Cloudkicker
Unending


2.0
poor

Review

by Simon K. STAFF
August 25th, 2019 | 39 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A shallow return.

For an instrumental album, there’s a certain level of skill involved that extends beyond the typical difficulty parameters of your conventional record with vocals. Whether you’ve sat and thought about it before today or not, vocals lift a substantial amount of the work load for an album – case in point: when you’re making an instrumental album, you better damn well make sure your compositions are above and beyond solid standards. And the thing is, Cloudkicker has always delivered in that regard many times before. With that said, unfortunately, recent years have seen a pretty drastic decline in quality for Cloudkicker’s music; the biggest problem being that the ideas conveyed in both 2015’s Woum and this LP feel fundamentally underwhelming. In fact, Unending actually takes the underwhelming aspect to a whole new level here – basically consisting of 4 half-baked metal tracks and 3 fatuous ambient pieces written as though they never had a particular purpose, but were used because they were sitting in the demo vault and would pad out the record’s run time nicely. I mean seriously, “Night” is essentially a 2-and-a-half-minute intro track that goes absolutely nowhere and does very little to set up “Xaoc” in any way.

Even the main attraction tracks fail to spark even a morsel of the engagement given from a song like “We’re Goin’ In. We’re Goin’ Down.”. The likes of “Blackwing” just sounds like a B-side which came from the Fade era of Cloudkicker, before anticlimactically grinding to a halt because it didn’t know how to finish up. It’s an incessant theme that runs throughout Unending, and for every dull interlude like “AR-Lp 36” lies an underdeveloped “YHWH” with a deflated conclusion. It’s honestly a far cry to the high standards his first 5 LPs hit – LPs that were all sonically distinct and unique from one another, but maintained your attention because of it – but it’s made that much worse when this makes Woum look good. The bottom line here is that Cloudkicker’s 7th album feels half cooked at best and is lacking in all the unique characteristics that made his widely regarded albums so fun to listen to in the first place.

FORMAT//EDITIONS: DIGITAL

PACKAGING: N/A

SPECIAL EDITION BONUSES: N/A

ALBUM STREAM//PURCHASE: https://cloudkicker.bandcamp.com/album/unending




Recent reviews by this author
Green Druid At the Maw of RuinKiller Be Killed Reluctant Hero
Solstafir Endless Twilight of Codependent LoveGHOSTEMANE Anti-Icon
Bring Me the Horizon Post Human: Survival HorrorHEALTH DISCO4 :: Part I
user ratings (127)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
luci
August 25th 2019


12534 Comments


yet the average is 3.8? i guess prog fans don't have standards

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2019


16735 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

or i dont? lol i'll let you decide

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2019


16735 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

in all seriousness though, this is vapid work

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2019


5309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awww, but this is a good album

Digging: Front Line Assembly - Mechanical Soul

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2019


16735 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sorry ins < / 3

MO
August 25th 2019


23099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I think there's a bit more here than you're letting on. It's a solid release but definitely missing those OH SHIT moments

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2019


5309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree it's nothing groundbreaking, but I listened to it 5 times in the first couple of days. It's short and catchy, very easy to sit through. I see ~30 min albums are becoming trendy.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2019


16735 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Don’t hear it sorry guys. Just sounds like a collection of fragmented ideas to me

Pikazilla
August 25th 2019


14180 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Just sounds like a collection of fragmented ideas to me



As does all his stuff, really

RogueNine
August 25th 2019


4554 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Can definitely see where you're coming from.

Ecnalzen
August 25th 2019


10136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gonna try this again but I wasn't into it first time around. I typically dig his stuff, too.

bloc
August 25th 2019


64367 Comments


Guy's always been a hit or miss for me

Ecnalzen
August 25th 2019


10136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The only LP I haven't cared for so far was Woum. Hopefully, I won't add another to that.

YakNips
August 26th 2019


19989 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

review is half-baked tbqh imho

Mongi123
August 26th 2019


20964 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It’s actually unbelievable that the average is as good as it is right now. He really went from an extremely talented artist to average quickly.

zaruyache
August 26th 2019


23369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

believe he had writer's block problems that contributed to the big gap between albums.

AtomicWaste
Moderator
August 26th 2019


2846 Comments


2? You're mad

mifzal
August 26th 2019


3370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Boo you all this rules

Scoot
August 26th 2019


20364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

his peak was beacons, there is no disputing it



feels like he got to a plateau and there was nowhere else to go with that sound, so he started experimenting for the worse



but everything he’s done save for loop and woum has been at least a 3.5

Deez
August 26th 2019


7099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so he started experimenting for the worse'



hahah not in the slightest. LYBH and Subsume are absolutely stellar



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy