Dream State
Primrose Path


4.2
excellent

Review

by SowingSeason STAFF
October 19th, 2019 | 99 replies


Release Date: 10/18/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The next big name in post-hardcore delivers one hell of a debut.

Dream State is a band that’s been on the rise lately, touring relentlessly and releasing a pair of EPs, the most recent of which came just a year ago and was their first work to drop under the guidance of a major label. Despite their gradual ascension in popularity, it’s hard not to imagine Primrose Path catching listeners just about everywhere off guard. This is an absolute tour de force, a debut that sweeps in as if it owns the genre and obliterates everything in its path with a combination of heaviness and insane catchiness. It’s really what every debut album should be: a fearless exploration of all possible avenues in the band’s arsenal. It just so happens that all of Dream State’s creative inclinations are ***ing gold.

Lead vocalist CJ Gilpin is the driving force behind Primrose Path’s insuppressible excitement. She deftly weaves between heartfelt melodies and shrill screams, often pausing to inject evocative spoken-word passages. Jamie Lee’s drumming is an exercise in controlled chaos, as he maintains the intended rhythm at all times but constantly seems to be on the verge of ratcheting up the tempo. The dual guitar work provided by Aled Evans and Rhys Wilcox (who also adds backing vocals) more or less ensures a constant barrage of full-throttle metalcore riffing, designed to keep Primrose Path from ever lulling into a state of apathy or indifference. Primrose Path’s biggest asset, however, is its ability to make every track distinguishable and effortlessly contagious – all without sacrificing an ounce of aggression.

The band accomplishes this with a combination of varied songwriting, creativity in the studio, and natural pop-sensibilities. All three are on display throughout Primrose Path, whether it’s the way that everything from math-rock to punk seems to find its way onto the album, the electronic effects that usher in ‘Are You Ready to Live?’ and slowly fade away on ‘Out of the Blue’, or the raucous shout-along choruses that have no business being so damn harmonic. The imagination present throughout to afford each song such diversity is uncommon, and it’s what allows them to attain Bring Me The Horizon levels of infectiousness without being forced to soften their pedigree (no offense, modern day BMTH!). Primrose Path brings a difficult-to-achieve balance for a record that keeps its foot on the gas so consistently.

The sheer energy that Dream State brings to the table buries any shortcomings, and this debut is all too easy to get swept up in. It’s an onslaught of wide-ranging songs that all rock equally as hard, and they’re catchy as hell to boot. This might not be the artistic unveiling of a lifetime, but it’s a damn fun album with plenty of technicality and variation. Dream State is a band that has the wherewithal to reach both mainstream audiences and smaller, dedicated post-hardcore circles. As they inevitably soar in popularity during the coming months and years, Primrose Path will always stand as the rock-solid foundation upon which they launched their career.



s

Recent reviews by this author
Ruston Kelly HalloweenThomas Azier Love, Disorderly
Zach Bryan ElisabethNicole Atkins Italian Ice
Styx Paradise TheatreStyx Kilroy Was Here
user ratings (64)
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
October 19th 2019


35221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh and then there's this...

Digging: The Microphones - Microphones in 2020

luci
October 19th 2019


12514 Comments


one review per day newbie

joshieboy
October 19th 2019


7541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This band keeps popping up in my YouTube recommendations. Will check this.

Digging: Spiritbox - Spiritbox

GhostB1rd
October 19th 2019


6398 Comments


I demand to see Sowing's post-hardcore credentials to be telling me who the next big name in the scene is.

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 19th 2019


35221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

*flashes badge too quickly to see*

I've...uhh...heard some hardcore bands before, man!

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2019


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This band is gonna blow up some day. Was a big fan of their EPs and this didn’t disappoint

ramon.
October 19th 2019


3733 Comments


unfd gang

clavier
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2019


1102 Comments


sorry sowing, but i tried the first few seconds of this album before i could no longer stand it

Digging: Jessie Ware - What's Your Pleasure?

ramon.
October 19th 2019


3733 Comments


this sounds like a Jarrod Alonge side project

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 19th 2019


35221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it's insanely fun. Of course this is coming from the local indie/folk/pop authority.

ramon.
October 19th 2019


3733 Comments


"authority" is a strong word min ristet brød

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 19th 2019


35221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didn't have time to decode the entire second half of that sentence but does "knowledgable enthusiast" better float your boat?

DreamAgain
October 19th 2019


1421 Comments


I thought this album was pretty bland unfortunately.. the hooks just aren't there for me. White Lies still an amazing song though.

Sowing check out this band Weighbridge. Seriously had their EP on repeat since it came out. So damn good.

nightbringer
October 19th 2019


1295 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Excited to try this.

Demon of the Fall
October 19th 2019


16569 Comments


Nice, the fact this has versatile fem vox is reason enough to have me intrigued. I was going to look up where in the U.K. they were from (I admittedly only ‘skim read’ the review), but I’ll hazard a guess at somewhere in Wales based on the names.

Digging: Nero di Marte - Derivae

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2019


1700 Comments


good review, will have to check this out for sure.

in your first sentence tho, take the apostrophe out of EPs

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 19th 2019


35221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Chan, I always forget which way is correct.

nightbringer
October 19th 2019


1295 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

3.5'ing as a placeholder but looking forward to spending time with this. I'm always excited for Sowing-promoted post-hardcore.

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2019


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The vocals are without a doubt what make this. The instrumentation is great as well without a doubt, and impressively layered for this style of post-hardcore. But it’s nothing really unique. But those vocals. Phew.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2019


9966 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hated this unfortunately

Digging: Fontaines D.C. - A Hero's Death



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy