Sleep Terror
Abreaction


1.5
very poor

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (295 Reviews)
September 13th, 2019 | 35 replies


Release Date: 08/10/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The collective sum of all your personalities.

Some things aren't made to go together. It's plain and simple. Chalk and cheese, cyanide and life, toothpaste and orange juice, and everything that makes Sleep Terror's newest EP such a disjointed, bipolar listening experience. Bar the tasty bass tone that pops off Abreaction’s messy soundscape, Sleep Terror’s latest audio pile is an example of superfluous ideas and unholy sound combinations that lead nowhere of value after degrading the listeners’ first impressions. Thankfully, Abreaction is not an altogether long listening experience for those willing to waste twenty minutes of their lives.

“Lackluster” opens with mellow twanged notes that somehow set the scene for a western duel, tumbleweed and all. A simple melody dances around the track’s foreground and everything sounds pleasant on paper, but nothing really goes anywhere. There’s simply nothing of substance here, just artificial self-indulgence wrapped in shallow guitar-centric instrumental gimmickry. It’s all part of the shame that Sleep Terror have garnered for their moniker here, simply because these guys are more than capable musicians writing purely “meshed for the sake of it” music. Sleep Terror shouldn’t have to resort to this style of song-writing with the talent they have on hand. The EP’s title track is a brazen example of this. Ideas are simply piled one after the other without a thought about flow or actual [quality] songwriting hidden among bumbling riffs and frantic blast beats. Sure, it’s ambitious, but the cost involved in throwing these riffs and blasts in the air is unlikely to leave anyone one ready (or wanting) to play catch. The outright funkiness of Sleep Terror’s surf rock and obnoxious clean tones found in the latter half of Abreaction becomes a questionable pairing without rhyme or reason and lacking any foundation or substance to engage the listener. This is unfortunate since these ideas are first introduced in a peppered sense, before taking center stage across the length of the EP. For what it’s worth, a ‘less is more’ approach to the act’s merging of sounds would’ve served them much better in the long run, making Abreaction a more coherent, enjoyable listen.

For all of Abreaction’s musical shortcomings, its production is more than ample. Combined with the sound of the bass it gives a small silver lining to Sleep Terror’s efforts here. Overall however, it’s not enough to save Abreaction’s core problem: instrumental talent alone does not equal passable songwriting, especially when it’s hidden under whammy masturbation and chintzy self-indulgence.



Recent reviews by this author
In Mourning Garden of StormsOpeth In Cauda Venenum
Blut Aus Nord HallucinogenAs I Lay Dying Shaped by Fire
Ashbringer AbsolutionHope Drone Void Lustre
user ratings (9)
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2019


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

listen here.

https://sleepterror.bandcamp.com/





TheNotrap
September 13th 2019


12022 Comments


This sounds like the collective sum of a negative result...

Digging: Mortiferum - Disgorged From Psychotic Depths

Pikazilla
September 13th 2019


4896 Comments


I'll bet you anything this isn't as shite as the new Infant Annihilator.

TheNotrap
September 13th 2019


12022 Comments


Hahha I'm jamming it now. I still don't have a solid opinion about it

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2019


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I'll bet you anything this isn't as shite as the new Infant Annihilator.




Surprise

bloc
September 13th 2019


57880 Comments


No surprise this sucks

Also looking forward to a review for new IA lol

Digging: Sugar Babe - Songs

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2019


16579 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So I enjoyed the savagery of this review enough to check this and getting the mediocrity big time but not quite the full awfulness. Oh well, objectivity rating boost either way...

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Ghosteen

tellah
September 13th 2019


889 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

eh i mean this is pretty dumb but i enjoyed parts of it, well-done review.

Deathconscious
September 13th 2019


22615 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

sup Tellah, i hate to break it to you, but you wont survive the adventure.

Digging: Slutvomit - Copulation of Cloven Hooves

artiswar
September 13th 2019


9481 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really enjoyed this.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2019


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

That bass alone isn't worth a 4 here

artiswar
September 13th 2019


9481 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm not a stickler for production especially when I'm rather distracted by what the band is doing.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2019


10930 Comments


The review makes this sound like a Destrage knockoff. And that makes me curious.

artiswar
September 13th 2019


9481 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Jam it, it's fun and only like 20 minutes long. Kind of a love/hate thing I guess.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2019


10930 Comments


Oh dear lord. I normally like this kind of ADD meme-metal, but I'm only on the second song and I completely see where nocte is coming from on this. Nothing is connected to anything else.

artiswar
September 13th 2019


9481 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

meh, things being connected is overrated

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2019


10930 Comments


But that's the difference between a band like Destrage or Twelve Foot Ninja and this. As sudden and unexpected as those bands' transitions are, it rarely feels like a completely different song mashed up.

Title track on this is pretty dece though. It definitely feels more cohesive.

artiswar
September 13th 2019


9481 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dunno, I find TFN distractingly disjointed. To each their own. The metal parts on here groove hard.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2019


10391 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

not feeling your love man

Lichtbringer
September 14th 2019


111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn’t an EP.



The review is well-written, but I totally disagree. I enjoy all of this guy’s material. He’s a total virtuoso and there’s a musicality and versatility on display here that’s basically unparalleled in extreme metal. Thinking the songs are disjointed and going nowhere is one thing, but there’s loads of interesting ideas and catchy stuff going on here, so calling this showy wankery seems plain unfair.



tl/dr: If you’re a fan of Tech-Death craziness give this a spin.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy