Noctambulist
Atmospheres of Desolation


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheNotrap USER (27 Reviews)
July 30th, 2019 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dissonant sleepwalking

Sleepwalking is a phenomenon that has always aroused my curiosity. A person who walks while asleep is never truly among us. The subconscious frees itself through the infinite dimensions of sleep, without ever losing close contact with its body, that remains active in the physical world. This intermediate state of consciousness has always been subject to various metaphysical and artistic interpretations, which have seen this phenomenon as a seductive source of inspiration for surrealist manifestations. Denver-based dissonant death metal band Noctambulist, built their brand around this state of consciousness and its communication flows with other dimensions.

The intro "Dimming Lights Illuminate" is the gateway to Atmospheres of Desolation, the rite of passage that prepares the listener for the disconcerting journey that starts with "Abnegation", a dissonant vortex that violently swallows us into a parallel dimension, where everything seems uncertain and surreal. But despite the surrealistic textures, Noctambulist's dissonance has a less abstract twist, as we can hear in the title track or "Habitual Falsehood", which present a more tangible and realistic approach. These two songs are the album's highlights and translate, by their stylistic nature, the band's DNA, that embodies the dissonant strength of bands like Altarage in a more straightforward and less blurred style. The hypnotizing side of Atmospheres of Desolation also deserves to be mentioned since it's a structuring part of Noctambulist's music. This mesmerizing texture manifests itself, in all its blackness, in the final sequence of "Jubilant Cataclisym", which has a transcendental levitation effect, perfectly mirroring the album's artwork.

As the title suggests, a state of emptiness surrounds every second of the album. This dense vacuum is enhanced by an adequate production that emphasizes Noctambulist's intensity and strong synergy between musicians, whose performance is clearly above average. If I had to highlight something, it would be Sean McConnell's powerful vocals, which burst like a multidimensional behemoth through the dissonant vortex.

Despite its short duration, Atmospheres of Desolation is the auspicious debut of one of the most promising bands in the dissonant extreme metal scene. These guys know what they're doing, and everything leads us to believe that this is only the first step towards further journeys through the tenebrous dimensions of sleep. As far as I'm concerned, I'll be waiting, with my eyes wide open.



Recent reviews by this author
Humanity's Last Breath AbyssalSuperstition The Anatomy Of Unholy Transformation
Wormed MetaportalDisentomb The Decaying Light
Turilli / Lione Rhapsody Zero Gravity (Rebirth and Evolution)Psycroptic As The Kingdom Drowns
user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
July 30th 2019


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some brief thoughts about one of the good dissonances of 2019.



You guys can stream 'Atmospheres of Desolation' here:

https://bloodharvestrecords.bandcamp.com/album/atmospheres-of-desolation

Digging: Humanity's Last Breath - Abyssal

brainmelter
July 30th 2019


6582 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

niice pos’d

Digging: nabosoposkle - s/t

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
July 30th 2019


9922 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really liking how your writing is coming along. POS'd

TheNotrap
July 31st 2019


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks brainmelter



Cheers & Many thanks Nocte ;)



Scheumke
July 31st 2019


1002 Comments


Pos'd! Will take a listen, sounds interesting but I'm not yet sure if it's up my alley or not. Guess we'll find out.

TheNotrap
July 31st 2019


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Scheumke!



If you dig dissonant metal (Altarage, Deathspell Omega, Suffering Hour, Hissing,...) there's a good chance you'll like it

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2019


3268 Comments


yesssssss this shit ruled

kris.
July 31st 2019


15275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mmmm imma check this out

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2019


8401 Comments


Love the atmosphere of this album, in spite of the rating average rightfully suggesting that the album loses some points in terms of originality.

Keep writing TheNotrap!

Digging: Meridian (CHE) - The Seventh Sun

Hawks
July 31st 2019


73095 Comments


Pos ahrd bro. Gotta hear this. m/

Digging: Erang - Kingdom Of Erang

TheNotrap
July 31st 2019


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Voivod

Yeah, guess I'll keep on going ;)



Yes, the band's sound isn't entirely original, since dissonance has been recently explored by many bands, nevertheless these guys have a distinct vibe that distinguishes them from bands like Altarage or Hissing, in my opinion.



Thanks bro!

If you like Altarage, you're sure to like this m/



DDDeftoneDDD
August 1st 2019


6379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Notrap friend.

I think this is your best rev from the ones I've read. I'm really curious to check this one out, only for reading it, and that s what a rev should do imo. pOzzz

Also we could make this thread a good place, not only to appreciate the album, but also to share some sleepwalking experiences LMAO.

Cheers

Digging: Tropical Fuck Storm - Braindrops

TheNotrap
August 1st 2019


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahah muito obrigado D ;) album rules, you should dig it



Both my kids had some sleepwalking episodes, but nothing too serious. Fortunately, I never had.

DDDeftoneDDD
August 1st 2019


6379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

That s common during childhood.

I recently found I can develop the syndrome if I drink too much...I ve never had none during my adult life, but this year, during a catholic celebration weekend, I apparently got up with my hoodie on and went pissing on my fathers in law's bedroom carpet...Oooh the shame....Oooh creepy af (I shared on akercocke's thread when it happened. My girl, her family and you sputs are the only ones who knows this) LOL

Hope I didn t blew the thread x)

TheNotrap
August 1st 2019


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahah that was probably just the result of catholic drunkenness, but it seems to me that you inadvertently gave your father in law a message...

DDDeftoneDDD
August 1st 2019


6379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ahaha creepy right?

Anyway, time to put this on and hope I don t piss myself

TheNotrap
August 1st 2019


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stay away from carpets and do it loud ;)

Azog
August 1st 2019


225 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is actually quite good, but we already have an Ulcerate.

DDDeftoneDDD
August 1st 2019


6379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Is it wrong to get some vibes from bands like Plebeian Grandstand or Noise Trail Immersion? I honestly got this as something more on that area. Too short indeed, vocals go super hard though.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
August 1st 2019


3268 Comments


yea got some hard early PG vibes from this one



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy