Cerebral Rot
Odious Descent Into Decay


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (291 Reviews)
August 18th, 2019 | 72 replies


Release Date: 08/16/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Pejoratives need not apply.

The old-school trappings of death metal has certainly seen a measurable level of resurgence over the last decade. With magnates like Tomb Mold dropping Planetary Clairvoyance or Fetid’s Steeping Corporeal Mess (just to name-drop a couple from this year alone) there’s an air of expectation that comes with the release of Cerebral Rot’s debut full-length. Odious Descent Into Decay may not stand as tall as the two examples above (because let’s face it, that would be a hard sell), instead, Odious Descent Into Decay is the no-frills, blackened heart that promises a filthy good time without overstaying its welcome.

The album’s opening immediately sets a tone of bowel-loosening death after a few nonchalant acoustic meanderings. Touches of melody fleet across the title track and seep well into “Swamped In Festering Excrementia”. It’s hauntingly repulsive (but in every positive meaning of the phrase) just how these guys can bring such down to earth musicianship and dowse it in every crucible to which the death metal genre is known for, without losing themselves to unworldly technicality or progressive tropes. It’s brutal, forceful and bludgeoning in the best possible ways and yet it’s interesting and in places downright catchy. It’s a little unfair perhaps that Cerebral Rot’s attributes are also part of its own restriction. Because of the sheer straight-forwardness, true-to-roots soundscapes Odious Descent Into Decay drops in slabs, there’s nothing that particularly stands out or transcends the norms to which this death metal powerhouse and it's genre cater. Sure the melodic leads and frenetic riff placement are designed a certain way, providing a nice touch on the gurgle and roll of Cerebral Rot’s debut. But they remain exactly that - - nice touches, completely expected and nothing more. “Sardonic Reoentence” for example, lumbers ungently into the fray, but doesn’t stand out any further than its plodding bass lines allow. The organic approach here is both the band’s gracing… and (through no direct fault of their own) its Achilles' heel.

In light of this, it’s the album’s overall brevity that makes up for its rather simplistic approach to crunched grooves and chasm-born double bass. The forty-five minutes of technically sound yet straight-forward classic death sounds like a short stroll, chock-full of healthy guitar tone and nasty (but oh so pleasurable) guitar riff-ology. As a whole, Odious Descent Into Decay sounds like it was developed in the bowels of a cavern with only a stench of rot to guide them to the studio to which Cerebral Rot unleash their deathened sermon. Odious Descent Into Decay a more than solid release, with every potential of becoming slightly underrated within its time.



Recent reviews by this author
Sleep Terror AbreactionAshbringer Absolution
Hope Drone Void LustreShadow Of Intent Melancholy
Killswitch Engage AtonementWounds of Recollection You Were A Garden of Empyrean Light
user ratings (37)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2019


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

listen here: https://listen.20buckspin.com/album/odious-descent-into-decay

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2019


16651 Comments


Between this and Devourment I have my DM needs covered this week. Good rev Noct.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Blasphemy

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2019


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The stuff on 20buckspin should have you covered if you run out. Hitting some home runs this year.

Deathconscious
August 18th 2019


22227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is so gross.

Digging: Pyramidal - Pyramidal

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2019


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It does fit nicely into the likable filth category.

ffs
August 18th 2019


5390 Comments


good band

Confessed2005
August 18th 2019


4989 Comments


This sounds delicious.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2019


24894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

First track is so good

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Breathe

Deathconscious
August 18th 2019


22227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didnt know Mortiferum had a full length coming, badass.

oltnabrick
August 18th 2019


37387 Comments


ok epic

ep from last year was good

Digging: Leviathan - Verrter

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2019


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First track is so good




You on a bit of a death metal binge this year Atari?

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


10117 Comments


Solid review, seems like some solid death metal too. The old-school revival sound is starting to wear on me so I'm not sure about this. Great descriptions though.

Digging: WRVTH - No Rising Sun

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you've had some love for Fetid or Tomb Mold this year than this is right up your alley. I'm lucky so far that I haven't found the less than desirable copy cats this year. Only the good stuff

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


10117 Comments


Tomb Mold was close to average for me, couldn't see the appeal at all. Felt like one of the weaker cuts from the scene tbh. Gonna look even moreso if/when Blood Incantation release their upcoming album.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Might get you to give the new Bastard Grave a polite look over. See where it lands.

Demon of the Fall
August 19th 2019


12423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'If you've had some love for Fetid or Tomb Mold this year than this is right up your alley.'



I was no more than tentatively interested in this, but I really enjoyed the new Tomb Mold (which came somewhat as a surprise). Maybe I should check. I would claim to be like Mars, in that inside-the-box ODSM revival isn't really what I look for (unless it has a distinctly new flavour), but perhaps I can be swayed.



If the new Blood Incantation is anything like Starspawn quality-wise, then it'll blow everything else out of the water.

Digging: Cara Neir - Part III / Part IV

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You guys are hyping that Blood Incantation. You're gonna get me excited even

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


10117 Comments


Far as I know it's set for a 2019 release, but no definite date yet. Don't get TOO hyped.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All I can say is this year is a cracker Jack year for quality metal.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds good, but I am not so sure about this review my friend. It doesn't seem like it was proofed.



"Odious Descent Into Decay may not stand as tall as the two examples above (because let’s face it, that would be a hard sell). Instead, Odious Descent Into Decay is the no-frills, blackened heart that promises a filthy good time without overstaying its welcome."



I would probably combine these two sentences into one. The first sentence feels very clunky without the second, and it should be able to stand on its own, and it doesn't. I am hesitant to call it a fragment, but it is oddly written.



Because of the sheer straight-forwardness, true-to-roots soundscapes Odious Descent Into Decay drops in slabs there’s nothing that particularly stands out or transcends the norms to which this death metal powerhouse cater.



This sentence just flat out doesn't make sense.



"Sure the melodic leads and frenetic riff placement are designed a certain way, providing a nice touch on the gurgle and roll of Cerebral Rot’s debut. But they remain exactly that - - nice touches, completely expected and nothing more. “Sardonic Reoentence” for example, lumbers ungently into the fray, but doesn’t stand out any further than its plodding bass lines allow."



Another case of near fragmented should-be-combined sentences.



"Odious Descent Into Decay a more than solid release, with every potential of becoming slightly underrated within its time."



Odd way to close the review, stating something has the potential to be underrated before it actually has the chance to be underrated.



I think a lot of your ideas are good and you do a good job translating what this album sounds and feels like. Maybe just tighten up a few things here and there and you'd have a great review on your hands.













Digging: Arnaut Pavle - Arnaut Pavle



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy