The Number Twelve Looks Like You
Wild Gods


3.5
great

Review

by Casus belli CONTRIBUTOR (83 Reviews)
September 24th, 2019 | 85 replies


Release Date: 09/20/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Testing the waters for the actual dive...

10 years was a long time ago.

When Worse Than Alone was released in March 2009, Barack Obama had been president for all of 2 months and Michael Jackson’s death was a scant 3 months down the road. The musical space The Number Twelve Looks Like You occupied was also in a great place, with the band themselves leading an underground grind scene pulsing with vitality. Fast forward to 2019 and you don’t see bands like Genghis Tron, Heavy Heavy Low Low, or those crazy fuckers in The Locust gaining any sort of notoriety anymore. Fans’ tastes shifted and “evolved”, their experimental grind phase becoming a fond memory of their youth. So what exactly does a relic like The Number Twelve Looks Like You have to offer at this point in time? As it turns out, quite a lot. Continuing confidently down the winding road of the Zappa-esque jazz influence heard on Worse Than Alone the band prove their eclectic stylings sound just as fresh today as it did in 2009. Wild Gods sees the band shedding even more grind influences from their sound, focusing more on a core of mathy (some may call mathcore) guitar compositions interspersed with jazzy interludes and wrapped in the band’s signature bleak, dystopian aura.

One of the biggest points of worry upon news of the band’s return was the glaring omission of longtime drummer Jon Karel, who’s decision to tend bar in New York instead of continue with the band served as a public signal of the band’s hiatus in 2010. While Mr. Karel is still absent, replacement Michael Kadnar makes the sting hurt less. Kadnar’s chops are apparent from the album’s opener “Gallery of Thrills” which showcases the multifaceted approach to the band’s songwriting and “Last Laughter”, an ode to the Mongrel days. Vocalist Jesse Korman carries his weight with ease, displaying impressive range in his low and high screams. Korman’s amelodic drone-style singing, a staple of the band’s moody atmosphere, is also utilized to great effect, particularly at the end of “Last Laughter” where he elicits chills with a flat utterance, “I want to see how your insides work”.

The other remaining founding member Alexis Pareja unsurprisingly continues to be a revelation with his instrument, stitching Latin American and American jazz with the blistering speed of metal and grind riffs to create a disturbingly alluring tapestry of sound instantly recognizable by fans. In fact, perhaps by design, Wild Gods sticks very close to the formula of Worse Than Alone and comes off as the equivalent of dipping your toes into the pool before jumping in. You don’t come back after 10 years and completely change your sound, you gauge people’s reaction to your return first. Are they happy you’re back? Do they even care? Viewed through this lens, Wild Gods is in a way the band’s greatest experiment. Fortunately, Wild Gods should click instantly with fans of the band. The stage has been set for the next evolution of The Number Twelve Looks Like You, and while the highs of Wild Gods don't excite quite the way you remember, you have to keep in mind...

10 years was a long time ago.



Recent reviews by this author
Chopping Mall Mauled by a Magical Bear with Scalding Hot LiquidPeace'd Out Feelings Blade
Super Whatevr don't you wanna be glad?Russian Girlfriends In The Parlance of Our Times
Avantdale Bowling Club Avantdale Bowling ClubTowkio WWW
user ratings (134)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2019


16573 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

just wrote this so people have a place to talk about this piece o work

Digging: Grey Matter (MI) - Climbing Out

elephantREVOLUTION
September 24th 2019


2998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is probably their weakest album but I'm still loving it. The production is killer. I still need to delve into the lyrics too. It seems like their most conceptual but I haven't sat down and read them yet

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2019


12496 Comments


Contrib reviews on fire tonight. Rating has me intrigued -- gonna check

NorwichScene
September 24th 2019


3108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Track 8 Of Fear feat Rolo Tomassi is good

ConcubinaryCode
September 24th 2019


5339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Very happy they're back and I hope they know they nailed it

elephantREVOLUTION
September 24th 2019


2998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They definitely know they nailed it. Jesse made a post the other day saying they haven't gotten this much good press since their debut

Sinternet
September 24th 2019


22335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

loved both the singles I heard, especially the second



i will say I think this sound is due a comeback, not quite the same but artists like seeyouspacecowboy have been generating some buzz which should hopefully spark a revival

Digging: Carly Rae Jepsen - Dedicated Side B

Artuma
September 24th 2019


31584 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

opening track is just sick

DopeFiend
September 24th 2019


383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

goddamn this is good. bombastic blend of jazz fusion and grindy mathcore. gotta dive into the rest of their discography

peekatoad
September 24th 2019


265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great comeback and excellent review

Gyromania
September 24th 2019


29909 Comments


Used to love these guys back in high school but recently went back through their discog in my late 20s and thought their stuff was cringey as fuck. Probably wouldn't like this.

GreyShadow
September 24th 2019


3950 Comments


this is out???? can't wait to listen

Digging: Carly Rae Jepsen - Dedicated Side B

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2019


9609 Comments


This is so fucking good so far

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - NO DREAM

Rickislost
September 24th 2019


85 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has been my introduction to The Number 12 Looks like you and am loving this album. Although for some reason UK iTunes wont let me download Tomb's Wound as apparently its not available in my region.



Where would anyone recommend I start with these guys in their back catalogue?

Sinternet
September 24th 2019


22335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mongrel is probably their most accessible, and has a lot of their biggest tracks

Sinternet
September 24th 2019


22335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Used to love these guys back in high school but recently went back through their discog in my late 20s and thought their stuff was cringey as fuck. Probably wouldn't like this.'



projection

Gyromania
September 24th 2019


29909 Comments


inspection

Artuma
September 24th 2019


31584 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Where would anyone recommend I start with these guys in their back catalogue?"



same as with most catalogues. go chronologically

luci
September 24th 2019


12345 Comments


if you're gonna start a review with a one-liner it should be more interesting than "10 years is a long time"

Prancer
September 24th 2019


1112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't really hear what others are hearing on this album. this band's discography is among my favorites, but most of the songs on this album are just all over the place and lack any cohesion. it's like the band just took 10 random riffs and played them back to back in one song. there are some good moments scattered throughout and a couple good songs like Raised and Erased & Of Fear, but I'm not into the "let's mix a bunch of jazzy noodling with generic metalcore riffs we've already played before and call it mathcore" direction on this album. this album also lacks the darkness and grit their previous albums had.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy