Akasha
Canticles of the Sepulchral Deity


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (117 Reviews)
July 31st, 2019 | 58 replies


Release Date: 03/15/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Akasha is waging war against the heavens in the filthiest, most disgusting way possible on his debut full length.

Black metal bands from west coast have been known mostly for their atmospheric approach to the genre. Bands such as Wolves in the Throne Room, Ash Borer and Fell Voices (just to name a few) usually engage in long, repetitive and drawn out riffage and drone like atmospheres to almost hypnotize the listener. And while I’m someone who is all for that style, it doesn’t go for everyone. Akasha on the other hand is on the complete opposite end of that spectrum. Enter his debut album and one of the best black metal albums of 2019, Canticles of the Sepulchral Deity.

The aural assault on the ears that this album brings forth is nothing short of spectacular. The way that lone member Leech blends the melodic yet extremely abrasive raw nature of the riffage with the dirty aesthetic of 70’s/80’s style punk music is impeccable. There’s not a single moment of positive clarity throughout the 44 minute runtime of this almost flawless debut. The production is filthy, grimy and makes you feel as if you just took a shower, not with water but with a combination of mud, dust and debris. Vocally this album will remind you of a demon screaming up in pain from the lowest depths of hell with no possible escape in sight.

For anyone that thinks there’s a lack of truly evil black metal nowadays, look no further than Akasha. This one man band is rough, rugged, raw and straight up devoid of light. You’ll literally feel like you need to soak in a bubble bath like a little girl after you listen to this album. It will leave you feeling as if your soul has just been raped, in the best way possible of course.



Recent reviews by this author
Serpent Of Gnosis As I Drink from the Infinite Well of InebriationCradle of Filth Thornography
Janusz Jurga HypnowaldAngelMaker AngelMaker
Misthyrming AlgleymiSterbend Dwelling Lifeless
user ratings (39)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 31st 2019


73605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This needed to be done. One of the best albums of the year.

Hawks
July 31st 2019


73605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Rulez agreed Hawks. Guess I’ll go fuck myself.

Pikazilla
July 31st 2019


3638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules.

Hawks
July 31st 2019


73605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Knew I could count on you Pika. m/

necropig
July 31st 2019


5693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's been the year of black metal for sure



oh I didn't rate this

Digging: Arnaut Pavle - Arnaut Pavle

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2019


8015 Comments


Been meaning to check this

Digging: Blood Cultures - Oh Uncertainty! A Universe Despairs

Hawks
July 31st 2019


73605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Fuck yes bros. One of the best raw bm albums I’ve ever heard.

necropig
July 31st 2019


5693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Check norman shores newest one and give Dauþuz - Monvmentvm a go. That band needs more love here

Pikazilla
July 31st 2019


3638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find that artwork very unsettling +_+

Hawks
July 31st 2019


73605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Will check them asap. m/

necropig
July 31st 2019


5693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Check your shoutbox bruh

Hawks
July 31st 2019


73605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh shit just noticed. Will jam in about 15 minutes!

oltnabrick
July 31st 2019


37407 Comments


not typically the biggest fan of albums with jef whitehead artwork but the similar artists have my interest tbh


gotta check

Digging: Leviathan - Verrter

necropig
July 31st 2019


5693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I said it was fune, but it's a mixture of so much. Really good

necropig
July 31st 2019


5693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Are you serious oltna? What

zakalwe
July 31st 2019


28594 Comments


This has reminded me to read a canticle for leibowitz.

I’m going to order it now.

Digital age >

Hawks
July 31st 2019


73605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Actually can’t check today but within the next few days for sure!

necropig
July 31st 2019


5693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool. It's like an hour and 20. Help pass the time in work m/

Hawks
July 31st 2019


73605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well I got a new job cause I got fired from my last one so I can’t jam at work anymore lmao. Will make time though for sure. m/

necropig
July 31st 2019


5693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha fs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy