Microwave
Death is a Warm Blanket


4.5
superb

Review

by outliers USER (1 Reviews)
September 15th, 2019 | 46 replies


Release Date: 09/13/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "What the fuck are we doing?"

As I continue venturing through my late 20's, I find myself more and more questioning the path I have chosen on what feels like a never-ending quest for personal and professional fulfillment and validation. I can boil it down to one simple question: Was this really worth it? Similarly, the alt-rock/emo group, Microwave, have examined their "path" and considered the effects of strained relationships, deteriorating health and financial struggles as non-stop touring musicians in their newest album, Death Is A Warm Blanket.

Known for their introspective lyrics and upbeat melodies, Microwave have shed their previously optimistic outlook for one much darker, more frustrated, and at times, indicative of a person who's approaching their breaking point. Even the album's title implies a level of hopelessness by effectively combining oblivion and solace. The group's vulnerability is on full display from start to finish, a controlled burn that sears self-reflection into the listener's conscious.

Musically, Microwave seeks to expand their boundaries with Death Is A Warm Blanket, branching out from their emo-y alt-rock roots into a drastically heavier direction. Influences from Nirvana, Nine Inch Nails and As Cities Burn, just to name a few, quickly make themselves present. Front man Nathan Hardy's vocals are as impressive as ever, transitioning from The Chariot-esque screams to gripping yells and soft-spoken singing. There is also no shortage of furious guitar performances from Hardy and fellow band member Wesley Swanson, on notable tracks “Float to the Top", "DIAWB" and "Mirrors." The soaring "Mirrors" is arguably the highlight of the album, featuring a missile of raw, ambient noise and thundering breakdowns.

As the album begins to wind down with "Part Of It”, Hardy presents some of the most powerful lyrics of the band's career, poetically accepting the struggles he faces as a musician.

"In a perfect world, I don’t think I would sing
My voice would shrink in peaceful atrophy...
So when it’s all unfolding, when you’re ripping out your seams, when the tides start calling, i hope you think of me."

Death Is A Warm Blanket is a refreshing addition to Microwave's discography, showcasing the band's maturity in a cohesively chaotic manner and proving a band doesn’t have to continually create the same sound album after album. Though this record is by no means perfect, it is yet another step forward in the group’s discography and is their best attempt thus far in making a name for themselves in what feels like an ever-fading genre in 2019.


user ratings (94)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
TooManyFriends (4)
crunchy nihilism...


Comments:Add a Comment 
outliers
September 15th 2019


1017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

you guys go easy on me now, this is my first review on here

Observer
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2019


7111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a fine review man. I’ll check the album out. Mind throwing some albums in the rec if you like section?

Digging: Caracara - Summer Megalith

WatchItExplode
September 15th 2019


7147 Comments


I can't make my mind up on this one but it's pretty sick. It's well constructed but I can't tell if it's fresh or derivitive and whether or not I care.

Tranqyl
September 15th 2019


325 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid review, although I'm not sure I'd go so far as to say they haven't gotten noticed. Album is a much refreshing turn imo as Much Love didn't do as much for me as Stovall.

MrSirLordGentleman
September 15th 2019


12744 Comments


i like this band's name

Observer
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2019


7111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This reminds me a lot of Citizen.

XXMurdaBeatzXX
September 15th 2019


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

POS. Great review for a great album

Digging: Cult of Luna - A Dawn to Fear

TooManyFriends
September 15th 2019


3145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dammit i just finished a review of this and now i don't wanna post it. pos'd



fantastic record

Lucman
September 15th 2019


3357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album really surprised me. Love the sound they're going for. Kinda like a mix of Citizen and Brand New.

outliers
September 15th 2019


1017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thanks fellas, re-worked that closing paragraph a bit. concluding this was surprisingly tough for me.



and yeah i also love this sound. i'm glad they "matured" a bit because some of their older stuff was hard to take seriously at times.

Observer
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2019


7111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ill see if i can get your review some more exposure. As You Please/Daisy combo is pretty on point. I'm diggin it.

TooManyFriends
September 16th 2019


3145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

float to the top rocks stupid fucking hard

outliers
September 16th 2019


1017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i can't stop playing the closer, my song of the year by a pretty wide margin

henryChinaski
September 16th 2019


4277 Comments


Loving the artwork & album title. Will check.

Nice write-up!

Digging: The Devil Wears Prada - The Act

spanndrew58
September 16th 2019


127 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is one of my biggest disappointment of the year so far. I loved their first two but the heavier direction strips them of everything unique they had going on imo.

Digging: Danny Brown - uknowhatimsayin

butt.
September 16th 2019


5124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review my man. Really cool album too. Much heavier than I was expecting. I think this will continue to grow

Squanchy
September 16th 2019


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was somewhat skeptical heading into this, but wow did they pull off the change in direction. Atmosphere on this thing is crushing, in the best way. Shame this band doesn't get more attention because they have put out quality content for 3 albums now, imo

Feather
September 16th 2019


5380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes thank God someone reviewed this. I was very worried based on the aggressive singles, but they knocked this one outtttt. Saw them live at Riot Fest and they sounded great when performing these songs (the screaming has VASTLY improved).



The run from Hate TKO through Love's will tear us apart is incredible.



Also, someone explain to me why the opening guitar of Pull makes me think of Radiohead everytime ...

McTime50
September 16th 2019


910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

something about the production sounds kinda off, like theres a distortion filter over the entire thing n prevents anything sounding punchy.

Squanchy
September 16th 2019


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, unfortunately the production is my biggest gripe with the record. It's not as bad of an issue as I thought it would be (based on hearing the singles), but man, if it doesn't just kill the momentum of some tracks for me. I think the biggest offenders are the brakeman has resigned and the intro to pull



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy