Tiny Moving Parts
Breathe


3.2
good

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
September 17th, 2019 | 62 replies


Release Date: 09/13/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We get it, you're from Minnesota

Tiny Moving Parts have been around the block a few times. The emo revival mainstay has put out records, splits, and EPs at a blistering pace, coming out with nine releases in the past nine years. And throughout these nine releases, not a lot has changed. Tiny Moving Parts anchor their sound around Dylan Matthenson’s face-melting guitar ability, with tapping riffs galore and a large swath of guitar tunings and complicated arpeggios. The only real change the band has gone through is a vocal transformation from rough-around-the-edges melodic shouting to rough-around-the-edges melodic singing. And this lack of change I’ve embraced wholeheartedly, as consistency is often an underrated virtue. I’ve embraced the glorious sameness until recently as I’ve been relistening to the band’s 2018 release Swell over the past year. Melodies that once excited me now sound sort of stale. Clumsy lyrics (a Tiny Moving Parts mainstay) that were once endearing now annoy me. And this lack of change has finally caught up to the band with the release of their fifth full length Breathe. Breathe is ten more songs, ten more Tiny Moving Parts songs that hardly feel like they make up a cohesive album. Someone could tell me that Breathe is actually ten b-sides from the band's last three records and I’d probably believe them. And this is not a bad thing perse, it’s merely disappointing. I’ve become numb to Tiny Moving Parts’ schtick. Insert melodious chords to start the track off, vocals about being sad and cold in the midwest, follow it up by a face-melting tapping riff, and then run into the poppy chorus. Rinse. Repeat. Rinse. Repeat. It’s been five albums now with this formula, and I’m not saying I’m looking for a New Coke version of Tiny Moving Parts, the formula is very good, but it’s holding the band back from being anything more than pretty good. If Tiny Moving Parts doesn’t start flipping the script they’re very quickly going to devolve into that band who in their 40s still writes songs about being in their 20s that you just feel sorry for.



Recent reviews by this author
State Faults ClairvoyantOvero Overo
American Football American Football (LP3)Hotel Books I'll Leave the Light On Just In Case
Bring Me the Horizon AmoAlkaline Trio Is This Thing Cursed?
user ratings (112)
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2019


56980 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Bring back one paragraph reviews!





Digging: Angel Olsen - All Mirrors

TooManyFriends
September 17th 2019


3145 Comments


gr8 review. haven't listened to this band really since the allegations against their singer but it sounds like their shtick is wearing thin anyways. it was definitely starting to on the last record

cvlts
September 17th 2019


9642 Comments


nice sound off

Digging: Gatecreeper - Deserted

ProjectFreak
September 17th 2019


3917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

For the Sake of Brevity and Fishbowl were way better than anything else here. Kinda disappointed that the well's running dry for these guys

dmathias52
September 17th 2019


947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I actually thought this was a bit of a change in sound, just not that interesting of one. It seems like they leaned into the pop punk more than past released. I enjoyed it a lot, just nothing really elevated it

Digging: Bayside - Interrobang

SlothcoreSam
September 17th 2019


977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For the Sake of Brevity and Fishbowl were way better than anything else here [2]

Digging: The Dead Love - The Extinction of Unicorns

onionbubs
September 17th 2019


11940 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

swell was the one that got me into em so the fact they do the same exact thing over and over again didnt bother me then



but fuck is this boring

Digging: The Menzingers - Hello Exile

Minushuman24
September 17th 2019


2372 Comments


lmao that summary

Digging: Siouxsie and the Banshees - A Kiss in the Dreamhouse

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2019


56980 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

"I actually thought this was a bit of a change in sound, just not that interesting of one. It seems like they leaned into the pop punk more than past released. I enjoyed it a lot, just nothing really elevated it"



yeah I can see that. but I feel like the pop punk sound has been there since Pleasant Living, it's just been beefed up with each album

Feather
September 18th 2019


5380 Comments


Great review. This is kind of how I felt about their last outing. Might just skip this one completely

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2019


24998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This and Celebrate are my favorites by them. Been playing this constantly the last few days





Digging: Lagwagon - Railer

Cormano
September 18th 2019


1649 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lmao no way fishbowl is better than anything here, for the sake of brevity on the other hand



album is full of bangers and is way better than swell

JayEnder
September 18th 2019


5476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Polar Bear is dope

Digging: Blood Incantation - Hidden History of the Human Race

dmathias52
September 18th 2019


947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I wanna throw Vertebrae out there too

JayEnder
September 18th 2019


5476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that banjo part is so awesome

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2019


24998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love the guitar tone in Polar Bear

Trophycase
September 18th 2019


1736 Comments


I'm also from Minnesota

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2019


56980 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Vertebrae is annoying as fuck

Amnesian
September 18th 2019


27 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Found it a bit boring to be honest. Not unpleasant but still a far cry from Celebrate.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2019


16899 Comments


lmao that summary [2]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy