Holy Holy
My Own Pool of Light


4.0
excellent

Review

by Scheumke USER (15 Reviews)
August 2nd, 2019 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mood drenched, atmospheric, dance-able 80's homage done right.

The music of "Holy Holy" can be described as dark-synth/indie/pop. It fills a niche that will appeal to a broad audience, as paradoxical as that may seem. Most of the songs follow a pretty straightforward verse-chorus structure and most of the choruses, as in the opener Maybe You Know, are very entrancing and intoxicating. There is a distinct dark 80's synth vibe throughout "My Own Pool of Light", with some new-wave sprinkled on like fairy dust giving it all a very dance-able but moody atmosphere. Dance-able you say? Well, I challenge you to listen to a song like Faces without tapping your feet or bobbing your head. It's infectious music that makes for a very satisfying listen.

Somehow there's a nervous immediacy running underneath the surface of most of the songs. It's very tangible in Flight, which appears for all eyes to be a laid-back song. Yet there is a tension here that gives me the feeling the song might either explode with a soaring burst of energy of epic proportions, or implode and unravel, collapsing in on itself. In actuality, the song keeps itself very constrained and focused, and doesn't go into either direction. This is brilliant, because it keeps you at the edge of your seat and keeps the atmosphere tense. The end of the song reveals us the reason for this immediacy: the busy high-tempo drum 'n base style rhythm section which finishes the song alone. It was quite well concealed by the layers of atmosphere and vocal catchiness. Listening to the song again makes this all click into place and makes me appreciate the clever songwriting all the more.

There were times listening to "My Own Pool of Light", where I found the energy dipping and my attention slipping. Yet every time I feel like I'm done with this sound, something new and exciting snaps me right back into it and I keep listening. Examples of this are Starting Line and Paces#1, both starting slow and moody, before breaking open in the bridge and ending the song with high energy spikes.

You get absolutely rewarded for listening on, for the best is yet to come, and it comes in the second to last Frida. A song that is so drenched in atmosphere and gloom that it transforms into full melancholy. This is a song riddled in nostalgia and calls to mind pictures of Twin Peaks, Depeche Mode and Bandersnatch. It's late 80's synth homage done right in every way.

"My Own Pool of Light" is an album that scratches an itch I didn't know I had, and it does so phenomenally. The replay value and longevity may be up for grabs here, but whether it's the more straightforward People, or the mood drenched closer St Petersburg, every song on this is worth your time. Having a late night drive in the dark?Put on "Holy Holy", and I guarantee you a memorable and atmospheric time.



Recent reviews by this author
Heilung FuthaThank You Scientist Terraformer
Rammstein RammsteinLizzo Cuz I Love You
Numenorean AdoreDevin Townsend Empath
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Scheumke
August 2nd 2019


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm in love with this atm. This one is for the Dewinged's and JohnnyoftheWell's, who I know can appreciate this kind of music. As always, if you have any feedback please let me know.

nightbringer
August 2nd 2019


507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Only had time to jam first couple songs but this is sounding right up my alley.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 2nd 2019


31928 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Good review! I was drawn to the artwork immediately and knew I'd be checking this out in some way shape or form, regardless of genre. I love your descriptions as always, but if I might make one comparatively minor suggestion, I'd axe the opening paragraph. It's cute and casual but doesn't really add much to the piece, and if you pick up straightaway from paragraph 2, it actually reads better. All in my humble opinion, of course!

Digging: Off With Their Heads - Be Good

Scheumke
August 2nd 2019


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tnx Sowing. You might be right. I was having a little trouble with the opening paragraph anyway and it might indeed be better to just dive straight into it. It goes a little against my ocd. I like to have a opening/middle/closing structure, but for once it might just be road that's better and easier to read. Thanks for the feedback!

nightbringer
August 2nd 2019


507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Giving this a generous first spin rating of 4. Don't know whether that will stick but definitely digging a lot here. I'm just such a sucker for moody, dancy synths.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 2nd 2019


7866 Comments


Was interested in checking this out, even more so now
Quality write-up, have a pos

Digging: We Are Only Human Once - The Prettiest Boys in Town

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 2nd 2019


31928 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Really enjoyed this. Starting Line was my early favorite but the whole thing, as you said, has a very satisfyingly consistent/even keel.

nightbringer
August 2nd 2019


507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad that I'm enjoying this more rather than less on second listen.

Scheumke
August 2nd 2019


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I had the same. First listen had some instant great and memorable songs, second made me appreciate pretty much every song on here.

Trifolium
August 2nd 2019


7989 Comments


Sounds nice Scheumke! I'll give this a go for you, and have a pos!

bloc
August 2nd 2019


57026 Comments


Summary hooked me, gotta check

Digging: Ultravox - Vienna

Scheumke
August 3rd 2019


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It does seem to have at least some replayabity. I've had it on again this morning and again had a great time with it. I think it's great that they managed to do the 80's homage part without going full blown Stranger Things on it and still retain a little uniqueness of their own.

Evok
August 4th 2019


7728 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is really good!

Digging: S.P.Y. - Dubplate Style

Scheumke
August 5th 2019


1002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is! More people need to get in on this!

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

really liking this so far, it's danceable but heartfelt. nice review too

Digging: Strange Ranger - Remembering the Rockets

Hawks
August 5th 2019


73095 Comments


Gotta hear this.

Digging: Erang - Kingdom Of Erang

WatchItExplode
August 5th 2019


7034 Comments


Did not dig

JS19
August 5th 2019


7267 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This was seriously bland



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy