Nile
Vile Nilotic Rites


3.5
great

Review

by Fernando Alves CONTRIBUTOR (62 Reviews)
November 7th, 2019 | 182 replies


Release Date: 11/01/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A new chemistry

Nile is arguably one of the strongest and most distinctive death metal brands of the past two decades, their concept, style and worship of ancient Egyptian and Middle Eastern culture, catapulted the band into a niche of their own. Nile's aesthetics, combining personalized technique and aggressiveness with mystical atmospheres and Middle Eastern folklore, is one of the original products that emerged from the extreme metal scene in the new millennium, therefore worthy of my respect and admiration for some years now, and even suspecting the band is unlikely to release another truly relevant work after Those Whom the Gods Detest, it’s always with curiosity and some excitement that I welcome a new chapter from these American Egyptologists.

One of the main points of interest in Nile's ninth album would be how the band would react to Dallas Toler-Wade's departure, a permanent member since Black Seeds of Vengeance and co-responsible for the band's distinctive vocals, namely the most expressive and dynamic sections. Even though Karl Sanders was always the man behind the wheel, I never underestimated Dallas's contribution to the band's formula, considering it a crucial element of the equation, an asset that strengthened Karl's concept. His absence is immediately noticeable in the opener "Long Shadows of Dread", which despite retaining Nile's usual signature, doesn't offer the expressiveness or vocal dynamics the band has always accustomed us to. This greater unidimensionality is a constant in Vile Nilotic Rites, but by no means erases the good moments the album offers, such as the epic "Seven Horns of War", that includes a rather unexpected theatrical narrative, or the organic "Where is the Wrathful Sky", whose dynamics, contrasts and Middle Eastern signatures deserve to be emphasized. If "The Oxford Handbook of Savage Genocidal Warfare" or "Snake Pit Mating Frenzy" keep the frantic edge very much alive, it's the contagious title track that takes the lead in Vile Nilotic Rites, being its fluidity and self-restraint among the best moments the band has recorded this decade. As expected, the individual performances are spotless, from the irreverent and highly personalized rhythmic guitar, down to Kollias' always impressive drumming, everything's in sync and thought out down to the tiniest detail, and if it weren't for the uncharismatic vocals, Vile Nilotic Rites, could easily be a fully successful release.

The new post-Dallas Toler-Wade chapter retains Nile's original formula, while presenting some expected mutations. It's the beginning of a new era for a band trying to find a new chemistry with different characters, and even if this renewed script isn't always to my liking, I hope Karl & Co will keep purging nilotic rites for a very long time.




Recent reviews by this author
Convocation Ashes CoalesceHail Spirit Noir Eden In Reverse
Ulthar ProvidenceBehemoth A Forest
Sorcerer Lamenting of the Innocent...and Oceans Cosmic World Mother
user ratings (151)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2019


14448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some brief thoughts on the album. It's solid, but I miss Dallas.



"Long Shadows Of Dread"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXZvLIN75Fs



"Snake Pit Mating Frenzy"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jt29cBn9ppk

Digging: Lantern (FIN) - Dimensions

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2019


12703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hope Karl & Co will keep purging nilotic rites for a very long time.





I see what you did...



Concise review. You've definitely covered some of the non-gripe-gripes I have with this. The band's consistency isn't exactly a bad thing, but it creates a fair bit of monotony.

Anthracks
November 7th 2019


6536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

most similar album structurally is black seeds of vengeance imo. vocals are a step down but everything else is just as good as they've ever been. one of the most consistent bands in metal history

Digging: NEPTUNIAN MAXIMALISM - ons

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2019


14448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't mind if they play it safe, I'm used to it, but I feel the band has lost some expressiveness, despite the good tracks.



I didn't catch the bridge with Black Seeds, one of my favorite Nile albums, I'll revisit it in the next few days.

TheClansman95
November 7th 2019


2511 Comments


gotta check this asap

bloc
November 8th 2019


61840 Comments


Never got the appeal for these Imhotep jock riding clowns

Digging: Fluke - Puppy

Source
November 8th 2019


18313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

first 4 albums are nice

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2019


14448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like their entire discography, actually, however my favorites are Black Seeds, Darkened Shrines, Annihilation of the Wicked and Those Whom the Gods Detest.

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2019


4157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd suggest breaking up these sentences my man, there's a grand total of 10 full-stops here.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2019


14448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You mean more paragraphs, right?

The review is so short that I was afraid to break more sentences... what do you suggest?

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2019


12703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

He means more sentences, like he said basically.

Take your point, nail it and back it up with another sentence with examples. Similar to :

"Even though Karl Sanders was always the man behind the wheel, I never underestimated Dallas's contribution to the band's formula, considering it a crucial element of the equation, an asset that strengthened Karl's concept. His absence is immediately noticeable in the opener "Long Shadows of Dread", which despite retaining Nile's usual signature, doesn't offer the expressiveness or vocal dynamics the band has always accustomed us to."

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2019


12703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You could probably stop the sentence after "formula" (for example) and start a new sentence in relation to that statement directly afterwards rather than dropping commas all over the place (something I'm guilty of).

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2019


14448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Nocte mate.



I like commas, I think they give more fluidity, but since English isn't my first language, I strongly believe the text can be improved. I'll take another look.

Anthracks
November 8th 2019


6536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Never got the appeal for these Imhotep jock riding clowns




if you like riffs I dont see how you couldn't like this band. some of the sickest riffing out there on these albums

butt.
November 8th 2019


7564 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't believe insanity like this starts at a 3.9 meanwhile metalcore Norma Jean will hold a 4.3 for like a week



people here waaack

MotokoKusanagi
November 8th 2019


3112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the second half of Seven Horns of War is fucking epic. sounds like Lord of the Rings uruk hai theme

Source
November 8th 2019


18313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

didn't care much for this tbh

Azog
November 8th 2019


334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"the second half of Seven Horns of War is fucking epic. sounds like Lord of the Rings uruk hai theme"



Yeah, I love that part.



The production is atrocious as always. Still, this just may be their strongest release since Annihilation of the Wicked.

Source
November 8th 2019


18313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

vox are pretty weak but i guess the dude is like 55 now

Source
November 8th 2019


18313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sorry 56



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy