Dayseeker
Sleeptalk


4.5
superb

Review

by brettgoespunk USER (18 Reviews)
September 27th, 2019 | 97 replies


Release Date: 09/27/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hold me in place while I disintegrate and turn to dust.

Dayseeker is quickly becoming one of the most beloved bands in the metalcore scene. Blending pop vocals with heavier guitar riffs and driving beats, they have breathed life into a scene that, in its current state, didn’t quite know where it was going. By no means is using clean vocals and pop vocalists in metalcore a new thing, but lately, it has been done in more innovative ways than in the early 2010s where every band followed the same exact structure. The truth is, Dayseeker doesn’t sound like any band that has come before them or who is out right now. Sleeptalk is their fourth album and their most cohesive to date.

This record flows together like nothing I have ever heard. Not that every song is connected in any way, but the tracklist is perfectly placed. Opening with the brooding “Drunk,” we immediately get a taste of the experimentation that Sleeptalk presents and unconventionality that Dayseeker brings to the metalcore scene. The next few tracks, which acted as singles for the song showcase different aspects of the band that all work in tandem. The guitar work and melodies of “Crooked Soul,” the heartache that pounds throughout “Burial Plot” and the absolutely exceptional soaring melody in the chorus of the title track are unforgettable each in their own way. Any listener will be hooked to hear what the rest of the album holds.

Dayseeker’s heavier side is still present in Sleeptalk. Interlude track, “The Embers Glow” leads into the absolute crusher of a song “The Color Black,” who’s beautiful intro flows seamlessly into a groovy and meticulously played riff. “Gates of Ivory” also showcases the heavier capabilities of Dayseeker while not sacrificing the gorgeous soaring voice of Rory Rodriguez in the chorus. The bouncy drum intro which leads into the equally bouncy guitar riff draws the listener right back into the energy after the depressive acoustic track “Already Numb.” The closing track, and undoubtedly the shining star of the record, “Crash and Burn,” is an unconventionally eerie slow build into one of the heaviest things that Dayseeker has ever released to this date. The gorgeous and misleading first half of the song devolves into an angry display of emotion within every facet of the band. While some of the heavy moments (mainly breakdowns) in the album feel a bit forced and thrown in to please the crowd of people who are against more melody, “Crash and Burn” delivers on every front.

The softer and slower moments throughout the album hold just as much weight as the more intense sections. “Already Numb” exhibits honest and unforgiving words of heartbreak and agony. Local Los Angeles singer Seneca Pettee is featured on the gutwrenching track “Starving to Be Empty,” giving a new dynamic to the album and challenging Rory on his vocal abilities, but ultimately showcasing his fabulous falsetto in the conclusion of the song.

There isn’t much to say about this album that isn't praising. Rory’s voice is as incredible as ever, delivering some of my favorite melodies that I’ve heard in a long time. Upon first listen, even though the song is absolutely fantastic, I pinned “Burial Plot” as my least favorite song, but every time the album goes back around it gets harder and harder to choose that title. The only complaint that comes to mind while spinning the album is, as was mentioned before, the breakdowns at the end of “The Color Black” and “Gates of Ivory” are a bit derivative and uninspired, though the short-lived double-time part at the end of the former displays a fantastic groove that is impossible not to move to. As a whole, though, Sleeptalk is an astoundingly beautiful album full of raw emotion, gorgeous melody, brilliant riffs, notable synth lines, and hard-hitting lyrics that any fan of melodic metalcore would be remiss to skip over this year.



Recent reviews by this author
Kublai Khan TX AbsoluteWage War Pressure
Whitechapel The ValleyCancer Shadow Gripped
Parkway Drive ReverenceCannibal Corpse Red Before Black
user ratings (82)
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Winsomniac (3.5)
A guilty pleasure, but only if you have a guilty conscience....


Comments:Add a Comment 
NorwichScene
September 27th 2019


2968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is good, slightly strange mix of pop and metalcore. Will need a few more listens to decide 3 or 3.5, I got a bit bored as had so much else to listen to today

outliers
September 27th 2019


1020 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty mixed on this one. i like the first half, but it's pretty annoying they put the 3 singles one after another followed by an interlude. and outside of the chorus of Gates of Ivory and the end of the closer I find the second half pretty forgettable

brettgoespunk
September 27th 2019


301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Normally I don't like singles being all back to back on albums, especially at the beginning. But in this album, I just think that the flow works so well.

Digging: The Menzingers - Hello Exile

Emim
September 27th 2019


27900 Comments


I like their cover of Hello, but haven't really given them much time aside from that.

SteakByrnes
September 28th 2019


15882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Change that sir, these guys are so good

SteakByrnes
September 28th 2019


15882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really fucking good, much better than the last album

AlexTM510
September 28th 2019


1459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm usually not for a lot of these newer metalcore bands going pop but these guys really found a good pocket for it, it's also got a lot of polish I think it compliments Rory's vocals, absolutely enjoy this album, though I do wish they did away with the few breakdown parts, I think their push into a more soft sound suits them so well.

veninblazer
September 28th 2019


10169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

holy shit this is amazing

Digging: Dayseeker - Sleeptalk

SteakByrnes
September 28th 2019


15882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really dig the heavier parts tbh, the guitar riffs in The Color Black go hard and Rory's harshes sound really good on this. Honestly his harshes haven't sounded this good in a while, and the fact that they found a good balance of soft and heavy while still improving on both sounds shows a lot of drive to make the best record they could with the elements they brought forth. I still think Origin is the crowning achievement for this band, and I don't like this as much as the debut, but man this is a breath of fresh air after the last album

SaveBandit
September 28th 2019


475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yo Steak will I like this? I loved the debut and Origin but wasn’t a big fan of their last one. Did they go back to the roots or did they just expand upon the sound of Dreaming is Sinking?

Digging: The Devil Wears Prada - The Act

DreamAgain
September 28th 2019


1120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fantastic album. My only complaint is it seems so short..



The high points on this album are by far the best songs they've ever written. A couple meh songs in between.... then it just ends =( gimme 1 or 2 more songs plz

Toondude10
September 28th 2019


14076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not bad, but definitely not a 4.5



Crooked Soul is pretty good tho

ian b
September 28th 2019


507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review, and actually a pretty good album despite the fact that i normally hate this strain of metalcore/post-hardcore. i def don't agree with the rating, but this is still definitely worth checking out. can see this being a grower

Digging: Danny Brown - uknowhatimsayin

brettgoespunk
September 28th 2019


301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ya ian well I am trash for metalcore sooo.... But I am glad you liked it vrother

BallsToTheWall
September 28th 2019


49780 Comments


Enjoyed the first two singles and Ivory.

Digging: Pastel Ghost - Ethereality

igordrago
September 28th 2019


110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

POS for a great review but disagree the album I feel like never really goes anywhere and is just another step closer to them dropping the heaviness entirely. Rory has a great voice but I feel like a lot of the songs rely on just that. Album is a 3 for me .

veninblazer
September 28th 2019


10169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Honestly I didn't dig their debut a ton

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
September 29th 2019


10651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really liking this, but not sure it'll end up being better than some of their others. Feels a little too one note with the electronic hook focused songs even though this is the best bunch of hooks they've ever had probably. Could use a bit more variety and edge at times.

outliers
September 29th 2019


1020 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ivory's chorus fucking slaps

brettgoespunk
September 29th 2019


301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

imo dropping the heaviness entirely wouldn't be the worst thing as long as the songwriting is still good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy