Yeule
Serotonin II


4.5
superb

Review

by Aberf USER (8 Reviews)
November 5th, 2019 | 112 replies


Release Date: 10/25/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Serotonin or Lack Thereof

Serotonin; a chemical compound associated with feelings of happiness and well-being. A fitting link for this album since it injects serotonin to its listener while somehow lacking the said substance in itself. The music is filled with soft synths in a dreamy ambient soundscape, comforting sounds that recur throughout the album. And yet, the theme lacks any traces of well-being in some of its tracks at times. The paradox is slowly realized as the album’s tone shifts from romantic to darker ones halfway through. Serotonin II is a showcase of the turmoil of its artist turned into a simulation within a musical form.

Yeule, a UK-based Singaporean artist, presents her music through low-key vocal deliveries. It’s an act of balancing not sounding monotonous with achieving a minimalist approach all while providing a close relationship to the music composition. With this, she incorporates a delicate intimacy within her sound. The production on this album serves only to elevate the impact of her vocal delivery. It’s a fusion of soft ambient synths over a dreamy soundscape with a sprinkle of electronic vocal alteration. Perhaps this record is lacking in intensity, or any flashiness of some sort. It is, however, focused on the intention to charm its listeners, indulging them in a blissful atmosphere.

Up until the end of “Pixel Affection,'' a track that yearns for romantic desire, the mood gradually shifts to a darker side. The exposition of Yeule’s desolation in “Pocky Boy” is sudden, but not unwelcome. It tells the tragedy of a girl being left to her death by loneliness. If Serotonin II is telling a tale, there is a distortion within its timeline since “Blue Butterfly” seems to be the prologue of the latter track, despite being placed later within the album. A few remaining tracks appear to be interconnected as well. “Pretty Bones”, “Reverie”, and the finale are centered around the feeling of disappointment which suggests continuity, but not linear in any way. As the album progresses, pieces of a story are slowly built, unveiling the cause of Yeule's turmoil as hinted on “Blue Butterfly”.

when the day comes for me, to awake

However, the closing “Veil of Darkness” is an unexpected turn of events. It's the sound of an error in the system. The pieces of a story that had been painstakingly built are torn apart by a wall of noise, an antithesis to the rest of the album. The simulation glitched to a halt. Then it ends with an ethereal last rite and fades away into nothingness.

Serotonin II is a record that engages you through its mellow design and holds your attention by its subtle complexity. The lyrics are written to instill a mystery for you to solve, yet left open-ended, to be revisited. It’s addictive, both in theme or in composition, an album that is far from overstaying its welcome. And instead, it pulls you back in for more of its comfiness or for you to rearrange pieces of the puzzle once more.



Recent reviews by this author
Sweet William and Jinmenusagi la blankaVyva Melinkolya Vyva Melinkolya
Ling Tosite Sigure #5Kalafina Seventh Heaven
Ichiko Aoba Kamisori OtomeKinoko Teikoku Uzu Ni Naru
user ratings (37)
3.9
excellent
recommended by reviewer
Banks Goddess

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aberf
November 5th 2019


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Special Thanks to Clover and JohnnyOfTheWell for this review.



bandcamp link: https://yeule.bandcamp.com/album/serotonin-ii

budgie
November 5th 2019


14629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i did not expect this to get a review

Aberf
November 5th 2019


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

me neither, but here we are.

Keyblade
November 5th 2019


28242 Comments


need to jam. good lookin out Aberf, pos'd

budgie
November 5th 2019


14629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think you heard the poison arrow track key

Aberf
November 5th 2019


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Key. Album is gorgeous.

Keyblade
November 5th 2019


28242 Comments


yea budge it was beautiful, then i forgot the album came out on the 25th

dmathias52
November 5th 2019


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really enjoyed my first couple listens, could bump this. Really perfect for relaxing, and then that closer gets you. Great review as well, I liked the first paragraph especially.

Digging: Keaton Henson - Six Lethargies

Aberf
November 5th 2019


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bump for the bois.

Lucman
November 5th 2019


3484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice, this one swept me away too. I haven't dug a lot of dream pop/electronic this year but this is a keeper.

Digging: Great Grandpa - Four of Arrows

hxciluvatarhxc
November 5th 2019


111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

still really mad the mods kept deleting my review but glad someone else stepped up to do it. this album is great

Aberf
November 6th 2019


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how that even happened?

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2019


17183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really good stuff, follows on neatly from the LAMA record I've been jamming a lot lately. Her synth tones and lyrics are on point



I think this rounds off the as of now existent Golden Trio of 2019 bedroom pop along with Two People and Default Genders

Digging: Yeule - Serotonin II

budgie
November 6th 2019


14629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

" of 2019 bedroom pop"



dude:

https://layzi-ma.bandcamp.com/track/sit-at-home

https://layzi-ma.bandcamp.com/album/different

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2019


17183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

U tryna get me to click on malware sites huh

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 6th 2019


47004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn how did this make its way to sput review

Digging: Lapalux - Amnioverse

hxciluvatarhxc
November 6th 2019


111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"how that even happened?"



i guess they just still havent gotten over me saying a staff review had a bad intro in a private group on facebook like 4 or 5 years ago lol.



couple things though, first off just fyi she isnt japanese. Secondly, why do you randomly quote a lyric BEFORE discussing the song it's from? it is very jarring and really doesnt make any sense

hxciluvatarhxc
November 6th 2019


111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

also potsy this has a bunch of hype on the internet why wouldnt people review it

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 6th 2019


47004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"user ratings (12)"





sixdegrees
November 6th 2019


7454 Comments


perhaps

Digging: Gary Glitter - I've Got Sweets



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy