly mirrors this aesthetic orientation, through its tasty Teutonic-esque riffs and catchy chorus, which is among the album's highlights. However, this broader approach has the merit of diversity. Walk Beyond the Dark flows organically without repeating itself throughout the journey, as the band uses different colors within and between songs, thus creating a narrative of contrasts. Vibrant songs such as 'Ever So Bold' or 'Into the Sleep' contrast with melancholy moments like the folksy beginnings of 'Black Waves' or 'Born of Nothing'. The album lives from these different tones, and it is from them that it builds its musical narrative. 'Sun and Moon' is a good example of a song that adequately explores different tempos and moods. Feelings such as melancholy and sadness sprout throughout the album, but always complemented by an epic and glorious energy, such as the final sequences of 'Black Waves' or 'The Final Failure', which ends up with an interesting crescendo. It's this balance and the ability to explore diverse textures, within a coherent global aesthetic, that ensure the artistic success of Walk Beyond the Dark.

At the end of the decade, Abigail Williams chose a broader and more accessible road, a path whose main virtue is how it manages to balance its own diversity. Walk Beyond the Dark is thus a triumphant artistic manifestation, a creature of a thousand faces that seduces us into an inner walk, from which we will never return.



Recent reviews by this author
Lord Mantis Universal Death ChurchSchammasch Hearts of No Light
Nile Vile Nilotic RitesHour of Penance Misotheism
Exhumed HorrorTeitanblood The Baneful Choir
user ratings (163)
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
November 17th 2019


12488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A few brief thoughts on Walk Beyond the Dark. I know the band is far from consensual around here, but the album is pretty good.

Full stream:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=lWAW5vTVbDs&t=10s

Digging: Unfathomable Ruination - Enraged & Unbound

Pikazilla
November 17th 2019


6971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Michael Jackson comparison (especially considering that he was black at some point) made me laugh, well done.



Pos'd

TheNotrap
November 17th 2019


12488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Pika ;)

combustion07
November 17th 2019


6664 Comments


I remember digging their debut back in school. Saw them live years ago and they bored me but in their defense half of the band didn't show and they still played. Will check this out. Like the title and cover. Good review

zaruyache
November 18th 2019


21661 Comments


WOOP

Digging: Blue Noise - Everyone Goes Away Eventually

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2019


10920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"which has had more facelifts than Michael Jackson."



Lol, snap.

oltnabrick
November 18th 2019


38297 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

td of ok



pathetic album

Digging: ?????? ????? - ???? ??????????

Essence
November 18th 2019


6325 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this has blown me away, really really loving it

EnyaFangirl
November 18th 2019


1787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

into the sleep RULES



perfect cold weather music :]

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2019


10920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really digging the folksie undertones that guide this album

R4zor3dge
November 18th 2019


720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The cover art is pretty cool.

I guess it helps that it was done by the same guy who did Mirror Reaper and Cairn.

Digging: Abigail Williams - Walk Beyond The Dark

Spag
November 18th 2019


2567 Comments


I think I'll give this a shot

Digging: Thorns of the Carrion - The Scarlet Tapestry

TheNotrap
November 18th 2019


12488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Really digging the folksie undertones that guide this album"

They're crucial to the album's balance, and deliver that extra melancholy touch

DarkNoctus
November 18th 2019


10918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

for real this album is sick



'sun and moon' and 'black waves' for fucking DAYS



i love how brave they were to stream the weakest tracks on the record and leave the best ones for the whole record

DDDeftoneDDD
November 18th 2019


8996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Cover is too beautiful to pass this!

Noctus/Nocte...we are still waiting for an Esoteric rev...

Digging: Forest of Tygers - I Will Die of Violence

DoofDoof
November 18th 2019


6678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Interesting fact: ten women named Abigail Williams have been forced to change their name by deed poll because they don't want to be associated with this band

Digging: Kev Hopper - Corbyn Sceptic Club

DarkNoctus
November 18th 2019


10918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i'm considering reviewing this too. i feel this is the culmination of this band's sound and takes elements from every release they've ever done (except the deathcore stuff).



as for esoteric... maybe. i formally announced a review retirement so writing two reviews would be a bit much haha.

TheNotrap
November 18th 2019


12488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Cover is too beautiful to pass this!"

A strong contender for the best artwork of 2019

DDDeftoneDDD
November 18th 2019


8996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"as for esoteric... maybe. i formally announced a review retirement so writing two reviews would be a bit much haha." okaaaay...but that one is delaying quite a bit...its such a strong contender for the genre's AOTY...its even better than Un's from last year.

DarkNoctus
November 18th 2019


10918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

oh it's absolutely album of the year, no question. sadly when i review anything i just get neg'd to hell so i stopped bothering.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy