Chance the Rapper
The Big Day


2.4
average

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
July 29th, 2019 | 154 replies


Release Date: 07/26/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "you can fall much faster than you think you can"

Somewhere between Acid Rap and now, Chance lost his voice. I don't mean his raps or his flow – there's spitting on "All Day Long", at least, that's as good as anything he used to do, and his new religious/marriage bars are only as corny as his entire shtick always has been. No, it's far worse than that – Chance lost his voice. He's no longer the artist who put together 13-track hitters as consistent and thematically tight as any album. Now he throws out loosies and bogs down a project 'til it sounds like any mixtape. If this is the big day Chance The Rapper has been waiting for, he's been saving up filler for years.

Lil Chano from 79th has also stepped well outside the bubble of the Chicago sound he helped lead to a renaissance. (The lack of Noname feature was likely the first sign for longtime fans that something was amiss with The Big Day). Collaborating with different artists for some new energy isn't in itself bad, and John Legend, Smino and little brother Taylor Bennett all come correct to hold it down for Chance's hometown. So what went so wrong? Well, the jarring and cynical Nicki Minaj, Gucci Mane and DaBaby features play like musical clickbait, designed to pad out the feature list as much as possible when it gets typed out on Wikipedia, and Minaj having the last word on the album overall comes off as borderline Kanye parody. Even putting these aside, godawful skits and filler abound, mostly in the album's lumpy second half – and the less said about "Hot Shower" the better. Chance has never been hurting for some Ye production more when even the best impersonators Chance could find, producing last year's "I Might Need Security" or "The Man Who Has Everything", delivered better content than the third dancey one-off in a row in The Big Day's appalling third act.

What a shame all this dead weight wasn't tossed off the album instead of great cuts "Work Out" and "65th & Ingleside". What a shame that all this drowns out the flashes of a solid project, which on the second half of the album is basically the understated "5 Year Plan" and lovely, ambient-inflected "Town on the Hill". Nothing on the first half stacks up to the euphoric rush of "All Day Long", which could have been recorded right after Acid Rap with its confidence and lack of self-sabotage via poor decision-making. Even so, the title track almost touches on something with the relaxing vocal melody which gets upended by some Frank Ocean-on-"Biking" ***, and it's well lined up by the energetic throwback sound of "Roo". I'm cherrypicking here, because that's what you do with an unwieldy, 80-minute record that was barely promoted and likely rushed to release. It's not 22 tracks of straight garbage, but the idea that Chance had three very viable debut album candidates but chose this as his big day would be funny if it wasn't so deeply frustrating. Chi-town will be fine, Chance has long since passed that torch to the likes of the conspicuously absent Saba and Noname, but talent going to waste is somehow worse than just hearing no talent at all. But hey, maybe that 7-track Kanye album will have a couple bangers.



Recent reviews by this author
Bon Iver i,iStrange Ranger Remembering the Rockets
Freddie Gibbs and Madlib BandanaThom Yorke Anima
The Dangerous Summer Mother NatureCave In Final Transmission
user ratings (184)
1.7
very poor
other reviews of this album
Slex CONTRIBUTOR (2)
Looking back like a pillar of salt...

BlushfulHippocrene STAFF (4)
...

related reviews

Acid Rap

Coloring Book

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

I know slex said everything necessary, basically posted this to pitch a more tolerable tracklist



All Day Long

Do You Remember

Work Out

5 Year Plan

I Might Need Security

Roo

The Big Day

Zanies and Fools

The Man Who Has Everything

Sun Come Down

Town on the Hill

65th & Ingleside

DoofDoof
July 29th 2019


5104 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

1.8 and falling

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

that is indeed the current average of this album, Chance the Rapper's The Big Day

DoofDoof
July 29th 2019


5104 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I haven't read a review of this that hasn't used the word 'corny' at least once



Chance the Rapper is now synonymous with that word, the proof is out there - can't remember reading that word in reviews of other artists at all frequently



I find 'Roo' and the t/t so bad I don't think I could come up with anything beyond a palatable 2.5 rated 3 track EP at absolute best...but I can't be bothered returning to this to find out the least bad two or three tunes.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2019


7998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Pos

Digging: Blood Cultures - Oh Uncertainty! A Universe Despairs

tectactoe
July 29th 2019


1064 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

This saddens me so much because Work Out and 65th & Ingleside (and to a slightly lesser extent, I Might Need Security) were so promising.

But this album is a bunch of supermassively uninteresting, cookie-cutter bullshit. What the actual fuck.

Chance needs to lose Jesus and start doing acid again because my god.

Digging: The National - Trouble Will Find Me

luci
July 29th 2019


11643 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

yep, his career reveals the pitfalls of sobriety

tectactoe
July 29th 2019


1064 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

The thing is, the Work Out and Ingleside singles were great imo. (Maybe I'm alone in thinking this??) Or, at the very least, substantially better than literally every single track on this train wreck.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

Work Out is top 5 Chance for me yeah. Ingleside and Security needed work, especially vocally but could have been great

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2019


7998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Didn’t like any of those singles besides Work Out

TheNoodle
July 29th 2019


22 Comments


I think Hot Shower COULD have worked. It absolutely doesn't. But it could have.
The beat needs to be groovier, and be something you want to actually move to. But the clunky flow is actually an interesting change of pace for me. It's just completely dragged down because it doesn't sound like anyone in that song is enjoying themselves. The song should have been experimental, catchy, silly, and fun. It's unlistenable as everyone tries to play it straight.

luci
July 29th 2019


11643 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

80% on metacritic wtf

chance is confirmed industry plant

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 29th 2019


32075 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I noticed that too. Really strange because Metacritic is obviously an average of several publications and online resources. Are we the only place that has spewed pure vitriol at this?

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

Hawks
July 29th 2019


73519 Comments


Have never been a fan of this dude tbh.

Digging: Erang - Kingdom Of Erang

tectactoe
July 29th 2019


1064 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

no, the RYM average is god awful, too.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2019


10117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"Are we the only place that has spewed pure vitriol at this?"



From what I recall RYM has been pretty negative as well, below a 2.0 rating.

Digging: WRVTH - No Rising Sun

DoofDoof
July 29th 2019


5104 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Metacritic averages for this album and the new Baroness just make a mockery of it all



Even the new Violent Femmes got 70% and I can't imagine how any living creature could find that album in any way above dirt average, a 50% album at absolute best

gschwen
July 29th 2019


164 Comments


The only reason I even pay attention to Chance the Rapper is because Acid Rap is a fantastic mixtape. Because of that I'm stuck, forced to listen to every other thing he does because he one day might bring something back that's as good or better.

There's nothing special on this record unfortunately.

wwf
July 29th 2019


6405 Comments


I'm pretty interested in if I'd like this at all. I really didn't care that much for Coloring Book and I don't know why he considers this his first LP. Maybe he was negotiating with labels for a while or smth

wwf
July 29th 2019


6405 Comments


oh god 22 songs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy